We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sun Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Sun Hotel to your Saves list
The Sun Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   troutbeck bridge, windermere | Windemere, Troutbeck Bridge la23 1hh, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Wow! What a place! We only visited for food, we didn't stay in the accommodation, but our experience was fantastic.

I should say, first of all, that we had not booked - it was a walk in dinner, which made the our experience seem even better!

The staff bent over backwards to accommodate our party, which included my 5 year old niece. They crouched down to speak to her at 'her level' and made food recommendations for her. And she subsequently cleared her plate, which is a rare occurrence indeed!

The standard of food for the adults too was of a very high standard. Everyone had clear plates!

I do not have a bad word to say about this place! Even the toilets were nice!!!

We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesunhot5l, Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you! Its really good to read you had such a positive experience. We always aim to provide a top service and make every customer feel special, I'm glad we have achieved this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    74
    22
    11
    12
See reviews for
40
201
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
warrington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have walked and driven past this hotel on numerous occasions and never given it a second glance. It was booked last minute for a bank holiday break and we only got it through a cancellation but it was the only place we could get at such short notice.From the minute we walked through the door we were greeted by lovely and friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us.Our room was spacious and clean the only down side was the noise from the main road during the day when the windows are open but after a while you get used to it at night it isn't a problem. We booked bed breakfast and evening meal and the food was excellent we couldn't fault any of it.The hotel was going through a change in owner ship but this didn't reflect on the service we received Phil and Sam are no doubt going to be a great success and are very knowledgeable about the lakes we will definitely be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms at the back will be quieter as they are not on main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesunhot5l, Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
It is so good to read your response, especially as it was our first weekend in the business and such a busy weekend! I'm glad we didn't disappoint you. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed the bank holiday weekend with friends. Even though we had arrived during a change of management, this did not deflect from the friendly service, clean comfortable rooms and lovely food. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesunhot5l, Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback, as new owners we welcome your comments and are so pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I can't add anymore after reading all the other reviews, I totally agree with them all. We stayed for two nights the food was excellent we ate in both nights although we were going out to eat the second night, the food was so nice there we stayed in the second night. We stayed in room 12 and was a little disappointed with the size of it but then we realised it wasn't that bad we could come and go as we liked as we where near the rear exit (main door is locked after 9.30 if there's noone in the bar). Also it was quieter being at the rear of the hotel as the road seems to be constantly busy. They seem to have got it all just right, room was decorated lovely, really comfy bed (a bit too comfy), beautiful and clean room.
We walked into Bowness about 2.2miles on the first evening and back again. We walked to Ambleside the next day 3.3 both lovely places. We took the day hopper bus coming back £7.00 each but it lasted all day and you could get on and off as you like, it went to Windemere, Kendall and all the surrounding areas. All in all it was a very good break and we hope to return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed three night recently.
The room was excellent, quite large, with a good standard of décor, nice bedding and a modern bathroom.
Breakfast was good each day and well-cooked with lots of choice.
We also ate in one evening, which was also of a high standard.
The real ales are also good and the lady that runs the place is very pleasant.
Car parking is also available and plentiful.

Room Tip: The road is quite busy, but traffic quietens down at night if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days on a KGB deal at the beginning of August. Being on a main road, the hotel was easily located with a well signposted car park. Room was on the small side but had everything essential for a short break - good shower, comfy bed, nice toiletries and fluffy towels.
Dinner on the first night was included in our deal and this was delicious, served by an extremely friendly, funny, courteous young blonde girl from Leeds. (Sorry, forget her name!)
Troutbeck Bridge itself has nothing to offer in terms of nightlife but Bowness, Ambleside and Windermere are quite close. (£6.70 per couple on the bus or £6.50 by taxi to Bowness)
Breakfast was very good indeed with something to suit every palate. Being used to big hotels with their 'serve yourself' buffet-type breakfasts and their lukewarm selections, it was so nice for us to have a plate of HOT food, instead of the usual congealed, rubbery scrambled eggs and limp bacon.
A most enjoyable stay. A big 'Thank You' to all the staff at the The Sun Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We visited this hotel at the end of July for 2 nights on a KGB deal. The owners were very helpful, double checking availability before we booked the deal.
We arrived, unpacked and headed straight to the bar for a lovely pint and sat outside. Yes, the road is very busy and doesn't really quieten down until the early hours of the morning and if it's hot then you have to keep your bedrooms windows open but we were at the back which was better!
A lovely meal was had both nights and the same for breakfast.

Staff and owners are lovely, room(12), although a little on the small side, modern, clean with everything you need.

Overall, a good little hotel, close to everything you need for a few days away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Hotel

Address: troutbeck bridge, windermere | Windemere, Troutbeck Bridge la23 1hh, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Troutbeck Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Troutbeck Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sun Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun Hotel is on the A591 (the main road between Windermere & Ambleside. Originally an 18th century coaching inn fully refurbished by present owners in 2009, now a 10 bedroomed hotel providing high quality, affordable food, drink & ensuite accomadation.You can walk to the edge of lake windermere via a private footpath in 10 - 15 mins.An ideal location to explore the lake district. Please note the bar is only open unitl 10pm Sunday to Thursday & 11pm Friday & Saturday. This is to ensure oure residents have a peaceful nights rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sun Hotel Hotel Troutbeck Bridge
Sun Hotel Troutbeck

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.