We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. James's Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added St. James's Club to your Saves list
St. James's Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 35
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Niagara Region
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, everything was clean, the food was wonderful... I did not have any upset stomach, which I often do. The meals were not greasy, and dinner choices were varied all week. Reservations meals were amazing. Beds were comfy. Drink selection was so huge, that I didn't get a chance to try everything. The 'st.james special' is delicious. They have golf cart drivers for the rooms that are farther away. Wifi is incredibly slow in the lobby. Night time entertainment is lacking - just a band by the pool. There are always on-site taxis willing to take you anywhere, including all day tours. But I recommend the all day tour with Marcus to get an educated, and fun tour of the whole island. we booked through the Air Canada rep that was there every morning in a red t-shirt (Kim). It was $100/person, including lunch and a morning drink. Sunday night at the top of a hill (shirley heights) is an beautiful view of the sunset, and music and drinks. you can book a shuttle with the hotel. The non-motorized sports are readily available & easy to sign out. The are set up by the bay, so the water is calm. We enjoyed the kayak and standing board. The beach vendors had the same products, and comparable prices to the vendors in St. Johns (downtown)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    689
    220
    122
    57
See reviews for
603
959
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We got some much-needed R&R at this resort. The room (a Royal Suite overlooking Mamora Bay) and the view were great as were most of the staff. The "private" check-in was anything but private and needlessly lengthy. After 30 mins. of standing in line, a 15-minute wait for a "Welcome" drink and then a far-too-detailed "VIP" briefing (who can't find the beaches on a property that juts out into the ocean?) we were ushered to our giant room.

The double shower, double sinks and Jacuzzi tub are a bit over-the-top but the king-size bed, sunken living room, spacious balcony, stocked mini fridge and efficient air conditioning were much appreciated. Located just steps from two private pools, the waterfront and 2 of the 4 restaurants that were open (though not for all meals) during our stay, the room was ideally situated.

While the majority of staff were very helpful and even gracious in serving us as guests, sadly it was the few dining room supervisors and waitresses at the Rainbow and Docksider restaurants who let the team down. The staff - including supervisors - need some professional training. Granted, it was low season but that's no excuse for missed drink orders, missed coffee orders, missing utensils and lengthy waits for service. Some waits were up to 45 minutes even when we could find someone to ask for service. The food was of good quality but often over-cooked and/or cold. Maybe they can send the crews from Piccolos and Cocos restaurants to show the rest how to do their jobs properly, both service and food preparation.

BTW, the US$35 per person premium for Piccolos was worth it, particularly for the filet mignon. They also serve a much better house wine by the glass. Unfortunately, the lobster were on vacation at same time as we were there; perhaps they should tell guests before they book.

This isn't a "party" resort although they did have some nice entertainment - 3- & 4-piece ensembles with good singers. They offer premium brands of liquor with the all-inclusive but be sure to request the real thing or they will substitute a lesser quality alcohol. Antigua's own Wadadli beer is quite good and not unlike Heineken and with none of the after-taste of Carib or Presidente.

The tours and excursions offered through the resort are much more expensive than you can find on your own on the web, or even through some tour reps (Kim from Air Canada Vacations gave an excellent briefing, although she too was flogging her own tours which were also pricier than we found elsewhere.)

The half-price, two-hour sunset cruise on the Verandah catamaran from the resort's own quay to Nelson's Dockyard and Falmouth Harbour was an excellent value and the young crew members were quite entertaining.

We opted to go with a private land tour of the island. Thanks to TripAdvisor, we found Lawrence of Antigua Tours and had a great day. Checking with others who paid up to 25% more for group tours and saw only a fraction of we did, we really lucked out. He even stopped along the way to buy us some of Antigua's "black" pineapple - about the sweetest fruit we'd ever eaten! Too bad they don't grow enough to export it. We stopped at Hemingway's in St. John's for a great fish sandwich lunch.

A final word about the airport. The construction of the new terminal is well underway. We hope the air conditioning there will be as good as in the old terminal because it's one of the coolest airports we've ever visited in the Caribbean and Central America.

Room Tip: The Royal Suites are nice if you want to pamper yourself but all the rooms are well-situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was our 5th visit to the resort (12/07 - 26/07), the last was in 2010 and was disappointing at the time. See our last review here:

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g1584775-d148278-r74511782-St_James_s_Club-Mamora_Bay_Saint_Paul_Parish_Antigua_Antigua_and_Barbuda.html

After that visit we were reluctant to return and indeed, returned to one of the sister resorts (the Varandah) in 2011.

