We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. James's Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added St. James's Club to your Saves list
St. James's Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 35
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Sheffield England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Slightly Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

This was our fourth visit to St James Club and we have always been highly delighted, but something seems to be not quite so good. Our room was not ready when we arrived but we were given one of the Reef Suites, which was lovely. Unfortunately the airconditioning was not working properly and we had a constant pool of water under the unit, we were told it would be repaired but nothing was done, so we had to paddle to get to the fridge. We also had an infestation of small insects, which although they did come and try to get rid of them they kept coming back not pleasant.
It would have been nice to be informed the main bar area was under refurbishment, but that was up to Virgin Holidays to tell us before we arrived, it did make a difference as there was only Docksider to go to in the evening, and that could be very noisy having a conversation was impossible, the outside bar was open but as the weather was not good, it was not the best place to be . We also noticed a very unpleasant smell coming from the area round Docksider, but no one seemed to know what was causing it. Most of the staff were very pleasant and were very helpful especially a young man in the Rainbow restaurant I think his name was Jerome always a smile and nothing was too much trouble for him. I must say I do not think we shall go back to St James Club which is a shame.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EIR123, Public Relations Manager at St. James's Club, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you for your response. Sorry to learn that your stay with us was disappointing and that your a/c unit was not fixed as requested. The Jacaranda Bar has now been completely refurbished and is open to the public again, sorry for the inconvenience caused by its closure during your stay. Unfortunately with the rainy weather can bring lots of insects, but we can appreciate how this can be annoying. If you would like to discuss your stay with us further please get in contact with us directly at abrito@candw.ag.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    694
    220
    123
    58
See reviews for
605
971
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We have just returned from St James Club and whilst we had a lovely holiday it was the small things which really let it down and having spoken to quite a few repeaters, one who had been going there for years, while we were there it would appear that the quality is slipping.
We had a Royal Suite which was superb really large and in the quietest area of the resort, although opt for one away from the Dockside restaurant where there is entertainment most nights and the noise carries. These suites whilst they all have balconies are on two floors so if you want the upper one make sure you request it. The Reef Suites were lovely but beware they are directly behind the reef bar and constant music was played in that area for most of the day. The beach rooms whilst directly on the beach for those on the ground floor, overall seemed rather cramped and that beach was very crowded. There is a small decking area in front of the Royal Suites which was lovely and secluded and they overlook Mamora Bay which was for most of the time empty and by far the better beach.
Piccolo's is by far the better restaurant (more later) and well worth the extra.
Now for the down sides: -
1. the cleaning of our room was good somedays awful the next. We had a ring around our bath for most of the first week and cleaning times varied from really early to really late.
2. It would appear that the beds are supposed to be turned down, this only happened three times in a fortnight.
3. The dress code is definately not enforced, some nights there were people in the restaurants in flip flops, shorts and looking as if they had just come off the beach (this is in the evening), why have signs stating there is a dress code when it is obviously not adhered to?.
4. The food (apart from Piccolo's) was very much hit and miss, I don't think I could have eaten in the same restaurants as the previous reviewer. The buffet restaurant is now Dockside which is a shame because that is the nicer setting but the buffets are to be avoided. They book you into there for your first night and that was the only time we ate there. Shellfish in a buffet and dried up at that was not good. In addition I came to the Caribbean for Caribbean fare and not roast beef and yorkshire pudding which was on the menu one night and which I can have at any time at home. The food in the rainbow restaurant was better but again was not very local.
5. Service - this again was hit or miss and it didn't matter how polite you were to the staff. They appear to be conditioned to reply - always a pleasure / my pleasure etc etc which began to grate after a while, in addition some were really nice whilst others were totally different and again sometimes you were served quickly other times particularly at breakfast you could be waiting 10 to 15 minutes to get a cup of tea!!
6. The website states that the Royal Suites have their own private pools - not true there is a small adults only plunge pool at the far end but is not for the exclusive use of those staying in the Royal Suites and a slightly larger pool at the end of the same block but this was taken over by very loud children during the last few days of our stay. Also beware there were children staying in these suites albeit babies and toddlers but they are sold as adults only.
7. The same website also states the Royal Suites have their own concierge - don't know where they were as we never saw them.
8. There is a fridge in the room which has some drinks in it when you arrive but if you want it refilled you will have to pay, doesn't make sense in an all inclusive hotel. Also there is no private bar for the Royal Suites again as stated in the website. Apparently all premium spirits have also been taken off the shelves in the restaurants and are not promoted, I wouldn't have known this if I hadn't been told by a repeater.
Maybe I went to this resort with too high expectations, but it would appear having spoken to people who were regulars that standards had begun to slip over the last couple of weeks as the owners are having to watch costs, reduce prices to attract customers and as such standards begin to fall together with the type of customer they attract, which is a real shame as it had the makings of a good holiday.

