We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely base for the 12 Apostles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arabella Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Princetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arabella Country House
Save
You added Arabella Country House to your Saves list
7219 Great Ocean Road, Princetown, Victoria 3269, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Princetown B&B and Inns
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lovely base for the 12 Apostles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We enjoyed a very pleasant stay at Arabella Country House. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and very well appointed, and there is a very convivial shared lounge and entertainment area. The breakfast was delicious and the hospitality of Lynne and Neil was a highlight, full of local knowledge, history and sound advice, they were the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Lynne and Neil are lovely and welcoming. Clean, spacious rooms. Great breakfast.
5 minute drive from Princeton.
15 minute drive to the 12 apostles.
Rooms overlook the valley and the ocean in the distance.
Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I contacted Lynn after reading through the comments and compliments on Tripadvisor. With a high expectation, Arabella still captured my heart at first sight. The best word I can think of is picturesque, picturesque yard, pictureque farm, pictureque house, pictureque room, even the hall way, and it is absolutely amazingly beautiful looking through out the window of the sitting room (I can sit there for a whole day!). It almost striked me as unreal the whole experience, truely.

Of course, Lynn and Neil are simply wonderful. You cannot find better hosts than them. Beautiful is not good enough to describe the house. You can see and feel their attention from every tiny detail, color of the carpet, curtain and linen in the bedroom, flowers picked up fresh in the morning, the most beautiful cloth hanger I've ever seen and the small fridge on the hall way. I wish I had stayed longer.

Last but not least, their two cute dogs showed even greater hospitality during our stay. Love them.

Arabella is just 10 mins drive from 12 Apostles. They are absolutely two top attractions along the GOR. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights to show our friend from the USA the 12 Apostles but the 12 Apostles was not the highlight staying here was. Lynne & Neil are absolutely wonderful hosts. Very knowledgeable & helpful & we felt like we were at a relatives home not a bed & breakfast.The place was full & we would never had known that anyone else was there is was very quiet & private. We visited the 12 Apostles in the evening & went into town for dinner. When we came back I sat near the fireplace to relax & Neil came in for a chat & asked how the night was & then gave me some tips for the following day. We took his advise & took a Helicopter flight over the Apostles & Neil was spot on when he said to get there early. We got straight on a flight & after returning 30min later there was a 1hr wait time. The breakfast is fantastic!! Everything you could want & more, very fresh & tasty. We would defiantly stay here again. Thanks Lynne & Neil.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great & all have ensuites
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

This is a well run B&B close to 12 Apostles. We were the only guests on a wintery day on beautiful great ocean road and were welcomed by Lynne into a heated room overlooking the garden to the sea in the distance. It was comfortable with everything thought about including bowls of fresh fruit and chocolates. Lynn gave excellent information where to visit. The breakfast was delicious. The only downside was there was nowhere to eat in the vicinity and we had to travel quite a way to Port Campbell to find anything open. We found a great little place called Waves where they were charming and food good. Everything is expensive in Australia for European travellers so good value is a hard to feel but this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were on a road trip to the Great Ocean Road and the 12 Apostles. Lynne and Neal were very inviting. We also met Bill the dog. the place a great country feel and made you feel right at home. We stayed for 2 nights.

The main area was spacious and the gas fire was very homey. Lynne also prepares some home made afternoon snacks which my pregnant wife ate my half. She makes different ones everyday and we enjoyed them while sight seeing, THANKS LYNNE!

Our room was spacious, bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean, shower was strong and hot and we made full use of the spa bath. My pregnant wife enjoyed that immensely. There was a fridge in the hallway with free drinks, awesome.

our first night Lynne kindly made dinner for us upon my request (extra cost but well worth it). She served roast pork with steamed vegetables which my pregnant wife ate which says a lot. Neale and served wine... for me only ofcourse. When we thought dinner was great, Lynne prepared the best berry pie EVER! If you are staying here, ask her nicely and she may make it again. And it was a very decent slice... i can still remember eating it. mmmm.... Also thanks for the port Neal.

The hot breakfast was great! My wife also enjoyed the fresh fruit with yoghurt.

Neal also kindly gave us great conversation about their farm and cows which really amazed my wife. My wife will never look at a cow the same again, now she knows exactly which each are for.

We will return if we ever drive that far away again. Hopefully with our baby a little grown up to enjoy it with us.

Room Tip: The closer to the afternoon sweets the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

A truly great location with excellent accommodation, and views and wonderful hosts in Lynne and Neil. Breakfast is a gourmet treat and the local knowledge that they give is most valuable.
The rooms are spacious, well equipped and have gorgeous views to the sea.
The Twelve Apostles are just a short drive away and there is a restaurant in the nearby Hamlet of Princetown.
If you are visiting the twelve apostles and other Ocean Highway attractions in the area this is definitely the place to stay, but it is imperative to book in advance.

Room Tip: Any one of the three suites will be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arabella Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabella Country House

Address: 7219 Great Ocean Road, Princetown, Victoria 3269, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Princetown
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Princetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Arabella Country House Australia/Princetown, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arabella Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.