We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. James's Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added St. James's Club to your Saves list
St. James's Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 35
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
basking ridge ny
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Vacation...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2008

We just returned from St James Club last night...and it was really delightful. Do not take to heart the negative reviews. It is a lovely resort with plenty of beach,pool and water for everyone. We were told the resort was 90% full and if that is true one would never know it. They do a great job of keeping the resort clean and welcoming.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa. It was clean although a bit worn. The space was perfect for us. For the most part we enjoyed Mamora bay...and never had trouble finding a chair or shade.

Dinining: We dined at all the restuarants. Rainbow is great for breakfast and lunch...we only had dinner there once. We had lunch at cocas once and if was good. We ate at the Docksider and Mondo Piccolo twice each and they were really great for an AI. The food was great and service too. I would say for an AI it has the best food of any we have been to...2 in Aruba, Curacao, and another in Antigua. Ask for the a la carte menu at each meal if you do not want the buffet...sometimes they fail to mention that...one day we saw a deligthful looking club sandwich pass us in the rainbow room at lunch after having the buffet, and our server said "oh".....the servers are not the friendliest but the hotel goes out of its way to make you feel good.

As an example, one of our toilets did not work from day one...it didi get fixed by day 3....but they did not hide from the problem. and took care of us in the end. The problem was a pipe to shower issue.

It is a quiet resort without much nightlife...if you are looking for beautiful beaches, tennis and some good solid walking this resort is for you...we would probably go back and did talk with the time share people..so that is in the works too. hope this helps if anyone has any further questions...feel free to email me.

  • Liked — spacious rooms
  • Disliked — dated
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,085
    691
    220
    122
    58
See reviews for
604
964
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2008

My husband & I just returned from our stay at St. James's Club. We completely enjoyed every aspect of the trip. The hotel was extremely well-maintained, our room was clean, comfortable and pretty (our room was located in the Bay Suites). The staff was friendly, thoughtful and helpful with tips about day trips and sights not to miss.

The food ranged from good to above average; we stayed at the resort with the all-inclusive package. We liked the Dockside restaurant best and found the additional surchage at Piccolo's to be unnecessary and not worth it. It wasn't that the food was bad, it's more of an expectation level because you are surcharged and therefore, you assume the food to equate with the charge and it didn't. Coco's & the Rainbow Garden are great and the buffet at either is stocked with fresh, quality, and diverse options. Make reservations for all restuarants as early in the day as you can if you like to eat during the 7 o'clock hour as it fills up quickly. The drinks were great and we never experienced a short pour. Take the Rum Punch when you get there; you won't be sorry ;)

There were many water activities available. Tennis is great early in the day or evening. The beach on the Atlantic side is breezy, which we enjoyed because it kept it cool enough to last the day there; the sun usually leaves this area around 4 -ish. The bay side beach is nice but, we found it oppressively hot during the day (this just our preference as both beaches were busy with guests). The pools are quiet and clean.

Nightlife is pretty low key. I would not recommend this resort for older teenagers; not enough to do to keep them happy. We have three kids 20, 18, & 14 and I just don't think there is enough there to accomdate the variety of ages. Younger kids had a great time there though. Maybe, it's busier in the summer months when kids are home from school....

We were extremely pleased with St. James' s Club and found Antigua very welcoming and peaceful. If you get a chance, you MUST visit Shirley Heights. There is a transport available through the resort for a reasonable rate. Wear comfortable shoes; it's pretty rocky. The sights are simply amazing. The steel band and reggae bands were awesome, the food great and the drinks were great and reasonable priced. People from all over go there on Sunday to watch the sun set and hear the bands; it's an absolute must ;)

  • Liked — Beautiful grounds and beach
  • Disliked — Surchage at Piccolo's
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

