We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class for Weddings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Red Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Red Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manchester Road, Walmersley, Bury BL9 5NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walmersley
West of Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“First Class for Weddings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We attended a wedding in this hotel at the weekend. As we live 200 miles away we stayed the night before and the night of the wedding. We received a warm welcome on arrival. The rooms were lovely.
Breakfast is buffet for the cereals etc. and service for the cooked section. There was a good selection and everything I had was good.
The wedding itself was incredibly well organised and went off without a hitch. The meal was delicious. The staff worked very hard to make it special.
I would recommend this venue for weddings.
The only thing I could fault (although it was not a problem) was that the walls in the bedroom seemed quite thin as we could hear people talking next door. This was only on the first night and did not stop me getting a good sleep.

Room Tip: We were in a back facing room. I would recommend this as it was quiet. Some others at the front coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    47
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
61
50
4
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after attending a wedding here. The wedding was excellent, the staff at Red Hall did there best to make everyone feel at ease and comfortable. The food was really good, actually it was amazing. The drinks are a bit pricey though. The room was luxurious and the bed was very comfy. The breakfast was also very good, and was served quite quickly. The location of this hotel is good, being just a few miles from the M66. Overall a good place to enjoy a wedding and stay after. I wouldn't mind staying here on business either, with a good wifi connection though out the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We used Red Hall for our daughter's wedding reception & evening buffet on the 02/08/13, we cannot praise enough the effort and organisation and help from all of the staff, the food was exellent for both the day meal and evening buffet, the bar staff worked so hard and nothing was to much trouble for them, Claire on reception was a star so helpful with all the guests, and Warren who organised the whole event, again we cannot praise enough. We would reccomend this hotel without a doubt the best day of our daughter's and our lifes everyone had a fantastic time.
Thank you Red Hall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We got married here at the start of July and from start to finish our experience at the red hall was exemplary, from the food to the service and the quality of the rooms everything was outstanding, highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the hotel on a Saturday night after attending a friends birthday party. The room we were given was of a very high standard, exceptionally clean, with all the little add-ons you normally get in a much more expensive hotel. Even though there was a large wedding that night, we didn't hear a thing! The staff were brilliant - good northern hospitality all round. Highly recommended if you need a hotel near Bury/Ramsbottom!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

my family and i attended a family wedding here yesterday,it was a magical day for all the the food was not your typical weddeing fayre,it was so much better,the staff at the hotel are very pleasant and profesional well done all

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We had our vow renewal here in June and there aren't enough wows and amazings to describe our guests comments as they arrived at the reception from the church
Richard was a delight to deal with from start to finish as we planned our perfect day
Church house were involved from day one helping to design the room from the bath of bubbly to the ice sculpture
Party Essence, Just because and Sugarmouse were able to grasp our vision and the room was stunning
We chose from the A La Carte menu and the fillet steak was perfect
Darren and Wayne hosted the day and my every wish was there command
If I had taken the 10 years to plan that day it could not have been more perfect
Whatever your budget large or small this hotel has the finesse of the Midland and the reliability of an old armchair
Thank you to everyone there are too many to mention
Our photographer has captured the most amazing day Thankyou Anna
Che k out the photos on Redhall Hotel Facebook page

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Hall Hotel

Address: Manchester Road, Walmersley, Bury BL9 5NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bury > Walmersley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walmersley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel was originally a farmhouse and converted into a hotel over 40 years ago. From 1978 up until 2008 it was owned by the Wright family. In early 2008 the hotel was put up for sale and bought by the present owners who took over the hotel and submitted their improvement plans for the existing building. Then in April 2009 the ‘new’ Red Hall Hotel was officially opened by Sir Alex Ferguson. Sir Alex is a good family friend of the owners who was more than happy to nip down one Saturday morning, to cut the ribbon before making his way to Old Trafford for the game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Red Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.