We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. James's Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added St. James's Club to your Saves list
St. James's Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 35
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Orangeville, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We travelled to Antiqua from April 27 to May 4. This resort is an excellant place to unwind. There is alot of places to get away from people besides the room. Lots of pools throughout the resort or if not into swimming there is alot of secluded areas with comfy couches or gazebos to sit at. The staff are friendly and helpful and some go above like John at Guest Services, Gloria at Dockside and Joline oh and the excellant omellette chef at CoCos named Yolly. We were celebrating our Wedding Anniversary and the Management sent up to our surprise a bottle of champagne. That was a wonderful touch. Never had a bad meal at the resort though wished when we where there that the Dockside Restaurant was not buffet, but al la carte for loved the views and entertainment there. We did a last minute tour on the Veranda boat and were really glad we did. Captain Andy and crew were very friendly and did a great job of educating us on the island like Nelsons Dockyard and Pillars of Hercules. It also was very convenient for it is right at the resort. We stayed in the Papaya Beach side rooms beach front. Great decision for the rooms and balcony are spacious and views are fantastic. My only complaint for the room is the air conditioning. If we had it on during the day or early evening it never seem to go down in temperature till very early morning. When you get tired of beaching or laying in the sun there is always many daily activities on the board in the main lobby. Now not sure if we would of been told about this at the hotel tour but there was a Management Party on the Monday which we heard from some people was a great event with fantastic gifts. Not sure why we were not told.

In short if you decide to go here for a couples getaway or family vacation you will not be disappointed.
Oh yes try the St James Special it is an excellant drink which we unfortunately did not try till the second last day.

Room Tip: I really dont think any room would be a bad choice. The decision you have to make is do you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    690
    220
    122
    58
See reviews for
603
961
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We rented a villa on this property from a private owner. Being and RCI property we were surprised to find the following problems: 1. you had to sign up for housekeeping services each day ($) or you would not get clean towels or toilet paper. This is normally not an issue if villa has a laundry, but it did not; nor did the entire resort have a laundry. You can work the system by taking clean towels from the beach and exchanging them each day. 2. The resort has very limited Wi-Fi - in the lobby only and this was not always reliable. Makes it hard to keep in touch with home if needed. 3. The resort is in a quiet area of the island, close to Falmouth harbor for restaurants ($8 cab ride) if you choose not to purchase the all inclusive plan. It is a bit of a trek to St. Johns for shopping. 4.The roads are not well marked and are in fairly poor shape causing some scrapes to rental car in rocker panels and bumpers (which we got dinged for to a tune of $300). The car rental agencies at the airport include major rental companies such as AVIS, but beware because if you rent a van and are promised a Dodge Caravan or similar, your similar is a Toyota NOAH which is way smaller and very low to the ground (not a good combination for the Antigua roads). Overall, a nice resort in a quiet relaxing beautiful location.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms are on the Atlantic side which always seemed to have a great breeze. Villas are located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have stayed here many times and it never disappoints! The great thing is the owner continues to invest in the resort and we can always seem improvements each time we come (not that it needs improving - but it is good to see things being updated). The management are always available and they really do want to hear your opinions - good or bad - and I think that says an awful lot about the place - they are not hiding behind their desks - they are out there mixing with the customers. The staff are excellent - yes things are slower than at home - but that is why we come to this part of the world! We want to slow down and relax. The food is very good. Entertainment is probably a bit lacking in the evenings, however, we always hire a car and English Harbour is very lively (particularly at this time of year with the sailing), so if you want more nightlife that is the place to go - only 5 minutes drive. An all round good hotel, for families, couples or singles.

Room Tip: The villas are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed for a week in April 2013. My husband and I had a Royal Suite on the ground floor. The views were amazing on the bay side especially with the incredible sunsets. Every night I took pictures of it and framed them for our home. Our favorite spot was the adult pool by the suites. Sobrieya (sp?) at the mini bar at the waterfall pool is the sweetest person we ever met. I had a terrible cold while there and she was so concerned and made me a honey lime drink to help. Make sure you try the local lemonade it's delicious and refreshing! Even though we didn't use them, the available water sports look fabulous and they aren't motorized so the setting is very peaceful. It is breezier on the ocean side at Coco's Beach but a quick dip in the pool on the bay side and you are cooled off. There are plenty of lounge chairs available with never a need to secure one in the morning as with some Bahamian places.

We enjoyed the food. We have been to other all-inclusive places but the food here was much better. We did not try Picolo Mondo or Coco's but heard they were good. We enjoyed several buffets at the Docksider and every night has a theme. It is right on the bay and the view provides an amazing backdrop for dinner. You can view all the menus for the day and the next day outside of Rainbow Garden. We ate a few dinners at the Rainbow Garden where you can order from a menu. Lisa is so sweet when seating you and is always checking to make sure your needs are met. Breakfast is buffet style there or you could order from a menu. We never did because there was so much variety to choose from on the buffet. Coffee and tea are available throughout the day in the Gazebo outside of the lobby.

John of Guest Services is simply charming. He is helpful and entertaining. Attend the orientation the next morning after you arrive and he will give you a rundown of everything that is available for you. We went into St. John's one morning and were not impressed. There is a rundown casino and souvenirs from locals who harass you to look and buy. There are duty free stores but nothing we couldn't get back in the US. I wouldn't recommend it. We were going to take the sunset cruise on Wednesday but it rained some and the water was too rough. We appreciated that they didn't take us out when there wasn't a sunset to see. It would be nice if it was offered more than one night a week because we were only there for one week.