However, this year we felt St. James needed a return visit as it truly does hold a place in our hearts. And we were glad we gave it another chance.

First off we are a well travelled family of three, our daughter is 13 now. We expect high quality in both accomodation and service.

Once again, we were upgraded to a Reef Suite which are a great. Right on the waters edge, the view across the ocean is truly breathtaking. Room was in an excellent state of repair.

Last time we criticised the lack of resturants open. This year week one, was much better with Docksiders (water front location), Cocos (Elevated location at the end of one beach) and the Rainbow Garden (Main resturant) all being open in the evening.
You also have the option of Picolo Mondos at an additional charge. We did this once this year and were pleased to note that compared to back in 2010, it had raised it's game. Service was fantastic and the food was exceptional (despite the lack of Lobster bein available!!!). Both Coco's and the Rainbow Garden were open for breakfast and both being available for lunch in addition to the Mamora Grill for an easy quick Burger.
Week two was noticably quieter in the resort and we started to witness the closure of some resturants. Only the Rainbow Garden for Breakfast and on occasions, only Cocos for lunch on some days. One of the resturants was shut alternately, in the evening.

Food was overall of a good standard but we feel there are two things need addressing here and the main reason we have marked overall 4/5 as a rating.
Coco's had the same menu lunchtime or evening. This not only becomes monotonous but the evening visit see's nothing more than the same lunchtime style meal which is such a shame considering the superb location.
Rainbow Garden is still the same as our last report. It has zero ambience and lacks any character. This should be the resorts next target. Breakfast was always great mind.

And we truly think they have the menus around the wrong way!!! Docksiders is the classic waterfront Carribean setting. Yet every night? Buffet!!! This resturant deserves to be "a la Carte" and the Rainbow Garden be the buffet where people can go without too much effort and grab something quick off the buffet without taking much notice of the actual location.
Staff in the resturants were great and always courteous.

The Jacaranda bar has seen a well overdue refurb and I've read on here it was a bit basic. We didn't feel this was the case. An excellent job has been done in a modern contemporary style.

Mamora bar is great for a sundowner before returning to your room to repare for the evening.

Bar staff were excellent as they were throughout the resort. A special mention to 3 people here. Shirley and Inez in the main pool bar are excellent and should be recognised by their management. Nothing was too much trouble, always a smile and a friendly chat. And we must not forget Alfred, the man with the drinks buggy on the beach. A true legend and a pleasure to see trundling down the beach with an ice cold beverage for you. We certainly knew when it was his day off as the visits were dramatically reduced.

Pools were clean and good to see the tiered adults pool has had a makeover since the last time.

Beaches were in great shape. Cocos beachwas suffering from a few Jellyfish but the sea breeze was a welcome relief from the heat.
Mamora beach is perfect in the afternoon, maybe a bit hot due to the lack of any breeze.
Sunbeds were always available on either beach and were in a good state of repair.

Car hire was geat. Very helpful, reasonable in cost and a trip out for the day is well worth the effort. Stingray city is well worth doing. A great experience.

And now to the front desk / guest services. We felt a couple of the people were downright rude to be honest. Any queries were treated as though they were insignificant for them to deal with. Not all of them, just a couple.

WiFi is available at various places around the resort with varying levels of connectivity. The lobby area was frustrating to say the least.

So overall, a great holiday in a resort that is relaxing and a lovely experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have just returned from St James club making this our 5th visit each time with Virgin holidays. We had a wonderful time. As a returning repeat guest we were automatically upgraded to a reef room which has a sea view that is nothing but sea, absolutely stunning. I would recommend these rooms even if you have to upgrade, not that the standard rooms are bad you understand

If you have read any of my other reports you will know that I am keen that you realise that the report is my view and it may not suit you but here goes. We are a family 2 adults one 15 year old son, dad likes activities mom likes some activities and son does most activities. We like good quality hotels that are not stuffy and we more or less stick by the rules ie happy to keep to the dress code etc. We join in most times with most activities and spend some time alone.
So St james Club ticks all of the boxes for us. The staff are friendly (there are up to 400 of them in the high season so there will be variation however most of the time they are great)

The water sports team are very good, helpful not bossy or tyranical as they are at other places that I have been to in the carribean?? and if you dont know how to sail (hobi cat) they will teach you at no cost virtually there and then. Every week there is a race day which is great fun for novice and experienced alike. You will make many friends here

Particular praise should go to Winston and captain Billy (AKA Nigel). The on site party boat The Verandah is a particularly great trip and at $70 per person we enjoyed it so much we went twice this time - a great trip with captain Joseph.

