We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, decent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. James's Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added St. James's Club to your Saves list
St. James's Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 35
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good hotel, decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here week of June 28 to July 5.

Hotel

Seems like a nice hotel, not too big and not too small. There is an adult only section.

While reading the other reviews, I actually went around looking for rats/mice and could not find a single one.

Customer Service

Check in was completely painless. Other than Air Canada screwing up. The customer service rep tried to resolve the issue for me, but wasn't able to because it was out of their hands.

I personally didn't have any troubles with this resort what so ever, but as I was sitting in the lobby, I witnessed someone else having something problems, and when confronting the service desk, the customer service representative didn't know what to do. After trying to resolve the issue, the guest had to ask what they're going to do to compensate him for this troubles. She shrugged, and the guest walked away.
I don't know what the issue or and result was, but it doesn't seem like the customer service was trained to take initiative to resolve issues

Room Cleaning
At times, it seems like they do bare minimum when cleaning. I guess it depends on who's cleaning your room that day. Also, there's no schedule for cleaning. Sometimes at 5, when I walk back to my room, I see that the maid's in the room cleaning still.
They will always change your towels regardless if you put the towels in to "to be changed" pile

Restaurants
There's a price beside all the foods there, it was confusing at first, but if you're all inclusive, just ignore the prices. You have to pay for all bottled drinks, INCLUDING WATER. This kinda annoyed me, even though the water is drinkable, I much prefer the bottled water.

There's a schedule at the front lobby that tells you if there's an a la cart or buffet. It's kinda annoying that you have to basically book dinner every day, but you get used to it.

There's one big buffet near the front lobby that serves all 3 meals. A restaurant right by the lake that seems like they only serve dinner, great view.
A grill on the beach that opens 11am - 11pm that serves awesome burgers

One more restaurant on the Atlantic side of the lake that serves burgers, Mac and cheese (kinda tasteless) and other daily specials.

One restaurant that you have to pay for regardless if you're in a timeshare or all inclusive guest. Picollo is the name of it, and it's $35 each. I chose not to go, but was told it's worth going since it's all seafood and there's lobster.

Activities
Beach Volley ball, of course there's free non motorized water sports and tennis. If there were any more, it wasn't well advertised

Beach/Pool
I counted 4 pools, I could be wrong. They were all small, but I don't care for the pools, it's all about the beach!
There are 2 beaches on this resort.
First faces the Atlantic, which is windy and wavy waters. I stayed here for the most part because it was 40 degrees Celsius when I was there.
Second one is in the bay, and the buildings that are between it an the Atlantic side are blocking the wind, so there's almost no wind there. It was extremely hot here, but that's where all the activities were. I only went here a few times, although I do regret that. On this side, there are floating devices in the middle where I laid on for quite sometime.

Room Tip: WiFi is feeble, but you're on vacation, so disconnect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    694
    220
    122
    58
See reviews for
605
969
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I with my 2 sons (in mid twenties) had a great time at St. James. Lots of activities, food and drinks for each of us. Shirley at the main bar by the main pool made the most fantastic drinks. Nice variety of activities and foods between 3 restaurants. Never went to the restaurant requiring extra fee since food didn't appeal to any of us.

One thing the bug us all was that there was only Internet in the lobby which wasn't too bad but it was extremely slow. The speed needs improving, don't want to sit in the lobby for an hour.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We loved the St. James Club resort. We are from the rat race in DFW, and this was truely what we needed for R&R. Our visit was 6-7-14 through 6-12-14. The highlights:

1. Beach on windy side was perfect. We loved our beach front room! Wind kept you from getting hot, as the bay side (other side of resort) was very hot. The weather was perfect for us. We really were able to completely relax.

2. The room was very nice, would have been better with a fan of some kind in the bathroom (hot).

3. The food was very good. The Dockside buffet was available for dinner each night, and the food was great. The Rainbow Room buffet was adequate for breakfast, omlets were good. We made dinner reservations for the Rainbow room for a few nights. Wait staff for dinner at the Rainbow room was wonderful. We ate at Co Cos for lunch everyday - it was adequate, wait staff were rude. One other restaurant was under renovations - the one that up-charges $35.00 per person.

4. We enjoyed some interesting drinks during the day: Pinia Coladas with Brugal Rum - fantastic, Antigua Charm, A Day at the Beach, plenty of wine, and the Wabadly beer.

