We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. James's Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St. James's Club to your Saves list
St. James's Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 35%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Just returned from St James's Club, we have visited several times over the years and we have to say this was the best the resort has ever been.

The resort had to close down in September due to the seaweed infestation and we had to reschedule our holiday. The resort has come back to life again, all the staff were there in their words '' to make you vacation the best, thats what we are here for'' to name a few, Keeta, alfred{beach cart] and wilson [ water sports, fishing trips]

Keeta always went out of her way to serve us quickly at breakfast and to recomend cocktails at lunch. Alfred always rememberd what you liked to drink and wilson really looked after us on the fishing trip and let us have the snapper fish we caught so we could cook it at the villa.

The beach at Mamora had to have a major recovery after the tons of seaweed that were deposited in September, well it looks fantastic now, very flat when enering the water and is raked every day.

The food was better than ever, our only negative comment was that coco's restaurant/bar has changed to a same menu every day lunch/dinner bar. It does now have a wide screen TV for those of you who want to catch up on sporting events so I suppose that is a plus.

Yes there are two airlne crew that stay there, however, we never really saw them and when we did they were friendly and not rowdy as some have said.

Go and enjoy the resort it is really woth it. The owner Mr Barrett is on site and welcomes your feedback. We are returning in October, would recommend the Villas as that is were we stayed, lovely rooms and lovely views

Room Tip: Villas are fantastic,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    743
    241
    123
    60
See reviews for
654
1,044
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

My wife and I booked a fortnight at St. James Club in November flying with BA, needless to say BA managed to lose one of the her suitcases on the outward journey, the folks in Antigua and at the St James' couldn't be more helpful. The bag turned up a couple of days late but it could have soured the start of the holiday, fortunately the environs of the St. James' are so outstanding that this wasn't the case, Jeff and the rest of the staff really looked after us.

We booked into one of the Royal Suites, they really are well worth the extra, to our surprise we received complimentary tickets for a couple of excursions on the Hotel's yacht 'Verandah' and four meals at the Picolo Mondo fine dining restaurant. The trips on the Verandah skippered by Captain Andy Anderson and his two merry crew were absolutely fantastic with all on board made to feel they were one of the crew. The dining at St. James is as good as any we have enjoyed in any of our global travels, which includes 4 and 5 star holidays throughout the world and that served in Picolo Mondo was simply out of this world, the relaxing atmosphere and welcoming staff did much to enhance our evenings dining there. This does not mean to detract from the meals served at the other three St. James' restaurants all of which were excellent, of particular note was the Docksiders where we enjoyed several lovely evenings in the delightful ambient surroundings, the fish dishes were mouth watering.

The St James' resort encompasses a massive area on a peninsular, the primary benefit here from our point of view as a pair of idle beach lovers is that the Coco beach became known as the 'windy' beach owing to the refreshing onshore breeze that pleasantly cooled the beach, we spent many many many hours there watching nature at its finest as the Pelicans did what comes naturally and dive bombed the fishes, the only problem here was it tended to mean I lost the plot of whichever book I happened to be reading at the time! On the Mamora Bay side of the peninsular the beach was 'cooking' hot and the staff at the Mamora grill kept us serviced with lots of cooling beer and punch whilst we watched the energetic types do their stuff in the canoes, hobie cats and windsurfers, all of which were complimentary, not that this idle Kindle loving Brit partook in them!

We have always said that the world is too large and that there are too many places on it that we haven't experienced before to ever want to go back anywhere, however, in this instance we may have changed our minds and will be looking to revisit again, this isn't something I thought I'd ever say but the holiday really was supremely relaxing.

Room Tip: The Royal Suites were superb and well worth the extra money, the only problem with the room was that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

What a fantastic holiday.
We have just completed 2 weeks at the St James Club and loved every minute of it.
First praise goes to all of the staff, the nicest most polite people we have ever met on holiday.
Nothing was to much trouble, they made us feel like we were part of one big happy family.
Praise also to Callie the Virgin Holiday rep-what a great lady , again extremely helpful and eager to help with anything asked--thank you
We paid extra for the upgrade to a Royal Suite, the room and view were stunning and the bed was massive and so comfy.Slight niggle being slow WiFi in room which was needed for work.
Beaches ,food and drink -just perfect.
An ideal location on its own peninsular-very pretty.
We sailed, snorkelled ,kayaked,travelled on numerous trips and even managed a round of golf.

