We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. James's Club

Save Saved
You added St. James's Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. James's Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 50% Off!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Mamora Bay
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A lovely honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We hugely enjoyed our 2 week honeymoon at St James Club.
The resort is beautiful, very well maintained with 2 lovely beaches. The watersports on the bay side were great, we enjoyed taking the hobie cats out and snorkelling. We went out on the resort's catarmaran, the beach they took us to was amazing, but it was a very bumpy ride, not for those that get seasick!
Our room (a standard room close to the reception) was fairly large, a big king sized bed, very comfortable and was kept very clean. I was hoping we might get upgraded as it was our honeymoon, I had read of others being upgraded on here and the resort was less than full in late May, but I guess 14 nights might have been a bit of a stretch.
The food throughout our stay was generally excellent. The food at Docksiders was great, but we preferred the Rainbow restaurant, the chef there was fantastic. Lots of choice, different meats and fish. There was a mix of buffets and a la carte nights. We went to Piccolo Mondo (additional cost) restaurant three times, which was lovely fine dining (once for free after going to a timeshare meeting), we particularly enjoyed the lobster thermador. Go earlier in the evening for the better tables. Yes you have to remember to book a restaurant each morning unless there it is a buffet but this was not a problem for us.
The only reason I have not given 5 stars are because there were some less helpful staff, a couple of the waitresses seemed to think they were doing us a favour by serving us, and we had an incident at the Mamora Grill on the beach where our food order was just 'forgotten' and there was no apology or any interest from the staff there! The room service food was awful and very expensive, the picnic lunch was also overpriced so avoid these if possible.
However, overall we were very pleased with our choice and would recommend the hotel. We hope to go back some day!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,036 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,018
    642
    203
    117
    56
See reviews for
565
895
22
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the St James Club for 2 weeks at end of May. Lovely room, first floor in Pineapple Suite. We had choice of windy beach (lovely when it got too hot) or water sports beach which is less windy but has a nice breeze, there is a dedicated swimming area too. No problem booking any of the Restaurants, Dockside was my personal favourite. Going later in the season the hotel was quiet and the weather very changeable, but came back with a fantastic tan. We booked our trips through Virgin rep, we did 4x4 off road, "Big John" made it very exciting, then spent afternoon on Catamaran snorkling/drinking rum punch (not at the same time of course!) We also did the Island Hellicopter Tour, well worth the money. Booked on site taxi (Tiger) to take us to Nelsons Dockyard and Shirley Heights, unfortunately Thurs evening entertainment stopped the week before but the views are stunning. The only downside for us was the location of hotel, the men in the party like to walk after breakfast and we all like to have a stroll after diner but there was just nowhere to go. Mustn't forget to mention Alfred, the beach buggy always seemed to turn up at the right time and Alfred always had a smile for everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

we stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks in a Beachfront room which we had to pay extra for,unfortunately we did not think it was worth the money as decor in room very dated shower cubicle was very dirty patio doors were rusty, but they did shut.The other problem we had was noise, being on the atlantic ocean side there was alot of wind and the trees outside the room were rustling all night the other noise we heard was the rain as there was no ceiling you could hear every rain drop.(we had up stairs beachfront room 314).Also over the 2 weeks we had at least 6 cock roaches in the room which we have never had that many.Some people would say thats not to bad but for me 1 is to many.
The rest of the hotel was lovely the beaches were nice the pools were nice,the food was good, the only thing we found was booking every night for the restuarants was ridiculous as we went out a fair bit we tried to book the restuarants when we come back and was told they were fully booked so we tried to book before we left the hotel but was told again fully booked, so tried night before was told you cant book that far ahead,so dont know why they bother putting next days menu up when you cant book them that early,not to say we didnt eat as there is cocos which you dont book but they have the same menu more or less every day which is mainly burgers hot dogs,and the other meals we didnt have to book was the buffets.
Staff i think were ok but they seem to have the people they want to talk to and the people they dont,i dont think they were that friendly,maids were more friendly.
I think to some it up its in a lovely location a few tweeks hear and there it would be perfect.
one person that i would like to mention is Alfred with the drinks buggy he was brill turned up at the right time every time.cheers Alfred.

