We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. James's Club

Save Saved
You added St. James's Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. James's Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 50% Off!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Mamora Bay
Brielle, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here many years ago and it was amazing! Food was great,staff friendly and attentive and the Club itself was immaculate. I would recommend this to all, families, couples, single travelers. I stayed in one of the private villas that was just steps away to the beach. Perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,014 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,010
    632
    199
    117
    56
See reviews for
558
886
21
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Have been to St. James's Club & Villas six times and the resort has never disappointed me. We are Vacation Club owners the 10th week of the year, every other year, in a Villa. The friendly staff are there to serve you and make your vacation a memorable one. We had not been there in four years and many upgrades and enhancements had taken place in that time. The grounds and beaches are beautiful. If you prefer a pool, there are several. The food is magnificent at the four rresturants. When on the beach you can get a sandwich and a drink. Evening entertainment is good. Guests services and the tour desk are there to help you arrange your days activities. The Spa has been expanded, and they offer many pampering services. You will not be disappointed if you plan your next vacation at the St. James's Club.

Room Tip: I jave never stayed in any of the romms only the Villas in the Vacation Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from our honeymoon at SJC , we couldn't have chosen a better resort, we were welcomed with a rum punch and friendly smile with quick and easy check in, we were taken to our room which was a royal suite and we certainly weren't disappointed with a stocked mini bar of rum , wine and champers to help us celebrate :)
Never have I experienced such friendly staff all of them made us feel so welcome , have to mention Michael and Michelle at the docksider , Donald and Prince in guest services and all of the waiting staff at the rainbow.
The whole resort was beautiful and very well kept, even though it was full it never felt overcrowded we enjoyed mamora beach everyday and the royal suites pools are perfect to relax by with a cold drink !
This was our first visit to Antigua the staff and perfect resort make this an excellent base to explore the island , thank you for making our honeymoon so special SJC and we will DEFFO be returning next year

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The rooms were good, not amazing but they were clean and spacious which is the main thing. We had a beach on our door step which was very beautiful however there was a lot of jelly fish in the sea so we decided to spend most days on the beach around the other side which was more of a bay where there was lots of water sport activities and a few markets on the beach which were nice to buy gifts from, also kids could get there hair braided there. The pool was a little walk from the beach but was clean and a good size, we never had a problem getting sun beds around the pool or on the beach. The food was good and there was always lots of choice, staff were friendly ish however a few of the woman did tut and blow quite a lot which was quite rude but over all the service was good. The resort was quite big and there was always something to do, through the hotel we booked quite a few trips, i would recommend going to shirely hights, its amazing and the atmosphere there is great, it looks over the sea and a bbq and music is on all night, its very traditional and we all loved it. Im not 100% sure but i think there are two resorts in one as we found there was more pools by the other hotel that was near by that we could use along with more places to eat etc which was great as there was even more to do. I would most likely come back to this hotel as overall i had a great time, also antigua is a lovely holiday destination and would love to come back one day:)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

After last week at the SJC I have to join the chorus of praise for this place. First: the staff - from waiters to gardeners - were all amazingly helpful, friendly, smart, and engaging. The word "no" seems to have been stricken from the SJC vocabulary. The property is beautiful - well designed, equipped and maintained. You'd never have guessed they were fully booked. Two great beaches to suit the day and or mood. On the bay side - no Ski-Doos or water-skiing - Hurray! Plenty of water craft to go round - including Hobby-Cats. Others have praised the food and drinks - I concur. I think you get good value here - and a great get-away. Tips: the resort snorkel outing is well worth while, as is the "Excellence" boat tour around the island.

Room Tip: Our Superior "partial garden/ocean" view had a terrific view. I was very impressed with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent a very relaxing week here from 8th March after flying in from a similar week in Barbados.

The room was fine albeit a bit sparse with a stand alone fridge which although very welcome looked slightly at odds with the rest of the room. The bed was very comfortable and sleeping was never a problem (helped by the Mai Tai cocktails no doubt). We looked out over the Atlantic side and were within a very short stroll of reception.

Getting a sun bed was easy and although they were a bit hard I got used to this very quickly. We tended to go to the Mamora Bay side as it was calmer, had less seaweed and there was more to watch. My wife thought the main pool was a bit soulless as it is functional rather than aesthetic and there are no real views as such. The pools by Coco’s and the Mamora Bay bar were smaller and much nicer.

The All Inclusive basis was excellent and we only had one evening where the food (we went to the buffet that night) was just average. We breakfasted at the Rainbow Garden restaurant and then had lunch at both the Rainbow and Coco’s. In the evenings we tended to do a la carte one night at the Rainbow and then buffet the next night at Docksider’s. We paid the $35 per person supplement one night and went to Piccolo Mondo. Now that was an experience and well worth the expense. Although not on the menu I asked for surf and turf and had succulent lobster and tender fillet mignon. Wow, was it good!

Drink options were endless. In addition to beer and wine (the house wine was fine) you could get champagne by the glass (ok it was German but it still tasted fine). Cocktails flowed and you could also have port and a number of liqueurs. Oh and they served soft drinks too!

Wifi was available in reception and it was always full of people with an array of laptops, iPads and smartphones. We Facetimed the kids (well adults really!) from there twice with no problem.

We went up to Shirley Heights on the Sunday from 4:30 to 7pm. Unfortunately there was no sunset of note that night but it was a great place to spend a few hours listening to the steel drums.

We also went to Stingray City which was a great trip and booked the Excellence catamaran for a circumnavigation tour of the island; we even saw two whales on the way back.

All in all a great week for rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very nice resort property. Had a beach room and it was well worth the upgrade. Great ocean breeze kept this side of the property cooler than the bay side. Our room was spacious and nicely appointed with a great balcony/patio. They had lounge chairs on the patio but would have preferred chairs instead. Stayed on the second level and would recommend this as the ceilings are nice and high and you don't hear anyone above you! Views were worth it too and easy access to the nice sandy beach (feel a little more secure too being on the second floor). Resort is incredibly well maintained inside and out with friendly staff. The food was less exceptional in the all inclusive plan. Heavy on sauces, sodium and in some cases, garlic. Somewhat bland and not very exciting. When they say "BBQ", its simply cooked in an oven and covered in BBQ sauce! There were some nice surprises but not many. Ordered french onion soup in Rainbow Garden off the menu and was missing the "french"...just onions in a beef broth!

The upcharge to dine at their on property Piccolo Mondo restaurant is worth it. Food was exceptional.

If you don't care much about food in your all inclusive plan, then this is a great place to stay in Antigua.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach side are great with a nice ocean breeze off the Atlantic. Recommend the second le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EIR123, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your very positive feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate all comments as it is our goal to deliver a one of a kind vacation to our guests.

The majority of our guests greatly enjoy the dining experience at The St. James Club.
We focus on quality, presentation, and flavor in an effort to provide the delicious and sophisticated cuisine that our guests love and expect. The nice thing about our all-inclusive plan is that you may order as much as you like. If one entrée is not to your liking you may, of course, order two.

We take great pride in our resort, grounds, beautiful beach and surroundings. We are glad you enjoyed it too and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. James's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club

Address: Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > Mamora Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Mamora Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your St. James's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. James`s Club Hotel Mamora Bay
St James Club Antigua
St Jamess Hotel
St Jamess Resort
St James Antigua
St Jamess Club Antigua
St. James's Club Antigua/Mamora Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.