We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance of the Middle Ages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine de la Juranvillerie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rigny-Usse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Domaine de la Juranvillerie
Save
You added Domaine de la Juranvillerie to your Saves list
15 rue des Fougeres, 37420 Rigny-Usse, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Rigny-Usse B&B and Inns
Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Romance of the Middle Ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Of course, thinking people know that the Middle Ages were, in many ways, far from romantic. But this utterly charming little bed and breakfast/gite has all the romance of the 16th century, minus the dangers and inconveniences. A lovely, sunny little spot surrounded by forest, you can almost believe yourself to have been transported into one of the fairy tales by Charles Perrault, reportedly inspired during his stays at the nearby chateau of Usse.

We stayed in the Medieval Chamber, intrigued by the pictures on the website of the little stone house, the curtained bed and carved furniture. We were delighted to find it even more charming than its picture, and no less so to find that this gem also contained all the creature comforts of a more modern age----good shower and toilet facilities, plenty of towels and even bathrobes available for our use.

The absolute quiet of the area, broken only by birds chirping and an occasional (very occasional) car passing, was as attractive as the pretty grounds, filled with flowers, vines and little tables just for sitting and enjoying the atmosphere. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming, and provided a very nice breakfast with homemade breads and an assortment of cheeses and preserves. Not only was it a good base for exploring the Loire Valley: it would also be an ideal place just to rest and enjoy the atmosphere.

The only regret I have is that we were unable to stay long enough to participate in the medieval dinner mentioned in some of the other reviews. But I strongly suspect we'll be returning on future visits, and (hopefully) spending more time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

When cycling in the Loire Valley our group stayed overnight at this wonderful little B&B.The hosts have a passion for perfect details.We wished we could have stayed longer and made this a base for cycling around this beautiful area of the valley.Damienne served us homemade bread and jams in the morning in the comfort of her medieval dinning room and dinner in the sunshine of a flower garden we all wish we could have.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This is the ideal place to enjoy the Loire countryside. We stayed a week and wished we could have stayed longer.
Damienne and Michel are the perfect hosts, the medieval dinner and breakfasts were out of this world. The gite was a medieval house(Xth to XIth, with 2nd story added in XVIth) that has all the comforts of home. Local bike shop delivered rental bikes to our door, the area has a lot of trails and small roads ideal for biking or hiking(nice to see boars in the forest :-))

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

The Domaine has 3 very nice rooms, every room very sympatic and even if the place has old stone-houses, the interieur is modern equiped!
The home made Breakfast (home-made bread and marmelade) and the owners prepared a fantastic Dinner for us with ingredients from their garden.
It was so nice and the owners where nice as well!
Thanks a lot and will come back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We booked our stay through the Tourist Office in Tours. We were told they couldn't speak much English but we managed to communicate with my husband's O'Level French.
The Medieval room was lovely, spacious & clean. Nice outside area as well.
The homemade breakfast was delicious.
Had a very relaxing night before heading to visit chateaux's in the nearby area.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Domaine de la Juranvillerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de la Juranvillerie

Address: 15 rue des Fougeres, 37420 Rigny-Usse, France
Location: France > Centre > Indre-et-Loire > Rigny-Usse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rigny-Usse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine de la Juranvillerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.