We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flameback Lodges

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mudigere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flameback Lodges
Save
You added Flameback Lodges to your Saves list
Billur Post, Pattadur Village, Mudigere 577132, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mudigere
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great experience. Home away from home. Awesome rooms, hospiality and food.

Took our two dogs with us and they had a blast.

Just remember it rains a lot there - so better to check before you travel and carry warm clothing.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    18
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
26
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The most part of our three day rendezvous into the depths of south India was brilliant. Although it wasn't hard to find a few flaws with Flameback Lodges. Being only 14 years old and coming from day to day chaos in Camden i'm not accustomed to the unbelievable serenity we were subjected to at Flameback. There was everything an adventure thriving human being could ask for, a lake that allowed rowing as well as a massive forest around the whole area. German Shephards roaming around all over and mountain bikes at full dispense. The villa we stayed in was also really nice, with a Jacuzzi and rain shower as well a flatscreen t.v and wifi. There were a few things that were a little flawed as well, for example the food was absolutely putrid. Also the swimming pool was full of dead bugs and flies,(im not snob, I just felt i'd rather not swim in a pool which was 9 parts insect, 1 part water). Other than those two major flaws Flameback is a great place to go to if you want a serene environment for a few days.

Room Tip: Villas are the best place to be, they are more private thatn the paddy cottages and have a great vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The lodge consists of some Luxury villas and small villas, spread-ed between paddy fields, small greenly mountains and forest.
We 4 person were there for 1 night - 2 days. We got the luxury villa, which I must say is great looking, spacious, well decorated villa. Bathroom is having a Jacuzzi and a separate shower area. Each villa has individual balcony and a small lawn with sitting place. All rooms have glass doors and windows. Because of which I felt the lack of privacy within room specially at night when it would be visible from outside (even after dropping the curtains). Dining area is nicely decorated and have a good view of lake, paddy fields and mountains.
This place has good outdoor activities like kayaking in the lake, cycling across the around place and forest or a calm walk. It has a pool and TT table near dining area.
It has also Ayurvedic massage with sauna bath. I like the cycling around the place.

I would say it is great place to be there if you are not that tight with your budget.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The moment we left Hassan, it was blissful as we left the honking and the suicidal drivers behind, and once in Mudigere, we savoured the beautiful country drive to the Flameback Lodges, completely unspoilt countryside and untouched by commercialism and tourism .... and I hope it continues to stay that way. Our paddy villa was very comfortable, with a huge deck, and lovely views of the paddy fields and forest beyond. I am not normally a fan of buffets, but I loved the food and there was lots of it. The staff are very attentive and very accommodating. The massage was excellent. I look forward to visiting again ... soon!

Room Tip: I am not sure there is a bad room; ours was on the low-end, a Paddy Villa, and it was beautiful - an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Simply superb way to unwind! Excellent cottages, clean, cozy, private and beautiful. We are a family of 4 - 2 boys age 14 and 9. We spent 3 nights in the luxary villa and the experience was simply amazing. The staff there is superb and caters to every need . They treat you like family. There is enough stuff to do for your kids as well like hiking, nature walk, canoeing...all inclusive!
There were 2 german shepards and my sons loved going for regular walk with them. Best of all there is no connectivity at the villa - so we stayed away from emails/calls etc. They are very open to you using their landline to make calls to family and friends - which we did just to let them know that we had reached- but it helped to be away from all the noise! Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for luxary villa facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botswana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

If you are looking for a place to go for rambling walks, to go kayaking with your family, to sit back and quaff the spirit of your choice, all the while gorging on local delicacies, whilst ensconced in the lap of luxury... well this is the resort you want to resort to.

We had a lovely break from the hustle and bustle of the city life, doing everything and yet nothing. The resident friendly canines were our waling companions, attentive yet giving us space. The staff was there discreetly helpful. The serenity of the estate adjoining and the views from atop the hilltop were amazing ... literally a walk in the clouds.
You dont need to go for the massage / spa, nature itself shall soothe you. And the rooms are done up tastefully with luxury and comfort being the key. The bungalows have their own private garden and outdoor jacuzzi.

Room Tip: Go for the luxury villa if its in your budget, though the paddy cottages are equally good. before se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Its a nice place to getaway from your hectic schedule and enjoy a relaxed weekend.. we went there without any expectations.. but thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The best part of the stay there is, you are occupied with a lot of activities.... especially the coffee plantation walk.. it was amazing. The staff and the manager make you feel at home. the food is simple and delicious. The rooms are spacious. would love to go back there. great experience and fond memories.

Room Tip: all the rooms come with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flameback Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flameback Lodges

Address: Billur Post, Pattadur Village, Mudigere 577132, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mudigere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mudigere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Flameback Hotel Mudigere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flameback Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.