Food is good with a lot of choice, 3 restaurants open most of the time with fine dining available at a supplement at Picolo mundo (try this at least once at $35 pp supplement). The hotel is 4* and great value. many people try to compare this with a 5* hotel. It isnt and i dont think that anyone at SJC tries to say that it is - it is however a great 4* hotel.

The location is great with a windy beach and a not windy beach - please read elsewhere their descriptions.

So why do we love St James so much

The people the managemnt the staff are great
Location
Watersports
Fishing on the boat and on the dock (great spot for serious tarpin and ray fishing) take a travel rod with hooks and use sausage or bread as bait - fantastic fun catching small jacks and snapper.
Snorkeling on the reef (not red sea standard but there is coral and lots of fish)
Pools 5 I think although not all are available to all.
Food
Accomodation Reef suites and Royal Suites are great
All inclusive with quality beverages
Not many rowdy guests (although there are sometimes some) hey they are on holiday as well.
Night manager Geoff (tell him about the rowdy folks)
Shirley and Alfred serving drinks
Aerobics in the pool
Fish burgers at the beach bar

What could be better?
Night time entertainment (particularly for teens)
Broadband speed in the lobby (great in the rooms if you pay the supplement I understand)

What to do outside of the hotel
Nothing around close to the hotel but the excursions that we would reccomend are-
Segway at St james fort beach - brilliant $65 for nearly 2 hours of fun and more fun
Zip wire in the rainforest excellent as good as they get
Excellence (boat at St Johns) round the island trip also very good
Helcopter ride to monserrat - special trip to save up for
Sting ray city - havent done this yet because I thought it might be cruel - it isnt - must do it next time
Shirley heights - Sunday night entertainment very much worth a trip.

On site car hire from Lion is $50 a day + $12 insurance and they priovide a good service.

So you will see I am a fan of St James Beach. Great value holiday. In fact we liked it so much we have invested in a time share there as most of the folks you meet who have them say that its one of the bset things that they have done.

Why would I want to commit go back every other year. Try it out - happy to answer questions.

Room Tip: Reef rooms and suites are excellent with a great view. Royal suites also special with great views ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, NH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

By way of background I'm an airline pilot for a major US carrier and I travel the Caribbean extensively. My family and I have vacationed at numerous Caribbean all-inclusive resorts during the preceding fifteen years. We believe all-inclusive resorts are a tremendous bargain and offer something for EVERYBODY in the family while mom takes a well-deserved break.

The above said, we found the St. James Club to be one of the nicest Caribbean all-inclusive resorts we've visited. I can quickly get a feel for how the vacation is going to go by viewing the material condition of any resort property upon arrival. This place was SPOTLESS from stem to stern including freshly painted exteriors, rooms and dining areas. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Please remember when you stay at an all-inclusive resort that you're NOT dining at a Manhattan 5-Star restaurant. So don't expect one. That said, the food here was absolutely excellent...fresh with a great selection and very nice presentation at ALL meals. Again, probably the best we've had at any all-inclusive resort.

My son and I enjoy snorkeling. A lot. There is an absolutely beautiful live coral reef about 200 yards off the Atlantic-side resort beach. Have no fear...the water is shallow during the swim out to the reef. The entire beach and reef area was SPOTLESS with no garbage in the water. We took numerous underwater photos of the coral and fish. We saw no sharks, however did see three Barracuda, one about 4' in length. They're only curious and didn't bother anyone. The area between the beach and the reef had numerous live Conch grazing in the eel grass. We borrowed a game bag from the resort dive shop and brought a dozen live Conch to the head chef Kevin who quite happily prepared us the best Conch fritters I've ever eaten. Simply delicious!

I'm uploading several photos of our visit for those that'd like to see my photo-perspective of the resort. In summary, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND the St. James Club. We will return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Two girldriends and I just returned from an amazing vacation at the St. James Club in Antigua (July 6-13) and had one of the best experiences ever. I am a seasoned traveler, a woman of size, have refined tastes and have an eye for detail. I am educated as well so this also adds to my review.
Booking and Price: We booked mid June and got a great price through the internet with Tripcentral. I would have paid more for the vacation we received.
Flight and Transfers: Excellent flight from West Jet that arrived on time and left a little later. I have been on more comfortable flights but the wonderful attendants kept things fun and light. You have to pay for alcoholic beverages and there is no free meal but hey...you can buy what you need with a credit card.
When we arrived in Antigua we had an envelope waiting at a taxi stand...we shared a mini van with a family of four and went directly to our hotel a half hour away from St. John. Efficient and pleasant not to drop off others on the way. Very impressive.
Arrival: We were greeted at the front desk with champagne,(rum punch or fruit punch was also offered) checked in and were taken immediately to our beautiful room.

