We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, clean and well furnished” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sun Hotel

The Sun Hotel
Windermere, Troutbeck Bridge la23 1hh, England
015394 43274
Website
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good hotel, clean and well furnished”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We went for a two night stay and booked this hotel as its very close to Bowness Bay.

The staff were very friendly, the hotel has been refurbished throughout to a high standard.

The room was large, clean with a comfy bed, flat screen tv, plenty storage. The bathroom was was also to a high standard and the towels were good quality.

The only issue I felt we waited slightly longer than I'd like to be served at the bar but the waitress was busy with diners in the restaurant and was Obvisously busy. I suppose in a way that's a good thing because it means the food is good.

We will definately return when in the area again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    4
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Ten of us turned up on a Saturday at about 3pm for a drink, the place was empty by the way, and was told by a sour faced lady that she would need the empty tables for diners and that we would have to squash on to one table!! There was no one in there!!
On leaving we were told that if we were going to going to come again we would have to book, NO CHANCE, so rude

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely appalling Customer service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

My family and I had supper there one evening and received diabolical customer service. My niece ordered a dish which contained mashed potato, she then discovered, after eating a third, that there was a long blonde hair buried in it. She was asked, quite abruptly by the waitress, what she would like her to do with it! Foolishly she asked for it to be taken away, as it had made her stomach turn and put her off the rest of the meal. To our horror we were then charged full price for the pleasure! I went to contest this and was told that as there was nobody in the kitchen with that colour hair it must be from a member of our party! There were 9 of us, 4 dark haired males, 4 dark long haired females and one with short blonde hair. I am totally disgusted by their insinuation and will never visit or recommend this establishment to anyone ever again. I am also aggrieved at having to give them one star for service to enable me to leave a review, as they do not deserve even that!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolute disgrace”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The place looked discepively nice from the outside and the inside was relatively pleasant. However, our opinions soon changed when the beer we tasted was off and we were told in an aggressive manner that only residents of the hotel could log onto the wifi. To top this all off, I found a huge vulgar hair in my mash. When we were presented with the bill, we asked if this one meal could be removed. We were then again aggressively spoken to and told no and the waitress/manager said the chef didn't have long blonde hair and suggested that it was one of ours! What she failed to notice was that her colleague, the other waitress had long blonde hair! Nice location and fairly nice food (minus the hair), just a shame the staff were pig ignorant and damm right rude.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were staying at Whitecross just a short stroll away and went here for dinner. We both had the lamb shank which was a whole lamb!! We had starters as well. Portions were generous so if u r a small eater say so. The service was good and food was excellent. Would certainly recommend a visit. Price not too bad either.

The tables in the conservatory were a bit tight, especially to get your legs in so sit in the bar, but do not let that deter you the food alone was worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sun Hotel also viewed

Troutbeck, Lake District
 
Troutbeck, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.