5. We were disappointed that a large percentage of the staff were rude. We found this upsetting, and if it hadn't been for the nice ones, it would have really put a damper on things. The guest services were pitiful. We weren't given any information about excursions, and had to practically beg for information. We ended up not doing any excursions, partly because of this, and partly because the beach was sooo great. Some of the staff actually rolled their eyes at us. I did make a few comments on a card that is supposed to go to the owner - to please train the staff on customer service. I also made comments about the staff that stood out - Norma Lynn the activities person was wonderful. Hubbie and I made the trek up the very steep hill for a 7:15 a.m. power walk. From the top of the hill are some fantastic views. We also enjoyed the water aerobics.

Room Tip: Worth the $ for beach front on windy side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

For the past four years, the Royal Suites at the St. James's Bay Club has been THE place to spend our Wedding Anniversary. Every year they surpass our expectations!

The room/view is spectacular & the food is great. The omelets can't be beat at the Rainbow, the menus choices are terrific at all the restaurants and don't miss the Caribbean Buffet! We always enjoy the entertainment at the Dockside & love the Jazz player at Coco's on Sunday afternoon! Although Piccollo Mondo was closed for renovations this trip, we look forward to returning next year to an even better experience at this first class restaurant. Don't pass up the outdoor couples massage if you can fit it in...wonderful! I cannot say enough about the staff. Their main goal is to ensure you enjoy your vacation; they go above and beyond to make it happen. A smile, hug & great service!

We will be returning to the Royal Suites at the St. James's Club in Mamora Bay, Antigua for our 43rd Wedding Anniversary!

Room Tip: Go for the Royal Suites, great view, large comfortable room, dedicated 2 pools & bar for these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I spent 1 week. The resort is located in a beautiful bay and has a nice beach area. We had a basic room on the ground floor that was nice size had a fine soft bed and bath. Plenty of room for 2 people. Housekeeping was always done and done properly. We ate at Dockers for dinner 3 times and loved the food and got there early so we got a "rail" table for a great view of the bay. The menu changed each night at Dockers so it kept our palette fresh. Lots of choices too!
We ate at Rainbow Room for breakfast each day and the choices were plenty and quality very good. We would like to thank the entire staff at St. James Club for being so friendly and efficient.
The grounds here are beautiful and kept that way by the gardeners who always seem to be planting new shrubs, pruning or weeding to keep the resort looking top notch.
The swimming pool near the main building is a bit small, but was very clean and not that crowded. Lots of people use the beach and swim there. The "pool aerobics" team did a great job each day and we appreciated that.
This resort gives very good value for the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had a great week in June at the St. James's Resort. We stayed in a lovely Reef Suite facing the Atlantic ocean, with a king bed, large bathroom and lounge area. The staff were always pleasant and helpful. Service was first rate, the food was always very good and have a wide variety. Even though the Italian restaurant was closed for renovations, the Docksiders restaurant has great food with a beautiful setting while the Rainbow Garden was great for breakfast and lunch. We've been to Antigua a few times, and so only left the resort twice, once to go to Shirley's Height's on Sunday evening (a must) and did the Mystique catamaran-snorkeling excursion on the west side of the island, both excellent. I will definitely return to this resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

I am normally a glass half empty type when it comes to vacations. It is just so hard for things to live up to the websites and pictures. This place is just breath taking. The food was was very good. Their was something for everyone to do, water sports, tours, beaches, games, and pools. The rooms were very clean. There was a slight damp smell but with the salt air that's hard to avoid. Biggest issues were the birds at breakfast, they are everywhere and will move in as soon as you get up. Biggest plus for SJC is the staff for sure. Every single waiter, bartender, front desk staff, or maintenance person was always very friendly and went the extra step. This place was above any expectations I ever could of imagined. We will be returning for an anniversary one day.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. James's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club

Address: Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > Mamora Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the All-Inclusive St. James's Club & Villas, Antigua's most famous address. This beautiful resort is ideally located on a private, 100-acre peninsula. You will love our two white sand beaches, water sports, tennis, four restaurants, indoor and outdoor bars, beach bar & grill, luxurious spa & salon, freshwater swimming pools, supervised Kids Club, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, and so much more. One of the Caribbean's most popular all-inclusive resorts. Excellent for couples, honeymooners, families, and friends. Located just minutes from major attractions like English Harbour, Nelson's Dockyard, and the lively Shirley Heights. Our warm and welcoming staff and management team will make your stay wonderful and memorable. See your favorite travel agent or contact Elite Island Resorts to book your stay. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your St. James's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. James`s Club Hotel Mamora Bay
St James Club Antigua
St Jamess Hotel
St Jamess Resort
St James Antigua
St Jamess Club Antigua
St. James's Club Antigua/Mamora Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.