Room Tip: Go for a Royal Suite by far the better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EIR123, Public Relations Manager at St. James's Club, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
We are sorry your experience of the Royal Suites was not as you had anticipated. Thank you for sharing your concerns, we have now dealt with the issues highlighted. If you would like to discuss this any further please get in contact with us at abrito@candw.ag .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We just returned from a wonderful all inclusive stay at the St. James Club. The property is beautiful with most if not all rooms with a water view. We had a great and very relaxing time and would readily return. There are two beaches. The bay beach has very calm and clear water. Ocean kayaks and sailboats are available for use. The ocean beach has cooling breezes but there was seaweed in the water so it was less appealing for swimming. There are numerous pools as well. No place was crowded and it was always easy to get a chaise. Our room was spacious and clean with a refrigerator, and an ocean front balcony with two chaises. My husband appreciated that the flat screen tv played American tv shows. Worth noting is that if you go there and need hair conditioner, bring your own- they only provide shampoo. The all inclusive food varied from good to excellent. The fish was usually excellent, but not the steak. There are breakfast and lunch buffets as well as the option to order off the menu as well as places to get excellent grilled hamburgers and grilled fish sandwiches at lunch. Dinner was best when ordered off the menu rather than at a buffet. Breads and baked goods were a weak spot and need to be improved. It is better to stick with the cocktails and avoid the beer and wine which are not good. Most of the servers we had were excellent, and most of the staff we encountered were eager to please. There are a few wifi places to access the internet, but signal strength varies and can be frustrating.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Another great visit to Antigua and St James's Club. Had a long delay getting through Immigration at airport.
Piccolo Mondo's was excellent.They were renovating the lounge which will be a nice improvement. The staff was friendly and helpful. Food was great!!!! Accomodation was great. I have been all over Carribean and St James's is always good value and consistent service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Second visit. Such a lovely welcome back from so many people.

Given a lovely room in the Royal Suites, with wifi that made it really easy to catch up with people at home via our iPAD.

What's so amazing to me is just how high the standards are here. The beach was pristine perfect just like the same time last year, despite all the natural disaster difficulties they had earlier in the year Staff invariably friendly and engaging. If you say hello to anyone, or catch their eye, from the front desk, to the cleaners, to the restaurant staff, to the bar staff, to the watersports staff you will ALWAYS get a cheery hello back, and many of the front office staff will remember you by name.

The adult only cascading pools below the piccolo mondo restaurant remain my favourite spot to chill out for the day, although I sense that even with just small popularity there can be a growing "who can put their towel down first" issue. More umbrella shades on other levels would be a good thing, as the two there are are like gold dust.

Both the pool bar and the beach bar make wonderful fruit smoothies, maybe with rum at your choice. As many as you want if you are on All Inclusive, so chill out and enjoy. No-one will give you a hard time for asking.

Give the aquarobics a go. Super Dave who leads activities is a fabulous guy, always interested to talk and give ideas.

I really can't think of a better place to chill out and relax. A week will clear your mind.

So, two things:
1) A taxi to or from the airport for 1-4 people is $32, but be warned, this is PER PARTY of up to four and it doesn't mean you get your own cab. Neither the airport taxi dispatchers or the hotel will help to group people into a party. The airport dispatchers will put you in a cab with others and still charge each group $32. This is all fine if you're expecting to pay $32 anyway, but if you want to save money, ask around as others come out of the airport. If you make your own party of four before you ask for a taxi (either way) it's $32 for the lot. I hasten to add, this isn't hotel policy, it's how the taxis work.

