We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Tikal but isolated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real Tikal

Save Saved
You added Camino Real Tikal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camino Real Tikal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lote 77, Parcelamiento Tayasal, Santa Elena 17002, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Santa Elena
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Close to Tikal but isolated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here with a group while visiting Tikal. The staff was incredibly nice but the internet was pricey and the rooms could use some updating. One building has been recently renovated and the room that we saw was much nicer than ours. Unless you have a car there's nowhere close to eat except the dining room which was a hit or miss. You really just stay here for the proximity to Tikal which was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard.

But also we are very sorry for the inconvenient you had during your stay, this comment will help us to give our guest a high service in each of their visits, and also every detail you mentioned in your comment is already notify to responsible department .

Thank you again for taking the time to write about our hotel.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    60
    32
    13
    1
See reviews for
49
43
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a full service hotel not far from Tikal, that makes no concessions to its location. Nice location on lake Peten Itza's far northeast side. Fully acceptable rooms. Food was no more than acceptable, except for the pastries and breads, which would be excellent anywhere. Service was good. We were there doing a cold spell, so can't comment on air conditioner noise.

Room Tip: Rooms are in separate buildings, and the walk to them from the restaurant and front desk is not prot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review from our hotel. It´s a pleasant received such amazing comments which help us to keep our high service standard. Your compliments are really a positive stroke and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.
I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a four night stay at the facility January 2013. The room size was adequate and the appointments were fine. There is air conditioning if its needed. The views from the room we had were excellent of the lake. The balcony was comfortable. One can hear the air conditioners running if its hot but this wasn't a bother for us. The lighting was adequate. The rooms are not new but they were comfortable. The food was adequate if a bit boring in the restaurant. The outside seating is very nice. The facility has its own filtered water and we had no problem drinking it. We did not eat uncooked food as is our preference in these areas and had no GI problems at the hotel. There is no place to go close around the hotel so except for the AM biotope walk with hotel guide, there isn't any place to go at the hotel. We'd stay here again if visiting Tikal and Uaxactun.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard.
I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The place is convenient if you want to stay inside the hotel, its close to Tikal ruins by car, but you can not go out for a walk to any place. Maybe its better to be closer to Flores town.
The room is noisy: you are listening the air conditioned from the other rooms all the night.
Room very poor and dark.
The best: the view to the lake from the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry for the inconvenient you had during your stay, this comment will help us to give our guest a high service in each of their visits, and also every detail you mentioned in your comment is already notify to responsible department . Again thank you for taking time of writing this review from our hotel. This is very helpful to receive such comments which help us to get better every day.

Please feel free to let us know if we can do something for you in order to visit us again, our email address is coordinador_mercadeo@caminoreal.com.gt

Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel was a wonderful welcome after staying in the jungle for 3 days. Air conditioning! The rooms are a generous size, the bathrooms are modern, beds are comfortable and views of Lake Peten Itza from every room. The pool is very inviting,and there is a workout room. The restaurant was very good, we were able to get filtered water from the restaurant and refilled our water bottles daily. We did come back with a touch of Montezuma's revenge but it could have been the delicious melons, fruits or vegetables. If your at all susceptible to the stomach bug be careful. I have a cast iron stomach so i just got a touch of i, my boyfriend was hit a bit harder.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are the same floor plan- we had a ground floor room which gave us some outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review from our hotel. It´s a pleasant received such amazing comments which help us to keep our high service standard. Your compliments are really a positive stroke and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

I will share your comment with our staff.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very beautiful setting. Way away from everything. The lake is beautiful and on the weekends there is a free sunset boat ride. The food is marginal, but reasonably priced. We had both ants and bees in our room, but the room was spacious and fairly clean, so we were able to share with the wild life without a problem. I really have a problem with a hotel that charges $10 american per day for internet in this day and age.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment we hope you enjoyed your stays in our beautiful hotel, we are very sorry about your inconvenient with the internet price, but also for us it’s very important to know guests appreciation in order to get better so really thank you for this it will help us to solve it.

We hope to see you soon again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Magnificent place, just in the rainforest steps from the lake, wonderful views.
The bad thing is that it's run down. Stayed in building # 1, that is remodeled, the other buildings are terrible completly old.
Food, well either you have a car or you are trap. Food is expensive and not to die for.
Service, besides zoila from front desk everybody is nice and well trained. Zoila is grumpy and rude, so dont be shy to make your point if she is in front desk.
Try villa maya is newer ( i haven't been there )

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thanks for your comment; we are very sorry about the inconvenience during your visit. This comment will help us to give our guest a high service in each of their visits, and also every detail you mentioned in your comment is already notified to responsible department.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about our hotel, this is very important to know guest appreciation. Please let me know the way to apologize with you directly by email, if you can send us an email will be great to the follow address coordinador_mercadeo@caminoreal.com.gt.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino Real Tikal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Tikal

Address: Lote 77, Parcelamiento Tayasal, Santa Elena 17002, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino Real Tikal 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Camino Real Tikal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Tikal Hotel Peten
Westin Tikal National Park
Camino Real Tikal Westin
Westin San Jose
San Jose Westin
Camino Real Tikal Guatemala/Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Real Tikal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.