We just returned from a week at StJamesClub in Antigua--the room was OK, the staff was great, and the food was unbelievable--definitely, food was the highlight of this trip--4 restaurants all with 4 Star food--have you ever stayed at an AI where you can order off the menu for breakfast, lunch or supper?? Have you ever had great calamari and Caribbean lobster followed by Rastafarrian Mousse at an AI??? We hadn't----still we stayed at SJC!! The staff was great, from servers to management!! The entertainment was good, the spa was good, having the Atlantic on one side and a calm bay on the other was extraordinary--We can't say enough, but SJC is one of the few places we will definitely revisit!! Don't hesitate to try this fantastic place out

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

Booked this resort at www.eliteislandresorts.com. The customer service, ease of booking, and their ability to give as much clear information to help you make your decision is excellent!! The staff at the resort are very experienced at their jobs and they really do everything they can to accomodate all of your requests. In my opinion, I can't see why anyone would say they are not friendly, or don't like their job. I found just the opposite, however, I always had a smile on my face and treated them as if I was greatful for all they were doing for me. I actually had several lengthly conversations with some of the women that work there, and I was amazed how lovely and genuine they are. We were upgraded to a 1br. beachfront suite, as you will see in my photos. The room was perfect to say the least. The resort is huge, and I liked being able to walk from place to place during the day, stopping at the pool, walking the Atlantic side of the beach to Coco's, listening to a little music, having lunch, a drink, walking to Mamora Beach, laying in the sun, taking the Hobie Cat out, another drink, shop a little at the kiosks on the beach, talking to the locals, back up to the pool, etc... The only other resort we have stayed at that resembled the SJC is Peter Island Resort in the BVI's. The food at the resort was ok. Same breakfast, same lunch every day. Dinner varied a little. I actually liked the beef the best. All fish seemed like the same fish. The drinks were well made with plenty of alcohol. Lunch was either at the Rainbow, Cocos (buffet) or at the beach grill on the sand on Mamora Bay. Coco's has a duo band at lunch time a couple days a week. To have a drink, there is a bar at the villas, the drink cart that drives around on the beach, the main pool, or Coco's. At night, Docksiders is open, and that is where we choose almost all of our dinners. It is open-air and right on the bay. They also have a nice bar and lounge inside with great nightly entertainment. The Jacaranda Lounge needs something different. There were few people in there, and they only stayed for one or two drinks. The music isn't right. One night boring, the next wild Britney Spears. The dance floor doesn't have anyone getting things going, and the guests aren't going near it. Coco's and the Rainbow Room is calm as well, so no where else to really go but Docksiders. We got the dancing going a couple of times there. Great Reggae. Don't get me wrong, my husband and I are in our mid-late 40's and we really don't want anything crazy, but a little more action with the nightly entertainment would probably be good. Spa was good. See Michelle for a deep tissue. Car rental on-site, tours can be booked on-site. Going to the capital St. John's?, Don't bother. People out infront of the stores with boom boxes, stores are slummy. Definately go to Shirley Heights for Sunday Reggae sunset party. Starts at 4:00 - 7:00. Take a taxi from the resort. Do the Canopy Tour - Zip Cord through the Rainforest. Not much else to do on island except as mentioned, and boat excursions. The resort's guests are mostly retired, and british. Didn't bother us, but if you are on your honeymoon or have children, I would re-think this resort.

  • Liked — Champagne included in all-inclusive
  • Disliked — Local Draft Beer Wadelli
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

We stayed at St James (family group of 6 adults 2 generations). Our trip was enjoyed by all - great location. At the time there was building work going on near the main pool, but since we preferred the other pools, or the beach this did not affect us. We had asked for a room on an upper level, but this did not happen.

This hotel is used by Virgin flight crew, and we were disturbed by some roudy members. We complained to the hotel and to Virgin, but nothing came of it.

The food, especially in the Italian restaurant across the bay were fantastic.

