We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming host in a perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gealabhat Callanish B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Callanish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gealabhat Callanish B&B
Save
You added Gealabhat Callanish B&B to your Saves list
9, Callanish HS29DY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Callanish B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming host in a perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Word of mouth from the locals led us to this great B and B and we weren't disappointed. Last minute booking wasn't a problem and Gregor offered us warm and relaxed hospitality and really put in the extra effort to make sure we had everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable. His house is modern and comfortable and has an outside decking area, perfect for trying to catch the Northern Lights, (we didn't so we'll just have to go back!) Gregor baked fresh pancakes and made a lovely cooked breakfast, he is also passionate about good coffee so no cheap sachets of instant in sight! He didn't seem to mind the strange hours we were keeping by going out in wild lightening storms, and helpfully dried our soaked clothes when we returned. Heading for Callanish in the middle of the night was no bother either as we went to handfast ourselves there in our own special ceremony and were so excited we forgot to mention it! Gealabhat provided a wonderful base for our special adventure and we can only thank Gregor deeply for the part he played in it. We hope to go back in the near future, Mel and Simon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

So many factors go into a good stay at a B&B and this one has them all. Location, comfort, cleanliness and finally the host or owner. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel at home, Gregor has created a place where you can settle down and relax after your day of travel. Then it comes to the cooking. Gregor is an excellent cook and the Breakfast we had was just perfect, yet it does not stop at that. We were fortunate enough to sample some of his home baking, pancakes, scones and home made jams. It is just something he is happy to share when he has time to bake. All round an absolute treat of a stay which we extended to two nights rather than the original one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We booked Gealabhat beacause of the good reviews and I am so glad we did. Gregor has created a wonderful, homely, stylish B&B. We felt instantly welcomed and had tea and delicious home made scones on arrival. Since it was out of season Gregor had even phoned a nearby hotel to check that they were serving evening meals for us. The decor is beautiful and it was lovely to chat to Gregor about the work he has done renovating the house. Our 3 terriers were also made most welcome by Gregor. Good location, comfy bed and amazing shower! Cannot recommend this place highly enough, I just wish we'd been staying for more than one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were so lucky to find Gealabhat. Gregor has done a wonderful job of renovating his grandmother's B&B and we had a lovely one night stay. He made us so welcome, even making delicious scones and jam for us. We loved hearing all about his renovations and about crofting life on Lewis and Harris. He cooked us a delicious breakfast too. Can't recommend Gealabhat too highly. Go see for yourself............

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was the best place to stay on Lewis. Gregor has done a wonderful job of creating a perfect B&B and he was so welcoming. He is a good cook too and is happy for his guests to make a tea/coffee and help themselves to his excellent home baking. This place is ideal for touring Lewis and also for walking to the standing stones at night when all the tourists have gone which makes it more atmospheric. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were lucky enough to spend one wonderful night at Gealabhat. We were greeted by Gregor who was very friendly and showed us the facilities and everything we needed to know about the house. He really has thought of everything you could need to have a perfect stay.
Such a sweet guy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Had a great time in Gregor's B&B for our three night stay. He's a lovely guy, and makes the best apricot and date flapjack we've ever tasted! He has renovated his gran's home to a high standard and is as welcoming and friendly a host as you could wish for. It is few minutes walk from the Callanish Stone Circle and in a central position close to the wonderful archaeology, coastline and nature on offer on the west of the island. Can't imagine a better B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gealabhat Callanish B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gealabhat Callanish B&B

Address: 9, Callanish HS29DY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Callanish
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Callanish
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gealabhat Callanish B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.