Room Tip: Definitely the royal suites everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We would like to thank you first and foremost and tell you that we do appreciate our guest sending in their comments. We see the gift of feedback as an opportunity to consistently improve our guest's experience while with us. We pride ourselves on providing guests with accommodation in a genuine, unpretentious environment where they can enjoy a one of a kind Caribbean experience.

We’re concerned about the range of problems you experienced at our resort during your visit. We accommodate many guests, and strive to make their stay a most satisfying one.

Please be assured that the issues you have mentioned have been reviewed and addressed. We take pride in our hotel, and do our best to prevent problems from reoccurring.

Our staff is our biggest asset and we are proud to have such a dedicated group of service minded individuals working at the resort. It is quite unfortunate that the myriad of concerns you had with your stay were not brought to management's attention during your stay as we are very confident that we could have resolved any of your concerns. We do hope the next time you seek the sun, you will allow St. James's Club Antigua’s genuine staff create for you a timeless memory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights whilst in Antigua. I stayed in a beachfront room which was amazing. We had a room with 2 double beds, with a terrace, this lead straight onto the beautiful white sandy beach! The rooms were clean & of a generous size.

The large bathroom consisted of a large bath with shower over it, a toilet & 2 sinks.

I was lucky enough to be taken around the hotel, so managed to see some of the different room categories. The 2 bedroom villa was split over 3 floors - bottom floor were 2 bedrooms, middle was the kitchen & the top floor was a living area. Great size for a family to stay in.
The royal suites were beautiful & offered waterfront views. Perfect for adult couples (no children allowed in these rooms).
The only thing I would say is that the resort is huge....therefore depending on where your room is allocated, you will either have a fairly long walk, or just call reception and ask them to send a buggy, which was not a problem at all so please do not let this put you off!

Water sports - windsurfing, sailing & kayaking equipment use is complimentary aswell as lessons. Snorkels and fins are also available for guests to use for free for snorkelling.

There are tennis courts and a fitness centre on site too! This hotel has it all :)

The kids club is in a separate building which has a fenced in play area for children. There are lots of different games & activities for th children aswell as the option to have a quiet evening meal whilst the children go off to kids club and watch a movie & have their dinner!

Another beautiful area of the resort is the spa! A relaxing experience in beautiful surroundings.
In the same building is also the salon where you can have haircuts, waxing & your nails done :)

Lastly...the food was lovely! I ate in Piccolo Mondo one evening which is an Italian - the food was great, the atmosphere was very relaxing with low lighting & light music.
Buffet breakfast in the mornings were also great - lots to choose from such as pancakes, fry up, pastries, yoghurts & more!

I had an amazing time at the St James Club & would hope to return one day for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Go for a beachfront room ... Walk straight out onto the beautiful beach & at night you can sit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Here just now, been here for 6 days, so far so good, it's great food, staff, beaches, pools, views and the room, we're in a Royal Suite WOW !! Will post again when back home next week. Tip don't need to bring your own hairdryer

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

All the previous reviews left me thinking aargh but must say we have only been here a few days but everything so far is fantastic, yes the weather is hot , yes it is windy but you are on the bottom of the island. From what I have seen every room has a view of the sea so not sure what more you could ask for. The food is very nice so far nothing too much trouble for any of the staff. We are travelling with a four year old so of course we don't mind kids and yes they do have holidays too, if you don't like the, go to sandals which is adults only.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Had a wonderfully relaxing May half term break here, despite the occasional heavy shower passing through. The staff are terrifically friendly (albeit occasionally slow - pace of Caribbean life!!) and facilities good; gym, floodlit tennis courts, watersports, spa, lots of pools, two lots of beaches (Atlantic side, and quieter bay side). Also some good local restaurants. We'd certainly go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. James's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club

Address: Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > Mamora Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Mamora Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your St. James's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. James`s Club Hotel Mamora Bay
St James Club Antigua
St Jamess Hotel
St Jamess Resort
St James Antigua
St Jamess Club Antigua
St. James's Club Antigua/Mamora Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.