I would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

Recently had 10 days at The Beach Club, at St James' in Feb this year. Overall the resort has everything you need, two beaches, tennis courts, 4 restaurants, kids club, beach activities etc. Infact I would highly recommend the resort for families. We were all adults and therefore I personally wouldn't go back, as we generally prefer all adult resorts and smaller resorts than this.
We thought the food was pretty good for an all inclusive, I mean they are all a bit of a muchness. Roast meats, pasta, curries, etc etc. The breakfasts at Coco's Restaurant were good, with fresh eggs being cooked and crispy bacon, a toast maker, and plenty of fruit and ecereals. The Staff varied, I found you had to work quite hard with them at this resort, most seemed miserabl to begin with but if you chatted and made an effort they soon responded. The windy beach on the side of the Beach Club, is VERY windy most of the time, but it's a lovely quiet beach, and fairly good swimming, it looks worse than it is. The water also seems warmer on this side, strangely enough. The Mamora Bay side, is more crowded, but a lovely beach and Bay, with calm waters for swimming, you have to pick your spot as there is sea weed in a lot of areas.The rooms are very spacious, with good sized balconies, though the bathrooms need a bit of attention, with wobbly taps, noisy systems, and low water pressure at peak times. But all in all they served us well. Wardrobe doors are heavy and stiff, but plenty of hangers and spacious. Beds are comfortable, tho pillows not the best as usual for Caribbean.
All in all its a good resort, but big, and family orientated and not for those wishing a quiet holiday. In my view too much time and money was being spent on the timeshare Villas on the resort and not enough on the bedrooms of the Beach Club. I have tried to give its worse points as well as best, and hope it is of help to people thinking of going.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms, great view of beach, big balconies.
  • Disliked — Hard pillows, bathrooms in need of upgrade, noisy.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

Returning to St James's after a couple of expensive unsatisfactory experiences in St Lucia (Windjammer Landing and Almond Morgan Bay) where we endured building works (and worst - see my reviews) we were delighted to find things much as we remembered back here.
The Beach Club is separate to the main hotel and exclusively for Virgin guests. With bigger rooms and a quiet location on the beach they should be your first choice, let alone that they are a much cheaper option than the hotel.
It's all inclusive - the food, drink and service is overall pretty good. Many of the staff have been there for years and remember previous guests.
Travelling with two teenagers the motorised watersports were a big attraction. Previously part of the all-inclusive, we expected to have to pay separately this time. Unfortunately there have been no motorised watersports here for over a year, this despite the Virgin brichure and the in-room info which stated otherwise. Despite two disappointed teenagers this didn't spoil the holiday.
If you want a peaceful Caribbean break with relaxation, sufficient privacy on either of the two beaches (plus the great beach drinks buggy), little/no nightlife, decent food/drink etc then you won't be disappointed here.
And remember to book the Beach Club, our research and previous experiences elsewhere suggest it's difficult to beat. Let us know if you do!

  • Liked — Location on the beach. Size of rooms (interconnecting option). Great value.
  • Disliked — Very little - bathroom fittings looking tired.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. James's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club

Address: Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > Mamora Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the All-Inclusive St. James's Club & Villas, Antigua's most famous address. This beautiful resort is ideally located on a private, 100-acre peninsula. You will love our two white sand beaches, water sports, tennis, four restaurants, indoor and outdoor bars, beach bar & grill, luxurious spa & salon, freshwater swimming pools, supervised Kids Club, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, and so much more. One of the Caribbean's most popular all-inclusive resorts. Excellent for couples, honeymooners, families, and friends. Located just minutes from major attractions like English Harbour, Nelson's Dockyard, and the lively Shirley Heights. Our warm and welcoming staff and management team will make your stay wonderful and memorable. See your favorite travel agent or contact Elite Island Resorts to book your stay. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your St. James's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. James`s Club Hotel Mamora Bay
St James Club Antigua
St Jamess Hotel
St Jamess Resort
St James Antigua
St Jamess Club Antigua
St. James's Club Antigua/Mamora Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.