Room Tip: Royal suite if you can!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Just returned from a one week stay at the beautiful St. James Club in Antigua. Our room in the Royal Suites was very attractive, very clean, spacious and very comfortable. The grounds were beautifully manicured and maintained. The beaches were excellent. We particularly enjoyed the beach on the Atlantic side which always had a breeze. Some of the lounge chairs were in poor condition which is one negative aspect, the other negative was the mattress on the bed in the room which was lumpy. The other beach on Mamora Bay was nice and the water sports equipment was in fine shape.we chartered a fishing boat through the hotel and had a very successful morning of fishing - caught a mahi mahi, a wahoo, a king mackerel, and a barracuda. The pools were beautiful and well maintained.
Dockside Restaurant served buffets every night which were very good, food tasty and fresh. They cooked the fish we caught and did a fantastic job. Rainbow Room also served dinners every night and the menu was varied and excellent. We enjoyed eating at both those places! Dinner at Piccolo Mundo cost an extra $35 per person and
neither my husband nor I thought it was worth the surcharge either for the food or the ambiance. Breakfasts and lunches were also good quality. The all inclusive plan was fantastic! The staff was very courteous and helpful although the service in the restaurants was variable. The entertainment was good and the music could be heard from our balcony which was fantastic! This was a great resort with lots to do and was very relaxing!

Room Tip: The Royal Suites were great with beautiful view of the bay and free in room Internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Point, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We spent the first four days here on our honeymoon, I think anymore and we would have been itching to leave. The resort or specifically the rooms could use some updating, maybe some pillows that actually offer support. The sliding glass door going out onto our porch was broken which made us feel uncomfortable and uneasy about leaving personal belongings in the room. Our room was in the mango block of rooms which was great because we were able to walk right out onto the deck and onto the beach. The beach had plenty of lounge chairs and a guy that drove by every so often to see if you'd like a drink which saved a trip to the bar. We liked how the resort was layed out since it wasn't a far walk to anything in the place. The restaurants were so so, very much all-inclusive type of food that didn't have much flavor. With the exception of Piccolo Mondo, we had to pay an extra surcharge but the food was definitely far superior to the other three at the resort. The staff was very helpful and extremely friendly, we had a fun time kayaking in the bay. Overall we had fun but it also didn't seem like it was worth the price we paid for it

Room Tip: Rooms in the mango block seemed much quieter then up near reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We spent a week at the St. James Club. There is nothing more they could have done for us; the service was outstanding, the weather was beautiful, the facilities were first class and above all the food was amazing.

Room Tip: Go for the beach front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

First time visit to Antigua and found it difficult to move away from this hotel - although we did trips to Jolly Beach Harbour and English Harbour. My wife's diving with Linda was first class. Food was always well prepared and fresh. Top memory was the friendliness of all the staff. Hope to be regular visitors in future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. James's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club

Address: Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > Mamora Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the All-Inclusive St. James's Club & Villas, Antigua's most famous address. This beautiful resort is ideally located on a private, 100-acre peninsula. You will love our two white sand beaches, water sports, tennis, four restaurants, indoor and outdoor bars, beach bar & grill, luxurious spa & salon, freshwater swimming pools, supervised Kids Club, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, and so much more. One of the Caribbean's most popular all-inclusive resorts. Excellent for couples, honeymooners, families, and friends. Located just minutes from major attractions like English Harbour, Nelson's Dockyard, and the lively Shirley Heights. Our warm and welcoming staff and management team will make your stay wonderful and memorable. See your favorite travel agent or contact Elite Island Resorts to book your stay. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your St. James's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. James`s Club Hotel Mamora Bay
St James Club Antigua
St Jamess Hotel
St Jamess Resort
St James Antigua
St Jamess Club Antigua
St. James's Club Antigua/Mamora Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.