We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chimneys Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chimneys Guest House to your Saves list
Chimneys Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   44 Lower Street, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 8LR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Cadiz, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

It's the 3rd time I visit this B&B and I'm looking forward to visiting it for my 4th time!! Good breakfast, confortable beds and beautiful rooms. The owners are very friendly and it's conveniently located next to the airport.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
24
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, yorkshire
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here 3 times now! On this occasion the outward leg of our flight to Egypt and our return flight home before the long drive North. As we experienced previously, Ian and Selina the proprietors were extremely helpful and welcoming.

Spacious comfy rooms with fluffy bathrobes and towels, tea and coffee - fair trade in the room and a nice touch of a small flask with milk within! Ate all the chocolate digestives from the cannister in the room (Sorry! it was a long journey!!)

Breakfast sees a huge choice, fabulous full english with yummy sausages - so nice we asked Ian where they were purchased and we purchased some from the butcher before our long journey heading North.

Excellent B&B - you won't be disappointed - lots of personal touches, makes you feel individual and special. Will recommend to others and stay again in the future if we are flying from Stansted.

Room Tip: Email Ian and Selina to give them your preferences - they are all very nice and inkeeping with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Very welcoming host. Excellent service. Room was very comfortable - like a home from home. Great location for visiting friends in the village and for Stansted airport. Highly recommended! Great for visiting london and cambridge on the train. Free wifi was useful too.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We chose to stay at Chimney's as we were needing a bed and breakfast for one night in Stansted Mountfitchet, all the reviews were very good and were exceeded by the guest house itself.
Our hosts were very welcoming and friendly, even though we were much earlier than expected. We were shown to our rooms a double and a twin room, as we were travelling with two elderly ladies. the rooms were decorated to a very high quality and had everything we could of wished for. We knew about the old steep stairs so this was not a problem. We were offered coffee and tea which was gratefully received after a four and a half hour journey.
We all had a good nights sleep as the beds were very comfy. The breakfast was a wonderful experience with my husband being very pleased with his smoked haddock and poached eggs. We felt that anything we could of asked for would be no trouble.
I would definetly stay here again if in the area and would have no trouble in recommending Chimneys to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Love the welcoming atmosphere--tea is always offered first thing. I've stayed here a few times, mostly solo and another time with a friend. Iain & Selina are friendly and helpful. Iain is a good cook and a wealth of info on travelling and attractions and events in the area. The rooms are beautiful with luxury touches such as fluffy towels, robes, tea, coffee, and chocolate biscuits (replenished daily :D), and Iain is more than happy to tell you the history of the heritage building, (Watch out for the low ceilings!) The beds are most comfy, and it's quiet and peaceful, There are lots of pubs and restaurants in the village, serving good food at good prices. A walk around the village is interesting. Be sure to visit the church (always open), and the castle and toy museum and windmill (seasonal). The train station is a five-minute walk away, and buses run (tho' not on Sundays) to other villages. Cambridge and London are each about 30 min by train (in opposite directions).

If you need a taxi, be sure to book it ahead of time, as they are not always immediately available. And if you have questions or special needs at the train station, be sure to check the hours--the office is not always open, so purchase tix beforehand.

Room Tip: The smallest room with a single bed is just right for a single. The other guest rooms have either a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night and was greatly impressed by the room and the little touches which gave the feeling that the owners had made real effort to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. Good quality breakfast. Parking and close to the station with access to London and Cambridge.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I am writing this review as i am sitting in the lobby of the guest house. It is a charming place, great service, missed breakfast. My room is nicely furnished, clean, yet a little on the small side, the bathroom was a good size and clean , nice clean towels There is coffee and tea in the room with a pot for boiling water. What was lacking is paper tissue (as in Kleenex) not major, there is a lack of trash cans in the facility, not in my room. I hated leaving trash in the tray :(, but i did. I found everything to be clean. and anytime i want either tea or coffee, they bring it for me.

Enjoyed the place and will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chimneys Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimneys Guest House

Address: 44 Lower Street, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 8LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stansted Mountfitchet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stansted Mountfitchet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chimneys Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iain and Selina Rankin offer you a very warm welcome to Chimneys Guest House. Chimneys is a delightful 17th-Century house situated in the heart of the historical Norman village of Stansted. Stansted is a quiet friendly village with beautiful architecture, traditional village shops and has a great choice of restaurants. We have just four guest rooms (2 doubles, 1 twin and 1 single) all of which have en-suite shower rooms. Our accommodation has been awarded 4 Stars by Visit Britain with a Silver Award for quality and customer care. We are less than 10 minutes by car from Stansted Airport, 5 minutes from Stansted's Long Stay Car Park and just a few minutes walk from Stansted Mountfitchet railway station. Easy access to the M11, London, Stratford, Cambridge and Newmarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Chimneys Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chimneys Guest House Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chimneys Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.