We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. James's Club

Save Saved
You added St. James's Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. James's Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 50% Off!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Mamora Bay
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“fabulous holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We have just returned from our 9th visit to St.James's club,so they must be doing something right!From the moment you arrive you are greeted with friendly faces and a welcome cocktail.It really is like returning home!They are always looking at ways to improve the premises and each time we go back we find they have done more improvements.This time the main bar the'Jacaranda' has had a complete re-furb and looks amazing.The food as always was fabulous,although we were rather disappointed that our favourite restaurant'The Docksider'has become a buffet-only restaurant.Such a shame as the majoriy of people on holiday do like to be waited on!We had a Royal Suite which was lovely and spacious and had beautiful views of the bay.We noticed that the nightly entertainment had improved this year,with a different band each evening.We had a lovely relaxing time,the staff are all so commited-most of them have been there for years,which adds to the family atmostphere and is very welcoming when you return year on year.A special mention to Jeff the night manager who works hard mingling with the guests and checking their needs.Also to Prince on guest services who never seems to go home!Cherylyn and Rochelle in 'Rainbow Garden' restaurant,Andra who looks after everyone so well in the bar,and Alfed who must have the best job on earth,driving his drinks cart up and down the beach,supplying you with drinks every couple of hours-what a treat and such a great service.Well done to all of you at St.James's Club-we are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,014 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,010
    632
    199
    117
    56
See reviews for
558
886
21
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Our annual trip to the Caribbean for Christmas thru New Year’s this year brought us to Antigua and based on reviews earlier in the year, we chose St James Club, and we’re really glad we did! Sounds like some people have had mixed experiences, and I struggle to understand anything less than 4 rating. Here are some highlights that made the trip a winner for us:
- Arrival in Antigua Airport – pack your patience. We had one measly agent for 2 loads of planes. We waited about 30 minutes but guessing by the line behind us, many waited easily 2 hours. Each person in each family must have a form, although Delta specifically told us one for our family of 3. This caused chaos upon landing.
- Reception – not only did we breeze through reception in less than 5 minutes, we actually got the room we requested, AND it exceeded our expectations. We were always greeted with a smile at reception, where we went daily to ask for beach towels (which they NEVER ran out of, btw).
- Room – We stayed beachfront, Mango building room 348. Second floor king with a sleep-away. The room was way bigger than I expected and loft ceilings made it seem even bigger. The butler pantry was a nice addition, coffee maker, sink, refrigerator. Unstocked, but we did not expect it to be stocked with bottled water, we expect to buy that in areas where the tap water is safe. The beds were fine, plenty of drawers for clothes, a huge closet, safe worked great (although I really prefer the new electronic safes versus those that require you carry a key). The view was unbelieveable (see images I attached), and we spent a lot of time on our porch deck in the morning. This was central to everything, and we easily hopped back and forth between the bay side and Coco’s side. The bathroom was huge, a walk-in shower the size of our whole bathroom at home. Our room service woman was just lovely and did a great job each day, basically whenever we asked (left out a service early note a couple times).
- Restaurants – Unlike some other reviewers, we only had an “OK” meal at Piccolo Mondo, so we ate the majority of our other meals at Rainbow (a la carte), which were very good! We ate breakfast at Coco’s everyday because it was quieter than the main restaurant. It was fine for breakfast! We had both a la carte and buffet lunches each day and found those to be a bit better than breakfast, in terms of variety. There have been some other reviewers with comments about the wine and that is the only thing I could say could improve at SJC, the wines were not great, but we did enjoy the champagne and rum drinks. Service at each restaurant was really good – folks that engaged, smiled, had fun sometimes. TIP: You can make your reservation both the day of AND THE DAY BEFORE. It was well worth thinking ahead, looking at menus and making a reservation for restaurants the day prior. We always got our preferred time and place. Those that struggled more had very large parties (there seemed to be lots of 9-12 sized parties). Not us! The only place we waited for what seemed to be a long time was the Mamora Grill near the water sports building. But if you wait and remind about your order, that helped.
- Beaches – Best thing we did was rent a car for 3 of the days and go to other beaches on the island – we went to Darkwood, Long Bay and Half Moon. They were all completely different, and a welcome exploration outside the island. Like many other islands, roads are not marked, so get a good map, and ask questions if needed. We also liked the beaches at SJC, but these other 3 were just spectacular (although not populated by resorts). We stopped at the locations we considered (Verandah and Jolly) and had our decision confirmed. TIP: If you like the breezy beach side, invest in and bring beach towel clips, you’ll need them! But the breeze is fantastic.
- Bugs and Jellies – never saw them. Spent a good bit of time in the ocean, and always wore bug spray after 5:30. Not one bite, and I’m a magnet.
- Tours – We did the ½ day Green Island tour with Captain Anderson, they worked their butts off and we had a lot of fun. We took out a Hobie Cat every day and played a new game for us, Cornhole, every day.
- Pools – Spent a little time at Coco’s and the main pool, they’re nice but chilly. We just preferred the beach side.
Highly recommend SJC to anyone, happy to answer more specific questions!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upper bonchurch
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

i come every every to st james club as part of the timeshare thing there and meet up with friends from the uk and around to catch up etc but enjoy the trip every time when i go epscally when i read mags etc enjoy iy not to be uptirt about it at all relax and ejoiy the sun mind of thed and flies and mosiquyties

