We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful zoo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mahendra Chaudhary Zoological Park

Mahendra Chaudhary Zoological Park
Chandigarh-Zirakpur-Patiala Road, Zirakpur, Chandigarh, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Zirakpur
Attraction details
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We visited this zoo on our way to Shimla, and my kid thoroughly enjoyed it. The zoo is well maintained and the option is to hire the cart exclusively. Though as compared to delhi zoo it's not that vast and has limited animal variety, but is enjoyable nevertheless. I still rue the fact that the lion safari is not that fun as it used to be when i visited as a kid when it boasted off a horde of lions, now there are only 3.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very unique Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The concept of open enclosures is very unique and gives the animals freedom (though limited) from being in a cage.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect sunday outing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Great place to spend a nice winter sunny day with kids... a walk through the nature.. we took our picnic basket along so it was more fun... be prepared for a long walk through the park... wear comfortable walkin shoes n carry water n light eatables ina backpack... if u dont like walkin then u can also take ur car through the park after takin a permission...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
120 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Children's day out to the Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

A great educational outing for children where they are exposed to Monkeys, Zebra, Elephants, Rhinos, Tigers, Lions (Regrettably only two can be seen in the Lion Safari), Hyenas, Birds (White and Black Pigeon among others), Crocodiles, besides a few more species like deers etc. in the 300 acres plus zoological park, situated about 30 to 40 minutes drive from Chandigarh on the Chandigarh-Patiala road.
You can no longer (since Jan 2012) take your car in the zoo. But there is a 1 hour tour @ Rs. 50.00 per adult in the Golf cart. The driver of our cart was very helpful, stopping at every animal enclosure and sharing a few tit-bits. Mind you, there is some waiting.
But, it is better than the 3 hour walk, you would otherwise have to do. We went in the third week of October 2012, which was a pleasant day. So, most of the animals were out. Had it been the first week, it would have been warmer and the animals would have been in the shade.
The Lion safari is eminently avoidable. There was only one Lion (who was pacing in the enclosure) and a Lioness who was sunning outside. Deer safari is better. You can carry your own food and make a picnic out of the day. Cold drinks and juices can be purchased besides other snacks. But it is better to carry your own food and purchase the liquid refreshment.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panipat, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A must see location with your kids if you are nearby chandigarh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

First of all I was surprised to see a wonderful Zoological park in India.I have seen one in Singapore and that was wonderful .Although this one is not up to that standards but still is good considering India. The park is situated in a big area and quite natural.You would love the greenery and will love the animals. I went there with two kids. The day was quite chilly and it rained in the day. The staff was very helpful. There is a facility in the zoo using golf carts or you can pay fee of 300 Rs to take your car. Consider these options if it is raining or you have small kids. The area is quite big and you will be tired. The park has a number of birds and animals. There are lion and deer safaris. Also there are numbers of birds.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahendra Chaudhary Zoological Park also viewed

 

Been to Mahendra Chaudhary Zoological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahendra Chaudhary Zoological Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.