We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Potters Hotel & Brewery

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Potters Hotel & Brewery to your Saves list
Potters Hotel & Brewery
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Wine Country Drive, Nulkaba, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia (Formerly Quality Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nulkaba
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel Experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My family and I booked to stay at this hotel for the New Year's holiday based in it's location, appearance from the road and the web site.
Since we arrived before the normal check-in time, we asked if we could drop off our luggage so we could do the rounds at the many great wineries of the Hunter Valley. The very unfriendly "manager" at the counter informed us that one room was ready and that we could drop all luggage in that one, which we did.
At 4pm we were ready to freshen up and went back to the hotel. There was another lady at reception this time who happened to be a friendly person. We were informed that we would have to move our luggage at the first room allocated to myself and all were assigned to their respective rooms. That was okay by me, but when I opened the new room allocated, it was a mess - like it was hit by a cyclone, obviously not cleaned and prepared. I hit the ceiling and the family came iwth me to reception since one of the rooms ordered with extra beds for children, did not have them.
I was allowed to stay at the original room (where we were allowede to drop our luggage earlier).
As I was complaining, another couple heard me and said their room had not been done up either so were upgraded.
The menu at what they call their restaurant was good, but should be graded more like a Cafe than a restaurant. They had pretty good Cafe type meals, fortunately. and their bar was okay.
Staff at the bar and at the "restaurant" were friendly. Unless we hear the place or it's management has made changes to improve things, the family is definitely not going back for another disaster weekend. During that weekend, we check out a couple of other places that looked pretty good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We value your comments and take such comments seriously. We do aim to exceed our guests expectations and apologise on this isolated experience we did not. I do recall your check in experience with us as you had many rooms booked in for your stay. Arrival before check in times of 2pm are not always accommodated and with such a large group. Unfortunately Potters did not have your rooms ready for your early arrival as it was before the check in time. Providing you a room to store your luggage in was the best option we had available at that time. I apologise perfusely if you felt that was not satisfactory for your requirements. We do hope to see you again at Potters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    75
    51
    26
    25
See reviews for
41
101
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We popped in to visit the brewery and do some tasting. Being in the wine region why not try some beer as well as wine. There was about 10 to 15 beers on tap and you can get a tasting pallet for a very reasonable price with 4 x 7oz glasses of your selections to try. The barman, head brewer really knows his stuff and describes every beer, how they are made and what to expect when tasting. As we were sitting at the most amazing table that you must see to believe, one piece of timber from one tree about 10 metres long mounted on tree stumps, the brewer came over sat down to find out what we thought of the beer and to just have a very pleasant chat with us. The Boch was a our best of the range we we tried and from 12 beers we chose from the total we got a good variety to taste. We bought 2 bottle of the Boch as a birthday present it was that impressive.
We will return to stay at the hotel and do the brewery tour next time. A dinner beer tasting night might be something we look out for in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our brewery. It truely is a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their time at our resort. Being the Hunters only micro brewery it is a must see when you are in the area.

We do beer and dinner nights during the year and would love to have you attend. Feel free to contact our office and add your name to the subscription list to receive information on upcoming events. We look forward to seeing you again soon at Potters Hotel Brewery Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We only visited the Hunter Beer Co. and did not stay at the hotel!
The beermaster of the brewery is a very vriendly and accessible man, who will take his time to explain the brewproces and answer questions. The Beer Co. has a wide range of beers, that each have a characteristic taste.
Although most people visit the Hunter Valley for the wine, these beers are not to be missed on your trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking to the time to review our Brewery. Keith is our head brewer (photo you have included) .He is passionate about his beer and gives fabulous brewery tours to our guests. We hope next time you stop in at Potters you will stay the night and enjoy all that our wonderful 3.5 star resort has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here overnight with family of 4 adults and one toddler.
The unit was spacious and comfortable, and clean. We took our own folding cot for the 15mth old baby, as cot hire was more than we wanted to pay.
The staff on arrival were very helpful. We ate dinner in the Restaurant which was good.
The accommodation was well priced for the proximity of the Hunter Valley Christmas light display, and visiting of vineyards.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PottersResort, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We look forward to welcoming you back to Potters when you next visit our wonderful region. We are proud of our 3 1/2 star rating and aim to provide a clean, relaxing and enjoyable experience for our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in the Potters Hotel in January 2013. When we inquired at the Tourist Information, this hotel was not mentioned to us, which is surprising considering the very reasonable rates (AU$ 121 for a Standard Villa, AU $145 for a larger Villa, price for 2 adults including continental breakfast). The Villa was clean, the bed comfortable and the shower was great. One of the blinds had a couple of broken slats and I agree that this should have been picked up by house keeping/ maintenance. There is free WiFi connection, a pool and a Spa pool (which was not heated). The staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant has good pub food and a nice family-friendly atmosphere. The brewery offers tours and you can try a variety of beers in the bar.

Room Tip: We only stayed one night and therefore cannot comment on the room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PottersResort, Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to compile a review of our resort. We are constantly upgrading and making improvements to our accommodation facilties and can now advise blinds have since been replaced in our villas so next time you stay you can take a look, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

we stayed here over new years,the kids loved the pool as it was stinking hot,we found all staff extremely pleasant, and the rooms were lovely, although as we had 2 small kids i thought there would be a bedroom not just open plan with all the beds .We would definatley come back and reccommend potters to our friends

Room Tip: room 29 was very quiet with a bush aspect but not super close to pools and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PottersResort, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hi Greg, Thank you for taking the time to reivew our resort. Fantastic news that you were are returning guest. Room 29 is designed to be open plan living for families. Potters also have spa units which are two bedrooms with seperate spacious living areas. Maybe that can be something for your to review upon your next visit! We hope to see you again soon at Potters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Error when booking and paying over phone. Funds were credited back straight away when I noticed the error. Housekeeping very helpful bringing extra requested items. Lovely lady :)
Breakfast great. Husband enjoyed the beer. Kids enjoyed play area, pool and tennis.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PottersResort, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review on our resort and we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We strive to exceed our guests expectations and our staff are Potters have a genuine interest in ensuring guests enjoy their stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Potters Hotel & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters Hotel & Brewery

Address: Wine Country Drive, Nulkaba, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia (Formerly Quality Resort)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Nulkaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nulkaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Potters Hotel & Brewery 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Hunter Valley Wine Country, Potters is a relaxing getaway. With new ownership since late 2008, Potters is home to the Hunter Beer Co., a fabulous Brasserie and Resort-Style Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Potters Hotel & Brewery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Potters Hotel And Brewery
Potters Hotel & Brewery Greater Newcastle/Cessnock, Australia
Potters Brewery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Potters Hotel & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.