We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ceviche in Ecuador!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabanas la Tortuga

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ayampe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabanas la Tortuga
Save
You added Cabanas la Tortuga to your Saves list
Ayampe Baja Manabi, Ayampe, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Ceviche in Ecuador!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

The best days of my trip to Ecuador were spent in La Tortuga! A little hideaway right on the beach was the right medicine for the soul. Nice long quiet walks on the beach, sun, and relaxation. A perfect place to truly leave the stress and worries behind and just enjoy all that Ayampe has to offer. My little cabin was clean and comfortable and I left without a single mosquito bite! The staff was also always friendly and helpful. But best of all was the food at La Tortuga. I traveled extensively all over Ecuador and the Galapagos and I can honestly say that the best ceviche I had was at La Tortuga. The food was reasonably priced and simply delicious. To sum it all up, a perfect location to vacation!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
17
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guayaquil, Ecuador
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011 via mobile

An awesome hideaway in Ayampe, Manta. At our arrival, we were greeted by the owner who really has a passion for the place. I really recommend this place for anyone who is looking to disconnect and go "unplugged" for the weekend. The roads from Guayaquil to Ayampe are in perfect conditions making travel a lot more comfortable than years back. It took us around 2 hours and 30 minutes together there.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

What a wonderful place, right in front of the ocean with an amazing view of "Los Orcados" Island. If you are looking for waves, this is the right place, it is a beach break and it is NEVER crowded. Although it does not have room service the crew is willing to help you in any way they can (even bringing food to your cabin). They have an open kitchen where you can see how well and clean they prepare your meals. At night is rather quite, only the rumble of the waves disrupts this outstanding silence.
If you want to have a drink or party there is a bar in La Tortuga Tent Camp next to the cabins. At this moment I should point out that Ayampe, the little town where La Tortuga is at, is fairly small and extremely quite.
I spend the best five days of my life in La Tortuga: Surfing, eating and relaxing. They made me feel at home...The owner, David Cardenas speaks a perfect english and knows a lot of the botany and wildlife around the area. I was told that during the months of June to October, you can spot humpback whales even from the beach! (Should come back to see!!)
This is a perfect place to stay alone or come with your family check their web page www.latortuga.com.ec

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

Has been the greatest disappointment yet!! My boyfriend insisted on going to Ayampe to seek out a chiller and cheaper town to surf in. He emailed Tortuga and asked specific questions about the room. They replied w/ false info. They said they had orthopedic beds, wifi and the pics of the rooms they sent were impeccable. Well, the beds were regular ecuadorian beds. The "manager" later tried to charge us $20 for wifi, which was "included" in the overpriced room. One of the cabanas we were shown smelled of mold/mildew. We never met the owner; only the poor little 16 year old that worked there the majority of the tie. Upon further investigation of the cabin, we discovered that the mosquito screens were torn and that there were tons of options for the mosquitos to enter! There was no Mosquito net in a town notorious for its vicious mosquitos due to the cloud forrest nearby! NO MOSQUITO NET IN A ROOM THAT COST $36 PER NIGHT! It got worse when we tried to sleep. It is an open air cabana so you have to whisper and we could hear the owner (whom we never met during the day or at all for that matter) getting drunk until about 5:40am with his friends right outside our room!! I had to put earplugs in, but even that was no match for their drunken laughter! Needless to say we left the next day swollen from bites and irritated from a lack of sleep. I WROTE THIS AT 3:15 AM BECAUSE THE MOSQUITOS WOKE ME OUT OF MY SEEP BITING ME ON THE FACE LEGS HANDS AND FEET WITH REPELLENT ON. I CAN STILL HEAR PEOPLE UP AT 3 AM!!! And to think, the owner advertised this as a serene and tranquil place!! STAY AWAY!! or pay a fraction of the price for the tents OR go to IGUANA

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

They did not even provide water in our rooms, towels and linens were old, toilets did not work. Staff sat around but were not helpful when you asked them for things. After two days we moved to another location. [--]

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2007

Very nice place by the Pacific ocean in the village Ayampe. Nice beach with surf. The owner speaks good English and the staff is very friendly. The cabins has a basic standard. Tours are organized to Isla la Plata and other places. For $10 per night it's a bargain.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabanas la Tortuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas la Tortuga

Address: Ayampe Baja Manabi, Ayampe, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Ayampe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Ayampe
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabanas la Tortuga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.