We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Forges Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Forges Hotel to your Saves list
Forges Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue des sources, 76440 Forges-les-Eaux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Forges-les-Eaux
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Supposedly the high end hotel of the casino resort... We stayed at le continental before and got much better service at a better price... Also they don't serve room service and call themselves luxury... Worth the 5mn walk to the continental! The food is great everywhere at the casino...so is food service. Great casino destination.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    205
    40
    9
    2
See reviews for
102
322
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel last year but didnt have time to enjoy its facilities, this year we made time. The service was again excellent, the rooms even better, we used the pool, the spa, the driving range, the lake and went to the casino. The buffet meal was excellent and included wine and beer (you help yourself!) breakfast again was a sumptuous buffet. All set in a glorious location. Secure parking for motorbikes, If you have kids they have numerous activities but you may need to try your French out!

Room Tip: This time we were on the first floor and had a larger room but all rooms are spacious and well fitte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Maine
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed in Forges for 3 nights, mainly because it was centrally located in Haute Normandy. This is an aging resort hotel that needs updating, or at least a good carpet cleaning. Parking was free in a gated area. A casino that is part of the complex is directly across from the hotel, but they wanted to keep our passports while we were inside as our US drivers licenses were not appropriate ID. We walked out. Breakfast was standard buffet.
Rooms and bathrooms were large and clean. We payed extra for a "park view" room and were initially disappointed as we were on the ground floor and a large hedge obstructed any view. But we had a shared patio that was delightful to sit out on and watch the stars st night.
Ok overall but nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
24 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

If you aspire to or are accustomed to the hermetically sealed lifestyle of the type of people who frequent casinos and spa hotels, you'd love this hotel.
Rooms are large but unbearably hot and airless. I felt dessicated when I left and tired from disturbed sleep.
It has a nice pool with a bubbly section and a big shower. There's also a jacuzzi and sauna. Good sporting facilities inc free (tired) bikes for the nearby Avenue Verte.
Breakfast was a steep €15 so we ate at the bar opposite.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed for one night en route south. Hotel is in lovely grounds with very good leisure facilities - not really needed for one night stay - but this is what appears to drive rating and price. Rooms were clean and ok but air conditioning was regulated centrally and reception staff did not understand my attempts to get it turned up.Worst part was the dinner. It was a self service buffet - being enjoyed by lots of french families with young children. Starter was fine - lots of fresh salads but the mains were appalling - my husbands staff canteen at IBM Paris was far better!! There were no prices displayed and when we asked for wine we were told it was red or white and included in price and not shown a wine list.We had some dreadful stuffed turkey - the sauce had an overwhelming taste of nutmeg, and one daughter had no main but more salad - the other had pizza and chips. The boulangere potatos had been made with long life milk -ugh.Total cost was 460Euro - and we were not given an itemised bill - dinner must have been around 30 euro a head - completely awful.

Room Tip: The rooms are on 3 floors in descending order from the entrance. Floor 1 is directly below the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Blown Away this is a superb hotel with excellent leisure facilities a lovely lake and grounds and a casino opposite. Just wish we had more time to make use of the facilities. The food was excellent and service also. We were on motorbikes and they insisted we used the secure parking and couldn't have been more helpful, would define fly use again

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

2h from paris but half part of road is country side so not so easy!
Absolutly great 2days during week mid july for rest and spa!
Rates great as special anniversary ( we booked a suite!). We arrived and took some massages both and every day and all absolutly great with professionalism! Long time i didnt have a feet massage like this!!
Diner as expected ! Buffet like Club Med but quality much better! Breakfast not so gorgious as no bread due to 2 seminars that took all before we arrived! Hotel should have planned!!!
Casino in front and all activites around is for everybody wish!! Is sunny we could have more enjoye but it was really good rest and we will plan again asap without kids !
Check the special rates with
Casino with room and diner at hotel as very intetesting!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Forges Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forges Hotel

Address: Avenue des sources, 76440 Forges-les-Eaux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Forges-les-Eaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Forges-les-Eaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forges Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Forges Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forges Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.