We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didn't want to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciudad de Segorbe Hostel Salento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ciudad de Segorbe Hostel Salento to your Saves list
Ciudad de Segorbe Hostel Salento
Calle 5 No 4-06, Salento, Colombia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Tour tickets
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Salento
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
149 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“I didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

This place is truly amazing! We stayed 3 nights in a private room with 2 single beds and bathroom for COP50,000. Room was good size, beds really comfy and shower had plenty of hot water. Breakfast was included and very nice (coffee, fruit and pastries). Location great only 2 minute walk to the main square and opposite restaurants. But the best thing about this place is the hosts, Enrique and Luis, they make you feel right at home and part of their family. The hostal is quite small with only 7 rooms or so which adds to the feel. It's very popular, we were lucky enough to reserve a room 2 days out, but there were plenty of people who hadto be turned away. If you are going to Salento you should stay here, say Shannon and Allan said hello!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    29
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
147
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Salento is like a magnet for me, for some reason I keep coming back - and each time I always stay at the Hostal Cuidad de Segorbe (my 5th time in less than a year!). By now I feel like I´m part of the furniture, or family. Enrique & Luis are the best hosts you could ever hope to meet - friendly, kind, knowledgeable and incredibly helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are spacious and clean and the breakfast is wonderful. It is also excellent value, one of the cheapest hotels in town,but by far the best. There is a beautiful garden to reax in, plus other places to just chill out in. The location of the hostal is excellent, a stone´s throw from the plaza and Calle Real.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

From the minute we arrived at this beautifully restored colonial house slap bang in the middle of Salento we felt welcome. Friendly, knowledgeable hosts Enrique and Lois helped us to have a great stay, and advised us on the best things to do in the area.

Our room (Castellano) was impeccably turned out, large and comfy. The shower was hot and powerful and breakfast delicious. One of the best places we've stayed anywhere in Latin America - Ciudad de Segorbe is a must if you are planning to stay in Salento.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

What a lovely place to stay! Salento is a fantastic relaxing place to stay with lots to see around the area. Enrique and Luis at Hostal Ciudad de Segorbe made us feel so very welcome and were the best hostel hosts we have every come across. Breakfast was beautiful, the beds were fantastic, showers lovely and the balcony and the house itself was gorgeous. If you want to feel welcome somewhere, stay here!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We planned to stay for two nights and we stayed for a week. Believe me we would have stayed longer if we could. First of all, Enrique, Luis and Carlos are the best hosts ever. Can't really express the warmth and friendship in words, but they are truly special people. The old colonial style house is beautiful, super clean and comfortable. They took very good care of us.
Salento itself is fantastically charming. Colonial architecture, gorgeous scenery, great food, and a very relaxed lifestyle. The friendliest people. You can choose some great walks and hikes, or easy travel to other local villages by bus, or just sit in the plaza and have a cold beer. It is that good.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed three nights in this lovely place just 2 blocks from the main square. The owners Enrique and Luis made us feel very welcome. They are really kind people. It's just a really relaxed place, the rooms are clean and the shower is really nice and always hot!
Breakfast was nice and included. The owners provide information about Salento (nice and cheap places to eat for example) and its surroundings.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

The best place I stayed in Colombia. The owner couldn't be more helpful, even for people who showed up when the hostel was full, in this case he called other hotels to find a place. I had a really nice room (Quindio), very simple but well decorated and confortable. Lots of information, about everything I needed to know.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ciudad de Segorbe Hostel Salento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciudad de Segorbe Hostel Salento

Address: Calle 5 No 4-06, Salento, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Quindio Department > Salento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Salento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ciudad de Segorbe Hostel in Salento Colombia, welcomes people from places all over the world. Peaceful and spacious seating areas especially suiting those looking for tranquility amidst unbelievable landscapes and friendly people. Set amongst the magical and unique forests of the "Wax Palms" (Colombia's National tree, and one of the highest species of the world). The Ciudad de Segorbe Hostel in Salento allows visitors to explore one of the Colombian first destinations for ecological tourism. It is highly recommended for people to enjoy nature and to discover something magical and different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Ciudad de Segorbe Hostel Salento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciudad de Segorbe Hostel Salento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.