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Here are some of our suggestions/concerns we observed:
- The staff at this hotel are OUTSTANDING...!!! - and are the saving grace for this resort.
- The food was excellent.
- A courtesy shuttle to and from St. John’s could be offered – we were very surprised that we had to pay for the taxi ride – especially since we were not told of this up front and was informed just prior to boarding the taxi – we have stayed at several all inclusive resorts and never had to pay for ride into town. The fare was pricey.
- We did not understand the surcharge cost to dine at Picclo’s Restaurant – we paid for an all inclusive package and expected that all costs are covered – we did not dine there.
- The air-condition set-up in the room did not make sense – it only activates when there is movement in the room – it was extremely uncomfortable sleeping at night.
- We found the taxi drivers connected to the hotel to be arrogant, boardering on rude – we were handing one of them a dollar bill which was worn and his reaction to it was embarrassing – he could have explained that banks do not accept worn bills in a better manner. As well as, they showed no concern to passengers when “trying” to “avoid” potholes in the roads and never spoke to passengers, or even point out places on interest on the rides to and from different venues.
- The nightly entertainment, while adequate, needs improvement.
- A better way needs to be found to identify guests who are all-inclusive or time-share, etc. as it is ridiculous to keep reciting your room number, name and whether you are AL or otherwise for every drink, meal or otherwise.
- While I think this is beyond anyone's control, the beaches – especially on the Atlantic side – are extremely weedy and not pleasant for swimming - also they are not the turquouise blue sea and pristine white sand (if that's what you're looking for, these beaches are not) – we are beach-lovers to the core and this was the biggest disappointment of our stay because that’s mainly what we came for - the beach..!!
Overall, I don't think we will return to this hotel

Room Tip: Beachfront, while a bit more expensive, is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EIR123, Public Relations Manager at St. James's Club, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry you did not have a positive experience of the taxi drivers in Antigua, they are not employed by the hotel, but we do expect them to still give a good impression. With regards to the surcharge for Piccolo Mondo, this is our fine dining restaurant which offers a sophisticated menu in more formal surroundings. Many guests opt to pay the surcharge and are delighted with their experience. We do not use wrist bands like many other rather resorts, as we like our guests to feel relaxed and the resort to have a more informal atmosphere. We appreciate you sharing your comments with us on all matters and they will be raised with Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I really enjoyed this holiday and would definitely return to the hotel. The service was OK, but we had what we needed. The weather didn't disappoint, and was about 30 - 35 degrees every day for our ten day stay. Our room was outstanding, with stairs out onto the beach; we were able to watch the sun rise on the beach every morning. The staff were very friendly and my kids really liked them. My daughter and I went kayaking a couple of times with the hotel and were completely blown away by the scenery around the bay. The rooms were spacious and airy - a real treat to come back to after a day at the beach. The food was great, with a huge selection of different restaurants that we all enjoyed. If I had to fault this hotel, I was disappointed with the pools - they were very cramped and chorstaraphobic. But we spent most of our time at the beach, so it didn't matter. All in all, a highly recommended hotel!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This holiday was incredible! We stayed in a family villa which was perfect for the four of us and had fantastic views as it was up on the hillside. The restaurants were amazing, we especially liked the one by the beach. Water sports were fantastic, especially since they were free. We felt like celebrities as we were welcomed so warmly the whole of the time we were there!

Room Tip: Go for a villa if you are with a family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I traveled to Antigua in the month of November with 5 of my friends.

The weather was 85 - 90 degrees and humid every day and sunny. The resort is beautiful and the staff was very hospitable and friendly. We received a welcome tropical cocktail drink upon arrival . My all inclusive package included a spa treatment which I scheduled for a facial in the middle of the week. The facial was wonderful and the spa was very clean. This resort had many activites open to the guests every day and afternoon tea on the grounds where guests would gather for complementary tea and goodies each afternoon being that this is a British owned island.
The resort had a lot to offer if one did not want to venture outside to explore the island.
There are two swimming pools on the resort grounds both of which were on the ocean side of the resort with a spectacular ocean view. One larger pool with a large bar and activities for all the guests who signed up where I actually won a bottle of champagne and a catamaran trip around the island.The smaller pool was connected to Coco's where you could go upstairs to get lunch . I found the menu to be limited and the food average. .
The resort is huge and the beach on the ocean side beautiful and clean and was not crowded at least near the ocean edge however a strip of beachfront rooms that were directly on that beach were very crowded with wall to wall families with children so you had to stay near the ocean edge to avoid tripping on childrens toys etc. The lagoon on the other side of the resort was calm and serene and had a beach bar and grill and all the water sports which were offered to us as part of the all inclusive package. Picollo Mondo which was on top of a hill on the resort grounds was a fine dining restaurant and more upscale type of establishment with breathtaking views of the ocean with excellent italian food. Well worth the extra small fee they charged us. The gym was small but efficient but because of the beautiful area we chose to walk every day around the grounds of the resort for the daily excercise fix.
The Docksider Restaurant on the lagoon side of the resort had great food but sometimes a long wait to be seated even with reservations. The Jacaranda Bar was so much fun as we went usually after dinner around 9 pm where they had different live entertainment and was a bit crowded each night partying until close.
I recommend the later afternoon catamaran trip around the island which offers food and drinks and snorkeling if you want to catch the sunset on the way back. I would absolutely return to this resort again in the future.

Room Tip: Our room was right near the resort lobby and close to everything. Our balcony had a view of the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. James's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club

Address: Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > Mamora Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Mamora Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your St. James's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. James`s Club Hotel Mamora Bay
St James Club Antigua
St Jamess Hotel
St Jamess Resort
St James Antigua
St Jamess Club Antigua
St. James's Club Antigua/Mamora Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.