We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful little hotel, honest folks!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Am Schlosspark Zum Kurfuerst

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Am Schlosspark Zum Kurfuerst to your Saves list
Am Schlosspark Zum Kurfuerst
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kapellenweg 5 | Oberschleissheim, 85764 Oberschleissheim, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Delightful little hotel, honest folks!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great location, wonderful staff, nice room.

I checked in for 3 days. The hotel is outside of Munich (about 35 minutes), but in a fantastic areas near two palaces. Very nice option, particularly if you have been to Munich before. There is a nice beer garden nearby and the schlosspark is wonderful to walk in.

The room is large and modern. I was a bit concerned about construction at the hotel, but the disturbance was minimal. There is a restaurant, bar, and breakfast on-site. The breakfast selection was excellent with typical German fare (including pretzels). The bar is cheap and has a good hefeweizen and reasonably priced coca cola light. The restaurant has a good selection and I will say the nurnberger sausages were very nice!

A couple of comments about the staff. Two things really stand out. First, during my visit to the restaurant, I was charged for two beers and only had one. I was jetlagged and did not notice. The next day there was an envelope in my mail slot at the front desk, refunding my money. I have never seen this level of honesty at any other hotel. Second, my last night I spent a long time in the bar writing a report and enjoying a couple of beers. I ended up being there an hour past closing. The staff never complained or glared, just a gentle reminder about 15 minutes before lights out. I got an entire report done!

Room Tip: Inquire about construction noise and ask for a room away from the work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    27
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
16
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Amazing location!!! These Chalets are located in the part of the wall of the Schlosspark. You look out your window into the park garden!!! They are part of the Am Schlosspark Zum Karfuest hotel but for some reason when I searched Chalet sum Kurfurst on trip advisor they don't come up. Maybe trip advisor could rectify this, as I did find reviews for these chalet's under their own name. We chose this place for location......not far from the Munich Airport (about 20 minutes drive - we had our own car & a GPS to find this place )....... a great place for a quiet & peaceful first night in Germany after our long flight! Great accommodation for families. We had a suite with 2 adjoining rooms and our own bathroom. It was very quiet & peaceful. Wonderful breafast the next morning in the hotel's restaurant, a short walk away. We spent a very relaxed morning walking through the Schlosspark. Just wished we remember to get come Euros at the airport the night before....the castle entry did not accept Visa card & we only had Australian Dollars on us!

Room Tip: If you're a family with children, ask about the Chalets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kununurra
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The breakfast at this Hotel is simply amazing. We have not come across any better in our travels through Europe. We stayed in the Chalets, and the rooms were nice and very clean. It's outside of Munich, but even though it's no trouble getting into the City using the SBahn. The staff at reception is very helpful, they are selling tickets for the Bahn and will explain to you which one is the best and book it to your room. You can book their Shuttle bus (1/2 hr notice) and it will take you to the station, which is a 20 min. walk. Coming back, you can give them a ring and they will pick you up.
Wifi was free, reception was good in our rooms, we didn't have any problems.
The restaurant of the Hotel is fantastic, great traditional Bavarian Food. We had dinner there every night, as they had a great selection on the Menu. Very booked out each night, so you should make a booking in advance, as we saw a few Hotel guests not being able to have dinner.
A fantastic stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Traditional hotel, staff were friendly, unfortunately rooms were small and basic and noisy, you could here next room moving about and putting clothes in wardrobe.
Another minus is that you have to pay for wifi, which is a big no for me.
The only good thing was the breakfast where they had something for everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunstwadl, Manager at Am Schlosspark Zum Kurfuerst, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your opinion about your stay in our hotel. We will check your note ... But it is not correct, that you have to pay for Wifi. This performance is free of charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Everything was pretty good, the room was nice, clean, and the bathrooms were nice and warm, which is always good on a cold day! The food at the restaurant was nice and reasonably priced. Staff were nice enough and the breakfast was good. We had a car so the location was good for us, but if you don't have any transport I can imagine visiting Munich city center would take a bit of time.

Schleissheim Palace looks really pretty in the snow!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunstwadl, Manager at Am Schlosspark Zum Kurfuerst, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much. We know, that is not so easy to rich the munich city center, that is why we offer a shuttleservice to the S-Bahn station.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

well the only good thing is the breakfast!!
we have stayed for 1 night at the chalot which is part of the hotel, wi fi signal is week one can not use it to plan the trip next day as we planed, when i called front desk the answer was" we know it is because of the distance"
is that logic?
the room was not clean , and when you take a shower with hot water pray that in the same floor anther perswon is not taking a shower as well as you wil suffer from hot and cold streams, not my way to take a shower on a cold day.
also check the bill it seems that they promise one thing at the quote and when you check out it is completly different price, i had to speak with the manager who finaly agreed it was their misunderstanding and credit.
so hotel zum kurfurst this is the last time me or my family will stay there.

Room Tip: not at the charlot maybe the hotel is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunstwadl, Manager at Am Schlosspark Zum Kurfuerst, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your experience in our hotel. We changed our Wifi-system and now there is no Problem in Chalét-Rooms with the receiving signal. Also it is correct, that there was a problem warm water in that room. But now there is another heating system in that building. The misunderstanding with the bill we fixed in favor of you. We regret these circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Romania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel is located in Oberschleissheim, a small town near Munich. (a suburb of Munich actually)
We stayed in the Chalet (the small buildings closer to the garden). The accomodation was great, the hotel had swimming pool, the breakfast was very tasty, the rooms were clean, we had mini-bar and Wi-Fi, but the hotel isn't near the castle. It's like 2 km away, it's not next to the castle, it's next to the castle's garden and for someone who has never been to Munich (and thinks the hotel is near the castle, as we did) it may be hard to find.

Room Tip: In my opinion it is better to stay in the Chalet and it is cheaper. You might want to have a room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Am Schlosspark Zum Kurfuerst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Am Schlosspark Zum Kurfuerst

Address: Kapellenweg 5 | Oberschleissheim, 85764 Oberschleissheim, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberschleissheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oberschleisshe...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Am Schlosspark Zum Kurfuerst 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ankommen und Wohlfühlen, dafür sorgt das Team des Hotel am Schloßpark Zum Kurfürst. Tradition und Moderne sind in der Ausstattung des Hauses und der 89 Zimmer zu finden. Ruhig am Schloßpark Schleißheim gelegen und doch zentral zwischen Flughafen München und Münchner Innenstadt, nur 4,8 km zu Allianz Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Am Schlosspark Zum Kurfuerst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Schlosspark Zum Kurfuerst Germany/Oberschleissheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Am Schlosspark Zum Kurfuerst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.