We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good dinner experience in a very nice setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Nelle Vigne

Trattoria Nelle Vigne
Via Moglia Gerlotto 7/a, 12051 Diano d'Alba, Italy
+39 0173 468503
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Diano d'Alba
Price range: $34 - $135
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very good dinner experience in a very nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

It was our first "piemont style" course dinner and stayed one of the best. All the appetizers are very tasty even though the fried bread will not become my favourite. The pastas were very good and the taglierini were one of the best we ate in Piemont. The quantity of each dish was huge even though we were four and seemed to get served quantity as the couple at the table next to us!. We skipped the meat dishes and went straight for the dessert for which we got served three different kinds which were all very tasty.
We choose the house wine, white with the appetizers, red with the pasta and desert wine to finish off, each for approx. 10 EUR which were all an excellent choices and great value for money. Hence I think there is no need to go for the wine menu even though they offer an excellent local selection at good prices.
Most impressive was however the excellent view over the wine yards from our table. Our host reserved a table for us outside and we enjoyed great scenery while enjoying a very good dinner. This made this dinner our best dinner experience in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    225
    71
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Langhe food with stunning view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

There is a good reason for all enthusiastic reviews on TA. Went there to top off our week in the Langhe and were not disappointed whatsoever. No menu, just an explanation at the table on the night's dishes. Choose which ones you jump in for, so did we. Anchovy with hazelnut sauce was the biggest surprise but all the food was more than sound. Although we ordered a bottle of wine costing €45 the bill was still under €100. The view is stunning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful trattoria, highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at a nearby B&B, and had an absolutely great dinner at Nelle Vigne the first night. Views from the restaurant are fabulous, the food was great, service was excellent. Just pace yourself a bit, because the prix fixe menu contains at least 5 appetizers, meaning you'll be stuffed by the time dessert arrives. Great wine menu to boot (of course), the appetizer with pounded hazelnuts and tuna was a real treat. Thank you to Christina for being such a such a wonderful hostess.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bra, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Quantity, not quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were invited there by a couple of friends, and I have to admit that we were positively impressed while walking from the car park towards the restaurant building. We thought we would eat outside on the deck overlooking the vineyards, but unfortunately we were seated inside. The main room looks new, but we got the impression that they put too much effort in making the place look traditional and trendy at the same time. You might want to know that the place can accommodate up to 100 people give or take, so it can get very noisy. We got a corner table next to the French windows, which unfortunately were all close, despite being a warm Summer evening.
As soon as we got to our table, we were served two - unsoliticed - dishes of anchovies with hazelnut sauce, and the waitress asked whether we were ready to order the wine. Of course we weren't, as we had barely noticed that someone had dropped the wine list on our table. We asked for a few more minutes to have a look at the wine list, and started with the anchovies, which were extremely salty, whereas the hazelnut sauce didn't taste like hazelnut at all. In just under ten minutes we were served the other unsoliticed appetizers: deep fried bread dough with pork lard, beef with a tomato sauce, a so-called Piedmontese salad (which essentialy was a very sad chicken salad with some industrial cheese) and pickled peppers. We tried all of them, but didn't have the guts for a second tasting, as all appetizers looked like they had been sitting on the kitchen counter for hours on end.
As to the pasta courses, we tried the gnocchi with tomato sauce and pesto, and the ravioli serverd in a butter and sage sauce. We were hoping that the pasta course would be better than the appetizers, but we weren't that lucky: the gnocchi - supposedly made of potato - didn't even remotely taste like potatoes. As to the ravioli, they were tasteless. I doubt that both the gnocchi and the ravioli were home made.
We didn't order the meat course and choose the desserts: these were not so terrible as we had assumed, but don't expect anything better than the desserts that you can usually find in any Italian pizzeria.
As to the price, at least we couldn't complain: 30 € per person including the wine. But that was the only positive aspect.
I know the area very well as I was born and bred here, and there are hundreds of places where you can find much better food for the same price.
I won't go back to a place where the only focus is quantity, to the detriment of quality.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asti, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Affordable yet attentive home style cusine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Half grandmother kitchen on a Sunday morning, half Marine Corps barrack, Nelle Vigne delivers a tasty home-style Piedmont cusine with no frills to probably more than a hundred customers per service. You will enjoy a few starters, like beef tartare, sour peppers, anchovies with hazelnut sauce, and deep fried bread pasta with pork lard, some kind of stuffed pasta and some kind of tagliolini, and a generous serving of hoag and potatoes. They sometimes change a dish or two in the menu but the concepts remain still and you might eat the same dishes in different occasions. Nelle vigne does have a wine list, but my suggestion is to stick with the home wines, which are remarkably good and are priced very conveniently. Since the menu is substantially one for all, I have no idea if they are able to accomodate vegetarians or people with some intolerances. Go there during spring, to enjoy a full view of the Alps from the garden and from quite a few of the tables.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Nelle Vigne also viewed

Alba, Province of Cuneo
Diano d'Alba, Province of Cuneo
 
Roddino, Province of Cuneo
 

Been to Trattoria Nelle Vigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Nelle Vigne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.