We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent trekking provider - Australian school group.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dutchco trekking Cambodia-Day Tour

Dutchco trekking Cambodia-Day Tour
Labanseak commune, village 1, Banlung 2213DC, Cambodia
0976792714
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 6 Attractions in Banlung
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Professional organized Tours in Banlung Ratanakiri province
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent trekking provider - Australian school group.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I have recently returned from a month long trip to Cambodia with an Australian high school group where we completed the 4 day Ratanakiri trek with Dutch Co. Our overall experience was excellent and I would happily recommend the company to others. I am contracted as an outdoor education representative to accompany Australian school groups whilst travelling overseas - in simple terms, to make sure everyone stays safe. I know from experience that Dutch Co is a provider for many western schools because of their well maintained risk management, safety and evacuation procedures. So no worries there. As for the trek itself, its beautiful jungle terrain with amazing waterfalls and swimming holes along the way (take your swimmers). Our guide Johnny was funny, informative, and spoke great english. We didnt see too many people throughout our trek and it really felt like we were off the beaten track. The last day consisted of very little walking - we spent the day touring the local village and seeing their way of life. A great cultural experience that most people travelling through Cambodia will not get. Rick, the owner is very helpful and will be happy to advise you on any pre trek info. To quench a well earned thirst or to eat something other than rice or noodles (the food on the trek was good but simple!), I suggest the cafe at the Dutch Co. Good food, nice people and reasonable prices. All in all, a safe, enjoyable and unforgettable trip.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    0
    0
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Can't Fault Dutchco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Trying not to repeat what others have said. I have only positive things to say about Dutchco, their cafe, and the 3-day trek I did with them.

With European management, Dutchco really understand what a western tourist wants from a trip; I have found that this is not always the case in Cambodia.
However as the company is run as a co-operative for the benefit of all its staff, many Cambodians are also benefiting from the jobs created: 10/10 for ethics. Also care is taken that the trips cause no ecological damage.

Dutchco have been working with all its guides and rangers for several years now and it shows. The guides speak excellent English, are intelligent and knowledgeable - our guide told us that he had looked information up that he didn't know so he could answer more questions.

Our ranger was a local man who told us he could hunt any animal; so he had superb local knowledge of the forest, villages and people. He did not speak English, but with our guide's translation skills this was not a problem and his experience and personality really enhanced our trek.

Both men were friendly, open and fun to be with. They also worked hard and refused our offers of help with tasks.

The cafe is also excellent, with local dishes but also western food if you want it; all well-cooked. Great coffee if you are missing your western-style coffee in the morning.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience with fantastic people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

On arriving in Banlung we thought it would be fun to go trekking for a few days. Thanks to Rick and the people at DutchCo - for turning those 3 days into an amazing experience and the highlight of our trip to Cambodia.

From the moment we were picked up to being dropped off 3 days later we felt as if we were in the hands of professionals. Johnnie Walker, our guide, spoke fantastic English and made the trip an absolute pleasure, and with Chung leading the way we felt in incredibly safe hands.

So many highlights - the boat trip down the river, the sights and sounds of the jungle, showering and swimming in a waterfall, sleeping beside the river in a hammock, visiting the local villages,.....the rice wine.....

A fantastic experience, but it's the people that made it extra special. We will never forget Johnnie's kindness and willingness to take care of us, nor the smile on Chung's face as he told us the stories of his life. Forget about the others and use Dutchco - we are so glad we did.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One of the greatest experiences of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Our three day- two night trip trekking was one of the absolute highlights of our trip.
The organization was very professional (good gear, good transportation, nice guides) and the trekking included diverse sights, nice campsites and a visit to some local minorities.

We felt very comfortable going into the wild with Dutchco and would definitely do so again.

A challenging yet very rewarding trekking!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dutchco trekking Cambodia-Day Tour also viewed

Banlung, Ratanakiri Province
Banlung, Ratanakiri Province
 
Banlung, Ratanakiri Province
 

Been to Dutchco trekking Cambodia-Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dutchco trekking Cambodia-Day Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.