Room: Location was excellent. 310 Papaya was directly on the beach...walk out patio and you are 15 steps to the ocean. I am not kidding Our room was huge: wet bar with fridge, glasses coffee, tea and storage, desk area, deck with 2 chairs 2 loungers and table, huge closet , 7 drawer hutch and 3 drawer night table, 2 double beds and we had a cot ready for us ( as pre ordered) The cot is $20/ night extra but that is only $46 / person and we rotated and it was just fine. Full bath (tub, double sinks, toilet, hair dyer, soap, body gel, lotion and shampoo ( no conditioner- bring yours) lots of towels in room. Lots of lighting throughout,lamps, and SUPER CLEAN.

Beach: The beauty of this resort is that there were 2 beaches. Our room was on the Atlantic side on Coco's beach. The water was clear and turquoise. There are clear beaches but the enormity of the ocean and the waves were unbelievable. There was no need for sand shoes. The sand is not as soft as Punta Cana but almost . The ocean can get rough but we had no problem even during a tail end of hurricane. Now if you go out our front door and toddle across the resort to Mamora Bay ( a 2 minute walk) you get a calm smooth salt water bay for watersports, swimming, etc. It is a great spot to chill and hang out. Great snack shack and bar too. There is no "towel game" here at all. The resort, mind you was not full but we had our pick of chairs any time The beach was unbelievable...found live conches, sting rays swam by, pelicans, storks, schools of fishes and loved every second there. Suffered no mosquitoes or sand fleas.

Food: Fantastic. I loved what I ate here. The food is excellent and is made for British/ North American pallet. . Breakfast had anything you would like- eggs and omelets cooked to order, bread and toasts, various meats and cheeses. The juices we delicious... fresh and plentiful ( I loved the pineapple juice) Tons of bacon, ( cooked 2 ways soft or crispy) fresh waffles and the best fruit you can imagine... fresh pineapple, and watermelon were my faves but they had mango, honeydew and cantaloupe If didn't feel like buffet you could order off menu (oatmeal or eggs Benedict- what ever you wanted.) Lunch had many choices- buffet, snack bar or Coco's restaurant- sandwiches, hot dogs salads, fries, burgers, ice cream, pastas,fish Tons of choice... Dinner: Buffet was great again...always a fish, beef, pork and chicken choice plus tons of other things to eat. We had a good time at the Rainbow Hall for the fixed menu meal, excellent Caribbean night at Docksiders and enjoyed the specials at Coco's for diner as the view is spectacular. We wanted to try some local favourites ( ducana, fughi and pepper pot) and we put in a special order at guest services and it was served to us...quite tasty!

Drinks: anything you want any time... beer at 8:00 a.m. no problem... margarita on the beach at 3...served to you... a man in a cart was driving by all the time to give you drinks...4 shots of rum in a thimble of punch at midnight...not a blink of an eye and it is yours. The drinks were all in real glasses and solid plastic cups on the beach... I loved the pina coladas and the salted lime margaritas... my friends loved them too and the red and white wine too... the pours were very generous...sometimes too strong but it was an easy fix with more mix added

Entertainment: There is not much here. And for us that was perfect. They had a movie every night in a cinema, exercise activities throughout the day, cooking lessons, dance lessons etc. There was no animation team there to bug you to play games etc... it was a choice to do anything which we loved. There is live music at lunch and dinner which was excellent but ended at 10 p.m there was a disco for dancing and some nights karaoke but for our needs we were content to wander to our room drunk from sun, kindness and a stiff couple of pina coladas.
Beach towels were never a problem...ask and you get them. Leave them and get fresh ones... there is no checking on them... it was decadent and luxurious.

Grounds: Super clean and beautiful. Much more green than flowers but that could be because of the season, there is no swim up bar or jacuzzi but we were beach people. We would usually go to the bay area area around 4 for the last few hours.There is no piped in music which can drive you crazy. There has been a renovation here so there are plenty of gazebos and docks for walks and thoughts. There are ots of chairs and umbrellas and never had to fight for a spot and they use palm trees effectively to shade...there are stairs so be aware if you have mobility issues.

