We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doomed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarmani Beach

Mandarmani Beach
Bay of Bengal, Mandarmoni, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Mandarmoni
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Doomed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

There was a lot of expectation from this place but I have to say that I was disappointed. The hotel we booked was great which made the place bearable but otherwise this place has far outgrown itself and must stop marketing itself as Virgin Beach and all. I didnt anticipate the number of hotels that have mushroomed here inspite of lack of basic things such as electricity, roads and perhaps also water and sanitation. It looked like due to the lack of any rules entire forest areas have been raised to the ground to make way for there hotels back to back and spead for miles. there is no natural beauty left in this place. The cars, small trucks and other motorized vehicles driving on the beach due to non availability of roads have completely ruined the seaside experience. The sand and the water is polluted and not swim worthy. Children cannot play with the sand as its flat and hard. Its also dangerous with all vehicles coming from different directions. The people also were very invasive taking pictures and videos of others and constant stairing. You cannot relax here at all. I am never going back for sure.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    92
    31
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Need lot more water sports and better beach restaurants.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The beach is nice and clean. The water is not clear due to Ganges soil. I see lots of opportunities as the beach needs lot more water sports and better beach restaurants.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
763 helpful votes 763 helpful votes
“Mandarmani - The best beach near to Kolkata (Calcutta) in West Bengal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Mandarmani is the best beach to visit in West Bengal. It is around 4 hour drive from Kolkata (Calcutta). Mandarmani is well planned unlike Digha or any other beach in West Bengal. I had been there with friends and found the place to be an ultimate destination for relaxation near to Kolkata. There is no crowed, no vendors or hawkers, no chaos. The beach is serene and calm. You get all needs, comforts and necessities from the resorts or hotels you stay in on the beach. The staffs if told by you can arrange some chairs by the beach and you can relax ordering drinks and snacks on the table. The best thing is that most of the resorts and hotels in Mandarmani are by the beach. One can drive the car along the beach but I would suggest not to get your car in the beach. There are chances that your car gets blocked in the sand and you would have to give away around Rs. 3,000-5,000 to guys to pull up your car. So it is better to keep your car from the beach. There are water sports too and you can go for para-sailing or take jet ski drive. The beach looks superb in the evening when the Sun sets down. This is a must visit beach who are looking for short trips near to Kolkata.

There are regular bus services from Esplanade bus terminus to Choulkhola More, the place where one has to drop to visit Mandarmani.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“very long beach with sea sports and good for radio DXing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was my seventh visit since 2008. The hotels around the beach are much better now. Previously there was only one entrance, a steep slope at Dadan Patrabar. Now there is yet another entrance beyond Rose Valley resorts. The beach and water sports are much better developed. You can hire a bech buggy for Rs200 or a water ski ride for Rs500. There are banana boats and para sailing on tow boats. The water sports are available in front of Rose Valley and again down the beach before Sana beach resort. The beach has a ver slow gradient and the beach length of almost 6km gives a huge impression. A visit to the delta at the end of the beach is a must. We were with our Radio Dx friends and it is an excellent Dx location for stringing beverage antenna. For that we select a hotel which iscaway from the beach with open space all around and the grand old Samudra Bilas fits our bill

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Mandarmoni Beach not any typical swimming and bathing beach, for me - this beach is best for Riding/driving your own vehicles :-)
Its a 13 km long motorable beach, probably the longest motorable beach road in India. On the beach you will undoubtedly get the chance to feel the divinity,,

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandarmani Beach also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Digha, West Bengal
 
Digha, West Bengal
 

Been to Mandarmani Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarmani Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.