2) Make sure you book your evening mealtime either the day before, or first thing on the day. One day we tried to book at 2.30 for an early dinner slot, and were told we could have 9pm or nothing (nothing being to go to another on site restaurant for fast food, or pay $70 extra to eat in the more exclusive restaurant). Coming from the UK, as many do, 9pm early in a holiday is like 1am UK time, finishing dinner at 2.30am in the morning. Guest services couldn't understand why this might be a problem or offer an alternative. Given it's dark at 5.30 or 6, we had to take a sleep, then get back up and eat dozily. It only happened the once, and the hotel were quick to advise us how not to have the problem.

On the back of that, just to reflect on daylight hours. Right now the sun is up at 6.30 (and hot by 7am) and down by 5.30. Dinner 6.30 to 9. For us, it didn't make sense to slip wholly into local time as we felt getting up late misses the sun and leaves a void in the evening, waiting for dinner.

The hotel nightclub and bar will reopen shortly after what looks like a lovely refurbishment, so that'll fill evenings.

Take the above purely as gentle advice. We have no complaints whatsoever and cannot think of anywhere better to go. This doesn't happen by accident, so top marks to everyone at the St. James' Club for all that work that we take for granted.

Room Tip: Everyone I've spoken to has said they loved their room, yet there are different kinds. There a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

My wife and I visited first week of Dec 2011 and had a wonderful time. We were unexpectanly given an upgrade into a 2nd floor unit with a shaded balcony, on the beach. With the sliding door open, we could hear the sound of the tide in our room. The room, itself, was spacious, clean, and had a TV with probably 100 channels. It had an overhead fan and good air conditioning. The bathroom was very large with plenty of hot water. WIFI avail for free in lobby areas and villas but not avail in other categories of rooms.
The beach areas and pool areas were very nice with lots of lounge chairs and shaded areas. The ocean water was warm but no good places to snorkel. There is a scuba concession on the grounds that is an extra charge for those interested. We were on the all inclusive package which worked out well. The food is good, not great. Bar drinks were very good. There is a coffe/tea set-up all day outside the lobby area which was very nice. Last, but not least, the bartenders, waitresses, front desk, concierge, and rest of staff were very friendly and accommodating. Multiple times they went out of their way to help us. I would definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

little more expensive than some of the hotels available in Antigua but this is a lovely hotel. the staff are very thoughtful and courteous and nothing is too much trouble. Gem, the assistant Manager is absolutely the jewel in the crown!. good food in all the restaurants for all meals, even the burger on the beach were good, and its lovely to finish a meal with a premier brand liquour. shame about the seaweed on the beach, but the hotel team did there best to clear it daily. did not venture into the sea because of the jellyfish but not a problem as there are numerous pools none of which were ever over busy. with the differnt bars and pools and restaurants it was not like being at just one hotel. all in all, i would highly recommend, go on spoil yourself if you want to kick back and do not very much.

Room Tip: all rooms looked to be sea facing so not sure i would bother with a premium room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. James's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club

Address: Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > Mamora Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the All-Inclusive St. James's Club & Villas, Antigua's most famous address. This beautiful resort is ideally located on a private, 100-acre peninsula. You will love our two white sand beaches, water sports, tennis, four restaurants, indoor and outdoor bars, beach bar & grill, luxurious spa & salon, freshwater swimming pools, supervised Kids Club, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, and so much more. One of the Caribbean's most popular all-inclusive resorts. Excellent for couples, honeymooners, families, and friends. Located just minutes from major attractions like English Harbour, Nelson's Dockyard, and the lively Shirley Heights. Our warm and welcoming staff and management team will make your stay wonderful and memorable. See your favorite travel agent or contact Elite Island Resorts to book your stay. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your St. James's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. James`s Club Hotel Mamora Bay
St James Club Antigua
St Jamess Hotel
St Jamess Resort
St James Antigua
St Jamess Club Antigua
St. James's Club Antigua/Mamora Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.