Service: The people who work here were amazing. This is what really made the resort fantastic. They were so friendly, polite and happy we just loved being with them all the time. Shout outs in no particular order:
Morsha and Shanika.. we love you!
Heather our beach grill friend
Bennet our tennis pro and storm story sharer
Our sassy guest service lady who's name escapes me...begins with an L ...we love you too! Lisa will be your facebook friend, as well as our Chris Tucker loving waitress... you know who you are.
Kerian who made me her special drink with such care and pride I will never forget you!
Samantha who so eloquently told us of the full moon on the beach and how she hopes we see it. She told us this on our first day and we fell in love with the resort because of her candid and beautiful love story for Antigua

I loved how dress codes were enforced at dinner... don't come in your swimsuit to dinner... everyone looked nice and it really made a difference in the enjoyment of the meals

I could go on and on but this was a great spot and a lovely place to hang your hat for a week. I do have some notes that are "criticisms" that I think the resort should take note of but my no means would I rate it less than a 5 because of it.

1. Pools: This is an older resort and pools have come a long way. There are 4 pools an a kiddie pool. The pool with 4 tiers is a great concept but was not clean. The water was clear but there was tons of algae. The large central pool was large and square. There was a bar on hand but it would do if you were a pool person. The waterfall pool seemed to be only for Royal suite guests but I went in it anyway. It was small but nice...but again Algae. There was also a pool by Coco's that was secluded and nice but again small and worse for ware. This really didn't bother me as I love the 2 beaches so ... if you are a pool person this may disappoint you.
2. While we loved all the drinks and food I think you may want to stock your fridges with bottled water etc. It is just a nice extra to have that on hand.
3. Your shop is really overpriced. $15 US for cocktail peanuts, $6.99 for 2L of coke. $24.00 for some sunscreen. That is a bit ridiculous. Especially when you don't stock the fridges... water for a L was only a dollar which is all right. We only bought three and found the tap water fine.

And that sums it up. Antigua is beautiful. I recommend it fully. This resort is historical and old school too. We had actual room keys and a safe key ( note: bring a key chain for the safe key) which, for some reason made me feel more secure. No wrist bands, just signatures for things and room numbers. I liked this. As for the heat... a steady 85 degrees Fahrenheit all year round with a forgiving Caribbean breeze was beautiful.
Go!
Enjoy!
I will be back!

Room Tip: We paid extra for a beach front... well worth it...ground floor and walk out to the beach in 15 step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My good friend and my adult daughter recently spent a fabulous girl's week with me in a beach front room at the St. James's Club. It was postcard perfect! The grounds are just amazing! We loved having the option of walking outside via our patio/porch to the beautiful white sand beach or heading out our front door to the quiet bay side of the resort. It was off season so many times we were the only ones enjoying the beauty of the palm trees while sipping a pina colada hand delivered by the friendly drink cart attendant. The room and bathroom were large and very clean. Since it was off season, not all of the restaurants were in full swing for every meal; we would have like to have seen more specialty restaurants. We ate 3 nights at Piccolo Mondo, at a charge of $30 extra per person, but we just felt it was definitely worth it... The food and view were amazing. There was live music in different resort locations every night and we enjoyed the variety of venues. The staff at the resort went out of their way to be helpful; very friendly. Free internet access was only available in the lobby area which was a bit frustrating for my traveling companions. We took advantage of 3 different day trip excursions that were arranged by the wonderful concierge's desk. This was absolutely one of our best vacations and we highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Select a beach front room for a wonderful view of the ocean as well as easy access to the beach. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. James's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club

Address: Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > Mamora Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the All-Inclusive St. James's Club & Villas, Antigua's most famous address. This beautiful resort is ideally located on a private, 100-acre peninsula. You will love our two white sand beaches, water sports, tennis, four restaurants, indoor and outdoor bars, beach bar & grill, luxurious spa & salon, freshwater swimming pools, supervised Kids Club, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, and so much more. One of the Caribbean's most popular all-inclusive resorts. Excellent for couples, honeymooners, families, and friends. Located just minutes from major attractions like English Harbour, Nelson's Dockyard, and the lively Shirley Heights. Our warm and welcoming staff and management team will make your stay wonderful and memorable. See your favorite travel agent or contact Elite Island Resorts to book your stay. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your St. James's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. James`s Club Hotel Mamora Bay
St James Club Antigua
St Jamess Hotel
St Jamess Resort
St James Antigua
St Jamess Club Antigua
St. James's Club Antigua/Mamora Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.