We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent trip, but beware of the leeches!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lucky Tours

Lucky Tours
village1 Labanseik commune, Banlung 855001, Cambodia
855-978-373-878
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Attractions in Banlung
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lucky Tours is a tour operator offering Jungle Treks in the northern mountains of Cambodia.Our Guides and Rangers are expert at their tasks.The Ratanakiri region has a lot to offer to adventurous travelers.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“An excellent trip, but beware of the leeches!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We booked to go on a 2 night 3 day jungle trek. The actual experience itself was brilliant, the motor bike ride to the river, crossing it on a barge, and then trekking into deep jungle. Our guide and ranger were also perfect, they waited on us hand and foot. The only problems we had involved our ranger not turning up on the first day as he had had a heavy night drinking the night before, so we were delayed 2 hours until another ranger arrived. Also, once you get into deep jungle, there were hundreds upon hundreds of leeches, ruthless creatures! They ruined the experience so much we cancelled the second day and came back a night early. If you can deal with them, then I strongly recommend doing a trek, you get a real experience of living in the wilderness. Meals cooked by a camp fire, sleeping in hammocks under the jungle canopy, and meeting lovely families who live off the land.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We went on a one night two day trek, it was a tour that only Lucky Tours did and it had a aim of seeing monkeys. We saw langur monkeys, capuchins and gibbons on our trip so we were not dissapointed. Our guide Rithy was brilliant as was the family we stayed overnight in the jungle with. Its quite an even getting there on the back of a bike on dirt tracks. It got suprisingly cold overnight in the jungle so would recommend taking a few pieces of warm clothes. Food on the trip wasnt exciting but did the job, although you get to try some of the minority villagers food which is interesting! Overall one of the most fun things we have done travelling.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Deep Jungle Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Our guide was Rthy and our ranger was Protch. They were a great team and made our 5 day Ratanakiri jungle trek very memorable. I referred to Protch as "jungle boy" as he was an expert on the environment, the animals, navigating, finding water, telling us what plants we can eat etc. The team treated us with incredible service and were very enthusiastic about everything. The only thing we didn't like was how much they both smoked but I think that's quite standard. We really felt like we saw the true Cambodian jungle as we didn't see any people for 3 of the 5 days. Sleeping under the stars in a hammock was awesome. We didn't see too many animals but we did see tarantulas, birds and monkeys. If you can't bare leeches then reconsider if this trip is for you. Sailing down the river on a handmade bamboo raft (made in 1.5 hrs) for a day was great and quite relaxing after our days of trekking. On the last night we stayed at a bamboo farm house and drank rice wine with the local family which was fun.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olten, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Tomy is just great and he knows about what he is speaking! Also his guide blang is just wonderful and he explained a lot from the jungle as well from the attidude of cambodia-people. We just booked a day-trip, and next time we would book several day with those guys!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a wonderful journey in the jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

If you're looking for some adventure in the jungle of Ratanakiri, then Lucky Tours, Jammy and his rangers will show you all the secrets of the area. Jammy is a great guy who also has a very good sense of humour that will help you get passed the difficult moments. You don't need any special skills and will be in good hands. I highly recommend this guide who is as relax as professional.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Tours also viewed

Banlung, Ratanakiri Province
 
Banlung, Ratanakiri Province
 

Been to Lucky Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucky Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.