We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet gem in the Derbyshire countryside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Horsley Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Horsley Lodge to your Saves list
Horsley Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Smalley Mill Road, Horsley DE21 5BL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horsley
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quiet gem in the Derbyshire countryside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here following a wedding at the hotel. The rooms are very well fitted with comfortable beds and a great bathroom. The views over the golf course are wonderful even on a grey morning. The restaurant is tucked at the back and offers wonderful views.

Can be busy around reception with guests and golfers but it's rarely an issue. The staff are very helpful and polite.

Only downside is that the bedroom doors allow too much corridor noise into the bedroom.

Well worth a stay and I'm not a golfer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Many thanks for the good review, in this world of instant technology we are pleased that Tripadvisor allows the best form of advertising: "Word of Mouth", to be translated for the world to see. Its great to keep getting good feedback from all these recent reviewers, it gives you the reader confidence, something our own website can't do on its own.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    36
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
42
40
3
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great Breakfast good start to the day . Course was wet following overnight rain but the greens putted well.interesting and tricky course a good enjoyable test.Half way house was most welcome on a cold day.Excellent changing facilities.
hotel good selection of beer.lovely beef Roast and Deserts.
good ambiance and a very warming open hearth fire on a cold day.
next time i am this way i will stay in the hotel.

Room Tip: didnot stay only there for day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks for informing everyone of your golf experience at Horsley Lodge. Apart from the quality of the course its the extra touches such as our locker rooms and halfway house where you can grab a bacon cob or a coffee that keeps us ranked Number 1 golf course in Derbyshire on "Golfshake.com" (thats like Tripadvisor for Golfers)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed after a friend’s wedding, (despite living less than 10miles away) so enjoyed the hotel hospitality all day, the food was good and the drinks from the bar reasonably priced.

We stayed in a standard room at the front of the hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the golf course. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. The hotel is situated in a quiet location which made for a peaceful nights sleep. And the following morning the breakfast (which is included in the room rate) was just what the doctor ordered!!!

I would definitely recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thankyou for your good review of a stay in the Castle Room (from the photo)
named after Horsley Castle which used to sit proudly on top of the hill opposite, till it was plundered and used to built Kedleston Hall.
As you spotted, a stay here includes a full English breakfast and vat.
Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at the Horsley Lodge Hotel and Golf Club for 2 nights during a business trip, from 25-26th February 2013. First impressions of the hotel from the road were very good as it looked like a stately home surrounded by greenery and of course the golf greens. I'd booked online through laterooms.com so checking-in was very straightforward and I was quickly shown to my room as it can feel like a bit of a rabbit warren at first. The executive room (Tudor) that I had booked was very spacious, had a bed that would have been large enough to sleep a small family, a decent sized flat screen TV, fantastic views of part of the golf course and a nicely tiled bathroom. It was clean and tidy and overall I was very pleased with my choice of lodgings, especially for the very reasonable price I had paid - £80/night including breakfast!

I ate in the restaurant both nights and was more than happy with the selection of meals on offer. The food was brought out promptly, was very hot and nicely laid out without being over the top or pretentious. The price of the food for the quality was also very good - approx. £20 for 3 courses and a beer! The breakfast, served in the same restaurant was also very good. A selection of cereals and fruit is available along with fruit juices. Your order is taken if you want a cooked breakfast or toast and this is all freshly cooked to order.

The reception staff were all very pleasant and friendly and the restaurant staff were very prompt and attentive. All in all this was a very enjoyable stay and given the choice, I would much rather this hotel than a Holiday Inn or similar, despite the fact it is only listed as a 3*. Many 4* hotels I've stayed in have been well below the standard of this hotel.

The only negative, if it can be called that, is if you want to venture out to one of the local towns. I wasn't bothered so didn't see this as an issue but if you want to go anywhere you will have to drive.

Room Tip: I chose an executive double as it was only £10 more expensive than a standard double and the view wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of a stay here. I think you've covered everything above, and Im pleased you found us through laterooms but its always worth ringing reception here for up to the minute deals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just been for Sunday lunch Feb 24. The food was of an high quality and plenty of it. The service was excellent and it was very good value for the money that we paid. Based on today's experiance I would recommend Horsley Lodge any time. The meal was rounded off sitting in front of an open fire with coffee. Lovely meal, lovely people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks Chris for a great review of Sunday lunch at Horsley Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Chosen venue for a family wedding.
This place ticks all the boxes.
Smart Hotel with bar,restaurant and large car park located in beautiful countryside.
Separate room with bar, dining area and dance floor. Ideal for the event.
Wedding planner who made the day enjoyable and stress free.
All staff very pleasant and helpful.
We also booked accommodation and found the room very comfortable.
The food both at the wedding and in the restaurant was excellent.
Overall this made for a perfect day.
The function room is on one floor and wheelchair friendly but be aware that should you require accommodation there are no rooms suitable for disabled guests.

Room Tip: All room are of a very high standard but accessed via steep stairs which can be a problem for those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks Ken for a fabulous review. Im so glad we " tick all the boxes" and gave you a perfect day
Great advice to others viewing this site before chosing a wedding venue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belper derbyshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight for a wedding, everything about this place is lovely the wedding was organised very well and the food at the reception was warm and tasty, the room we stayed in was very comfortable and had all the amenities you would expect. Unfortunately we didn't get the golf course very but the decor made up for it. The breakfast was beautiful and al freshly cooked to order. We then relaxed on the terrace overlooking the golf course with a nice cup of tea. Would always recommend for a stay or wedding.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Great to get a good review from a senior contributer to Tripadvisor. Im glad the decor did not go unnoticed. Our interior designer did a great job and she is pleased to hear good comments like yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horsley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horsley Lodge

Address: Smalley Mill Road, Horsley DE21 5BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Horsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Horsley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 8 miles from junction 25 of the M1, Horsley Lodge Hotel offers a quiet retreat for those looking to stay, dine, golf, relax or attend a function. Just driving through the gate is promising, but the Hotel at Horsley Lodge has received significant investment over recent years with all bedrooms and bathrooms being refitted and now combining the comforts of home with stylish design. You feel as though you are a guest of The Earl of Stainsby who built this fine Country House 150 years ago as a dowry for his son. We have super-king size beds, surrounded by fine fabrics and wall coverings. The restaurant has a number of dining options to tempt your taste buds. Your room is individually designed, most with a view of the Par 3 ninth hole and service standards of a very high quality. We were recently re-awarded 81% by the AA inspectors. We look forward to welcoming you to see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Horsley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Hotel Horsley
Horsley Hotel Derby
Horsley Lodge England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horsley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.