We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B I have ever stayed in.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Pines

High Pines
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Adgestone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Pines
Save
You added High Pines to your Saves list
Lower Road, Adgestone PO36 0HL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The best B&B I have ever stayed in.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed at High Pines for three nights in June 2012. The host was extremely welcoming and the room just perfect. Good quality linen on the beds; very spacious room and numerous 'extras' like fresh fruit, good supplies of tea, coffee, herbal tea, hot chocolate etc.; fresh milk, bottled and filtered water in the room fridge. Plentiful supplies in the bathroom; constant and stable hot water; soft and fluffy towels and many, many thoughtful touches (sewing kit was very useful!).

Breakfast was served in our room each morning, cooked fresh to order using mainly local supplies and was very filling and tasty.

Location is very rural, but having visited the Island on numerous occasions, you are never far from civilisation.

Would strongly recommend a visit to High Pines; we will be returning in 2013.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palestine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

A quiet place and beautifulBedroom hotel is pretty much sweet many

Room Tip: Be the easy way and beautiful bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

High Pines is remote enough to make you feel you've escaped, but close enough to shops to prevent you feeling abandoned.
The room we stayed in was surprisingly large, and the clever use of space made sure it had everything we needed, with a television, massive bed, sofa, dining table and excellent bathroom.
The food is stunningly good, and served in our room. It was mostly home-made (the jam was very tasty) and the eggs came from the hens at the end of the garden. The breakfasts were large enough to keep us going throughout the day. (Though you could order less food, which we would've done, if it hadn't been so tasty.)
The owner is very welcoming and has a really good local knowledge. He made us both feel quite at home, and was very happy to help us if we had any problems. (We didn't have any problems!)
We came away feeling most relaxed and happily recommend High Pines!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

What a terrific place to stay for your holiday! We spent four days to start our holiday in the south of England and had a great time. High Pines is located in a very peaceful village in the country on the Isle of Wight, but only a twenty minutes walk from the beach in Sandown.
The room was perfect: large beds, comfortable bath room, coffee and tea. Our host put all his effort in making us feel at ease, which we did. The breakfast was superb: fresh eggs, home made marmelades. We surely recommend High Pines to everyone visiting the Isle of Wight, we hope to return one day!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

High Pines was initially difficult to find, but once we had found it we were absolutely delighted. It is set on a long winding lane not far from Sandown with views over the surrounding countryside. It is very peaceful except for a very noisy cuckoo and woodpecker, but this was part of its charm. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the bedding was top quality cotton. The bathroom had everything you could possibly want and the toilettries were lovely. A fridge in the room enabled us to keep drinks cold, which was very useful as the weather was unseasonably hot. The breakfast choices were great, ranging from yoghurt with raspberries to full English and the best croissants I have ever eaten, even in France! Pruduce was local were possible, including eggs from their own hens. A nice touch was some extra treats each day, including hot cross buns on Good Friday. This was a lovely place to spend a few days and we can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Excellent!! Very comfortable accomodation in a rural part of the Isle of Wight. The host is extremely welcoming, and you're made to feel at home from the moment you arrive. Attention to detail is second to none, with local fresh produce waiting for you in your room when you arrive. The breakfasts are cooked to order and once again, are made with local fresh produce. A stay for some rest and relaxtion in the Isle of Wight countryside is highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, Berkshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

An excellent B&B just far enough back from the coast to be away from the hurly burly of seaside life! Very welcoming and comfortable stay and the weather was perfect so what more could one want? Bed very comfortable with excellent quality bed linen and a lovely shower. Slightly difficult to find so do use their own directions as they are better than a sat-nav!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to High Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Pines

Address: Lower Road, Adgestone PO36 0HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Adgestone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Adgestone
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for a relaxed and friendly rural retreat from which to enjoy the beautiful Isle of Wight countryside, then High Pines B& B is for you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.