We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not living up to it's potential...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Beetroot Tree

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Beetroot Tree
South Street, Draycott DE72 3PP, England
01332 873929
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Attractions in Draycott
Type: Art Galleries, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Beetroot Tree is a contemporary art gallery with a programme of exhibitions plus original work by designer-makers, art and craft workshops, an art supplies shop (also available online) and a vegetarian cafe.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not living up to it's potential...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

...popped here with a few friends for coffee, cake and a catch up as being creative people we thought it would be nice to meet somewhere arty.
Could be great but needs some work/improvement. The upstairs gallery display was disapointingly sparse but the where some nice bits if arts and crafts to buy downstairs. Onto the cafe, it's vegatarian, not a prob for us but worth noting if not your thing. Service was slow...There are only a handful of indoor tables, it was raining so outdoors was out and it wasn't full inside so the 2 cafe staff should have been able to speadily serve the 3 tables that where occupied. There where only a couple of slices of cake left, it was nice but not outstanding. The coffee was good but very small cups. Generally seemed quite disorganised which is a shame as it could be great.
I believe they also run craft workshops.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“artwork with cake? yes please”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

A small art gallery which has a coffee area with superb cakes, some of which are gluten free!
Upstairs (be careful) the art work is changed round regularly, some displays are very abstract, other ones bold and interesting or contemporary. All unique and available for purchase.
I go to have the lemon and poppy seed cake and a mooch around the gallery.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very "Arty" but relaxing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Have visited a number of times. Food is OK but a touch pricey as tends to be the norm for this place wgere style tends to exceed content. Staff are friendly and the overall ethos is fairly relaxing.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Appalling food and service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My friend and i went to the beetroot coffee shop for lunch. We were limited for time, but we thought one hour for a light snack would be ok. Wrong!!! 35 minutes to get 2 bowls of soup and some stale bread.There were just two other people in the place and they only had salads. There is no excuse for such bad service, two bowls of soup heating while your perparing the other couples food [ ten mins at the most] After 30 mins!!! i went to see why our food had not arrived, as the other couple had got there 15 mins before. There was no apology for the slow service, and the women serving was miserable and uninterested, she had only just put our soup on ? still no other customers in the place. We now know why the place was empty, we will not return and would advise people to aviod unless you have hours to spare.The soup was just horrible when we finally got it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBeetrootTree, General Manager at The Beetroot Tree, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Firstly thank you for visiting us at The Beetroot Tree. We have great feedback about our cafe especially the food and the service.

I am really sorry you had such a negative experience during your visit. We aim to serve customers within 15 minutes, unless we are very busy which, from your comments wasn't the case on the 26th.

I am also sorry you didn't enjoy the soup or the bread. Both are home made and both of the soups on offer this week are firm favourites with our customers. The bread is also home made and again is a firm favourite.

I will discuss your issues with the members of my team who were working on the 26th and re-iterate our standards of service both in terms of timing and attitude to customers to ensure that such an event does not re-occur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Lovely bolt hole to get away from the world.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Myself and my wife have been to this art cafe on many occasions. The coffee is good, the staff are friendly and the opportunity is there to browse the lovely art works in the loft and garden areas. What's not to like - Highly recommend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beetroot Tree also viewed

Been to The Beetroot Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beetroot Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.