We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memory worth re-visiting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Writer's Hill

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sirmour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Writer's Hill
Save
You added Writer's Hill to your Saves list
Near Renuka Lake | Writer's Hill, Sirmour 173022, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sirmour
New Delhi, India
1 review
“A memory worth re-visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We visited Writer's Hill in June of 2013...chose the hotel purely by what we read here and most importantly, the name of the hotel and the concept it stood for...and wow !! What an amazing experience...the hotel was hard to locate and maybe that's what one needs on a holiday of this nature...to get lost amidst the best that nature has to offer and service...totally personalised and absolutely not intrusive. The manner of service...totally warm and welcoming...one feels like a guest in your favourite friend's home and food is made to your choice and delicious....Munish the owner of the property has done such a marvellous job in having books and dvd's in every room...sit in a corner with a good book to read if you don't want to go out into the mountains...a memory worth re-visiting, for sure.

Room Tip: At the time there were three cottages and each one of them equally good...the sizes do vary and that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    18
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I visited this place at the end of August'13 with two of my other friends. The place is on the way from Jamta to Renuka Ji, which was a problem for us as some websites wrote that it was in Nahan. Therefore, we had trouble reaching the place as we had hired a taxi till Nahan and the driver would not go any further. It is another 24 km from Nahan.

If you go there you better have your own car, coz the taxi rates are very high in that region and as it is in the middle of no-where there is no way you can go anyplace unless you shed loads of money on a taxi.

Anyways the place is simply beautiful! It has three cottages and we stayed in the one which comes first when u walk up to the cottages. There is no hustle bustle, no crowd, just peace and greenery. The cottages are decorated very beautifully with small knick-knacks as you would put in your own house. The size of the cottages is also big and spacious. However, it wasn't properly cleaned as we saw a few cobwebs here and there in the room with the spiders in them! The food was average home cooked food. Not bad, but nothing great either. Home cooked food can be made delicious too. Firstly, we had no idea that this place was no close to any market/shop; secondly, we had no transport; on top of that the resort was out of soft drinks the next day! And they could not arrange it either. This was bad service. But otherwise, the staff there is a family that takes care of the place and also cooks. They are nice people :)

All in all, apart from the location issue (as we were not aware that it WAS NOT in Nahan), average food and spiders I would still love to go there again, coz of the location (as now I will be better prepared), its cottages and the peace. It is truly a Writer's Hill :)

Room Tip: They have three cottages, all are great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Small, Nice and very beautiful cottage style hill resort with 3 cottage rooms, good green lawn, hygienic kitchen and fruit trees (peach & banana). It really gives you the feeling that you are staying in your own holiday home. It is different from other regular hotels and holidays. It is just 6 hrs, derive from delhi. we stayed there for 2 nights but after reaching there we felt that our holiday should be for min. 3 nights. we stayed in honeymoon cottage (one step behind). it is very beautiful with good space and big bathroom. you can enjoy beautiful views from your rooms window with a cup of tea or you can read a book from a big and nice collection provided in room..joginder ji & cook Ramji along with his entire family is always there to serve you as per your choice. they are really very helpful. food was very good and hygienic. fresh and homely style. badolia temple waterfall is just 1 km. away from writers hill. one can enjoy trekking also. we reached at the top of the temple after 20 min. hard trekking but after reaching there we found a holy pond from where waterfall starts. views were very beautiful from there. we went to renukaji temple. we did boating there. There is a mini zoo near lake which is spread in around 3 kms. area. and if you dont want to walk you can take your vehicle there after paying just Rs. 50 as entry fee for vehicle.Really very nice experience. we would love to go again and again. thanks to Mr. Munish pal who allow us to come even after we postponed our holiday. Great hospitality. 110% recommendable place. Please go for 3 nights if going from delhi.

Room Tip: If you are going with kids of in family of 4person you should take the super luxury cottage (my name...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The place is not very far from NCR and thus the ride was comfortable. There are 3 very tastefully decorated and highly spacious cottages. The bedroom is huge with a separate area for reading with lots of good books already there for you to choose. Separate sit-out to enjoy nature. The bathroom are equally big and very clean. Home made food is delicious though there is less variety or options.
We enjoyed the beautiful water fall which just 1 km from the resort. The whole atmosphere is very refreshing and rejuvenating. People who want to take a break from busy life and just rest, this place is ideal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

AUTHOR: DR SUDHAKAR NATARAJAN, CHIEF VET OFFICER, INDO TIBETAN BORDER POLICE.
No fuel fumes.No blaring horns or loud speakers. No distractions. No rush. No troubles.All that you can hear are the rustle of leaves, the melodious call of forest birds and the soothing din of crickets and insects. This is a place to heal. This is the place to introspect. This is the place to peep deep into your soul and rediscover yourself after removing the layers of sooth that had accumulated during this rat-race called life. This place gives you the wisdom that in a rat race, even if you come first, you will still remain a rat. Therefore slow down. Breath. Take in the fresh and crisp mountain air and rejuvenate your battered soul. Not only your soul, but also your body. The organic food served at this resort will infuse you with new vim, vigour and vitality. The onions and tomatoes taste different. All the damage that the burgers and pizzas have done to your arteries will be reversed.
And if you are a book lover, this is the place to enjoy reading over a hot mug of coffee, intermittently relaxing your eyes with the spectacular panoramic view of the Himachali Mountains.
This is the place to take your pet along. To hell with all the so called star hotels like Taj, Maurya etc that deny your family the pleasure of enjoying your holidays with your dog. Why keep your darling dog in a kennel, when there are places like this where you can right royally take the dog. My dog Kelly really enjoyed her stay, and freely moved about the resort.
We had gone to celebrate the B'day of my daughter Avantika. The management of the resort personally ensured that a cake was ordered, on the house, and a grand party was arranged for me, my wife Sharmila and the birthday girl. Beer and drinks were also arranged without any problem and we danced the night away to the music of forest sounds.
We stayed at Writer’s Hill for 3 nights and 4 days.
Great place. Great stay.
My dog Kelly agrees with a big "Bow Bow" !!
Thanks Munish, Ramji and Joginder.

Room Tip: a great place for rest and recuperation
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This place is a perfect weekend getaway! :) We went there with a bunch of friends during the winter months and the place had its own charm during that time of the year! We had a great time with bonfire and friends accompanied by awesome grilled food. Next day we enjoyed hot chai and parathas made by Ramji.
The cottages are tastefully decorated and it feels like a perfect weekend getaway. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would love to come back again. Highly recommend this place.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We visited this place to take a refreshing break from city life........AND it turned out to be extremely worthwhile..the property is very well maintained,newly built and very well taken care of.....Mr Munish; the owner and the caretaker will leave no stone unturned to make you feel home away from home

PROS(Lots of them)

Location:perfect...All four cottages are right at heart of nature....Amazing view of hills from cottages and dining area.......Drive from delhi was very nice...scenic from kala amb onwards

Property:Superb....cottages are newly built, spaceous...The best thing was the collection of books and CDs in all rooms for people of all ages and tastes.....In super luxury room where we stayed,there was a separate study and the experience of reading with a cup of tea looking over shivalik hills through glass wall of the room was awesome...

Food:Ramji the cook prepared tasty food..It is included in package if you dont book through groupon...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Writer's Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Writer's Hill

Address: Near Renuka Lake | Writer's Hill, Sirmour 173022, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Sirmour
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sirmour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Writer's Hill Sirmour, India - Himachal Pradesh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Writer's Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.