We went to St. James to relax and it's the perfect place to do so. Our room was gorgeous and updated. There is Wi-Fi in the lobby but we were able to pick up a signal in our suite. It would be great if it was available everywhere but there was a sort of camaraderie of the guests when in the lobby. Then again we met so many wonderful people from Canada, England and the US. We found the staff very friendly and no one was rude.

Our taxi driver to St. John's and to the airport was Tiger. He was such a great guy and answered any questions we had and pointed out many of the sights and customs of Antigua. He is a great ambassador not only for the resort but for the country.

The airport is quite antiquated but they are building a new one.

Every place to eat and the lobby are open air and always comfortable. The weather is amazing, lo to mid 80's and breezy.

We didn't care much about the nightlife but the live band during the buffets was charming. The landscaping was luscious and very well maintained.

Bring plenty of sunblock and aloe lotion. I also brought a hat but didn't wear it enough and wound up burning my scalp. The sun is very strong. I am glad that I brought laundry detergent to wash out our bathing suits in the sink but would appreciate a laundry room for guests to use instead of using the laundry service. It was difficult to bring enough clothing for the trip.

As you can tell we highly recommend St. James Club and are saving to go back and bring our young adult children and parents with us!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at St James's from 27th April to 4th May. What a beautiful resort, lovely beaches and swimming pools. We were in Reef premium rooms, lovely views out to the Atlantic. Only complaint about the room, the mattress on the bed was too hard, could do with a topper.

We had breakfast every morning in Rainbow Garden, food was good and plenty of it. Lunch we usually had at beach burgers etc. Dined at night in Docksiders always a lovely meal at the buffet. We went once to Piccolo Mondo $35 surcharge it was very good. We never ate in Rainbow Garden at night. Drinks and cocktails were great and Alfred and his drinks buggy at the beach.

The sun shone 6 out of 7 days, we sunbathed at Mamora Bay so hot and calm, compared to Coco beach windy, but both lovely beaches.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday, and the staff couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bloomfield, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Since I was having trouble deciding between two resorts, I chose this one simply because it was on a penninsula with a cove and the Atlantic. Our room was close to the beach, we could see it from our room but didn't open up directly to it. Sometimes the beach looked full, but there were plenty of loungers and lots of shade options. The pools were nice and never looked crowded. The resort kept the beaches clean. The rooms were neat and clean. The staff was friendly and pleasant. Sometimes the service was a bit slow, but overall decent. We went to both beaches but enjoyed the breeze from the Atlantic side much better! The food was good. I liked being able to try new foods, but nothing stood out as local, which was a bit disappointing.
The weather forcast had a good chance of rain every day, but it only rained a couple of times. Neither time for very long. Then it was sunny and warm again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Went with two of my college friends to celebrate our birthdays. We had not travelled all together before. We wanted a place that was direct flight accessible from NYC and NJ and not more than 4 hours more or less. This place fit the bill perfectly as flights arrived and departed coming and going about the same time so that noone was left waiting at the airport for the others for very long.
It was all-inclusive- we were glad we did it. Thought the prices on the menu were high and that would have been annoying if we were not on the all-inclusive plan. I guess you could say they build those prices into the all-inclusive fee, but haven't done the math that specifically to say. I was happy with the food, but the service could take awhile,which coming from a fast paced city back home, called for some adjustment.
The accommodation on the beachfront was pleasant. The staff were nice, some were more friendly than others, ie. activities oriented staff seemed to be more personable in general.
I enjoyed doing stretch class everyday and water aerobics. Also enjoyed kayaking, paddleboats-both sitting and standing. Was nice to try the standing paddle board since that seems to be the latest thing. There was never a wait to do a water activity which was really nice. There wasn't much activities in the evening, unless you count lingering at dinner for two hours your evening activity, There is a lounge at night which was not well attended, but the dj played good music and you could sort of make the place your own if you really wanted to dance.
Even though the tour desk was well staffed- it was difficult to cull any real opinions about what we should or should not do as far as going into town.
The weather was perfect not too hot and not too cold and sunny and beautiful. Looking on the internet at the advance 10 day weather reports before we arrived had said that it would be 50% chance of rain everyday before we arrived, so, don't take too much stock in the reports, the weather likely will be nice.

Room Tip: Choose ground floor if you think you will be coming and going from your room frequently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. James's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club

Address: Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > Mamora Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the All-Inclusive St. James's Club & Villas, Antigua's most famous address. This beautiful resort is ideally located on a private, 100-acre peninsula. You will love our two white sand beaches, water sports, tennis, four restaurants, indoor and outdoor bars, beach bar & grill, luxurious spa & salon, freshwater swimming pools, supervised Kids Club, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, and so much more. One of the Caribbean's most popular all-inclusive resorts. Excellent for couples, honeymooners, families, and friends. Located just minutes from major attractions like English Harbour, Nelson's Dockyard, and the lively Shirley Heights. Our warm and welcoming staff and management team will make your stay wonderful and memorable. See your favorite travel agent or contact Elite Island Resorts to book your stay. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your St. James's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. James`s Club Hotel Mamora Bay
St James Club Antigua
St Jamess Hotel
St Jamess Resort
St James Antigua
St Jamess Club Antigua
St. James's Club Antigua/Mamora Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.