We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Donington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Donington to your Saves list
Days Inn Donington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A50 Westbound, Shardlow DE72 2WW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Early and Save 15%!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shardlow
Manchester UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Stayed here for one night when we went to the Moto GP. The hotel is only a 10 minute drive from the race track so very convenient.
The breakfast was very good at £7.95. Also thought the bar and restaurant prices were very reasonable.
Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    62
    35
    13
    13
See reviews for
33
42
14
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

The room was great. The lift was very smooth, and we came in, in the middle of the night and were greeted at the desk. We came to a very comfy room, which had an extremely clean, tidy bathroom. The beds were very comfy. We come to the great part. The breakfast, usually hotel breakfasts, the bacon is not crisped and still has white fat on it, but this bacon was very crispy, and everything tasted absoloutely great. The other breakfast items were also very hot, and fresh.

It was a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

We have stayed here twice within 4 months and are planning to go back back again.

Only once on our first stay over did we return back to our room late afternoon and find the bed had not been made up and the coffee/tea tray had not been filled.

The staff are helpfull and friendy.
Breakfast is availble at an extra cost, and has plenty of cerals etc to choice from.

For those who would like a hot meal the serivce station next door has a small restaunt.

I have allready booked my next stay

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

Small hotel with access to service station, staff are extremely friendly and more than happy to help.

Nice breakfast in the services restaurant and for £7.95 is cheaper than you would normally pay in a hotel.

The rooms are basic and are an average size, but for £39.95 per night what do you expect.

If you want a stay over whilst visiting Alton Towers and would like to do it as cheap as you can then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2007

We stayed here for 1 night in January - no complaints at all and much better than Travelodge !!

  • Liked — Little extras in room compared to Travelodge
  • Disliked — Football on tv in bar area
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2006

We stayed at the Days Inn for one night in August after arriving at the East Midlands Airport late at night. The hotel was easy to find and it didn’t take us long to get there. The reception is open 24 hours a day so it was no problem to check in after midnight. The staff were very friendly. Our room was quite nice and comfortable and very clean like the bathroom. As the hotel is part of a service station you could hear the traffic but it wasn’t too noisy. You could have breakfast from 6 o’clock until 11 o’clock. We had a continental breakfast from the “all you can eat” buffet that was quite good. It wasn’t included in the room price but at 5 £ it was reasonably priced. Breakfast was served in the lobby.
We payed 50 £ for the room on a Saturday and we felt that the Days Inn was very good value for money. We especially recommend it to people wo arrive late at the East Midlands Airport or who have to get there early in the morning. It’s perfect for an airport stop over.

  • Liked — The location near the East Midlands Airport, easy to find, good value for money
  • Disliked — The noise from the traffic - not too bad though
  • Tips/Secrets — Check out the different rates on their website before you book
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2006

We stayed at this hotel after a day at Alton Towers. It is very basic but is clean and I suppose that's all you can ask for at the price! Easy to find with a nice new bathroom. Please note that it is actually part of a service station!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Donington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Donington

Address: A50 Westbound, Shardlow DE72 2WW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Shardlow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shardlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Donington 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free parking, a fully licensed bar, buffet breakfast and 24-hour reception, Days Inn Hotel Donington offers free Wi-Fi just off the A50 road. Rooms at Days Inn Donington feature private en-suite bathrooms, free Wi-Fi, and flat-screen TVs with Freeview. Some rooms also offer fridges, snacks, and bottled water. Located on the A50 at Shardlow, the M1 and M6 motorways are easily accessible from Days Hotel Donington. Donington Park Race Track in Castle Donington is just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Donington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Derbyshire
Derbyshire Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Donington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.