We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, inexpensive and good start to our holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thremhall Ave | London Stansted Airport, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 1PY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Swindon, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Convenient, inexpensive and good start to our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We chose to stay at the Stansted Holiday Inn Express as we had a long journey to the airport, a 4.10 am check in and most compelling reason of all, the overnight stay with a week's car parking was only £25 more than car parking alone at the airport's long stay facility.

The hotel was easy to find and whilst Reception was busy, the staff were friendly and efficient at checking all the guests in, so we only had to wait a few minutes. We were very pleased with our family room, it was very clean, warm, quiet, well equippped and comfortable. Also the children's sofa bed had been fully set up and made ready for our arrival (we've had bad experiences at Travel Lodge where they hadn't prepared the room and we had several trips to reception to ask for sheets / pillows / duvets etc - so this gave us a confident start to our holiday).

The beds were comfortable and we didn't hear any road / aircraft noise (or lifts pinging to announce their arrival on our floor - another bad experience elsewhere)

We liked the integral bathroom which was clean and very well planned - with one switch giving a gentle blue glow through an opaque window divider into the room hallway which was great as a night light to help the kids find the loo in the night.

There's not a great choice for meals nearby, with a Wild Bean cafe in the petrol station over the road, McDonalds or Starbucks all a short walk away. That said we opted for the snack menu available from the hotel bar, the food was much nicer and not as expensive as we'd feared.

The only complaint we'd have is not the fault of the hotel - but maybe worth mentioning to help other travelers. We were worried that the 4am shuttle bus wouldn't get us to the check in desk by 4.10am, so booked a Taxi for 3.50am using the free phone alongside Hotel reception. This taxi didn't turn up - and whilst the Shuttle bus got us there a few minutes after 4.10am, it didn't matter as the check in queue was so long it made no difference.

If travelling on an early morning flight from Stansted again I'd definitely come back to the Holiday Inn Express, and feel confident in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. We do love to hear from our guests to ensure we continue to maintain our usual high standards.

I am pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay and found all aspects to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Chris Whiting
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    436
    321
    115
    71
See reviews for
244
390
107
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel's location is really good if you're staying over before getting an early morning flight out of Stansted airport. It was clean, staff were friendly, however the bed and duvet were tiny, and the mattress uncomfortable, so we kept bumping into each other and waking each other up all night. As a result, in the future for early morning flights, I'd probably opt to stay at home, get a good night's sleep, and get up a couple of hours earlier and drive to the airport, rather than drive the night before, get a bad night's sleep in the Holiday Inn, and get up later.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback we are always looking for ways to improve our Hotel, I can asure you your comments will be looked at and will help us deliver a better experience for our guests in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We used this hotel for one night so that we didn't have to mess the family around when they would have had to pick us up at 1am. On arrival the staff were very friendly, the hotel was clean and seemed very welcoming. Everything was thoroughly explained to us - where the lifts were, how to operate them, breakfast times etc etc. We reached our rooms (had 2) - unfortunately they were not very close to each other but at least they were on the same floor. The beds couldn't have been comfier, the duvets couldn't have been cosier, the bathroom couldn't have been cleaner. It had all you would want for a short stay although the rooms were indeed basic (they did have a TV in them and air conditioning/heating (although the room seemed to be getting hotter rather than cooler!)
Breakfast is all inc. and although there was only 3 hot dishes - scrambled egg, beans and sausages, there was still something for everyone - sliced bread, fresh bread rolls, fruit, yogurts, multiple cereals, tea, coffee, juices etc.
Would stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review. We always love to gain feedback from our guests to ensure we continue to provide great hotels that guests love!

I am delighted to see that overall you enjoyed your stay and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kindest Regards,

Melwin Fernandes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We booked this hotel as a park and stay, when we looked at the price of a weeks car park or a nights stay and parking at the holiday inn there was only £10 difference.
Booking on line was easy, the hotel staff on arrival were very friendly and helpful, we were given a voucher for the car park to drop the car off only 300 metres away.
We place our bags into room and went for supper and a drink in the bar, the food came after only a short wait, a continental breakfast was included before 6am and full English after 6am. We took the hotel shuttle to the airport only 5mins a way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We do love to hear from our guests to ensure we continue to provide great hotels that guests love!

I am delighted to see you took advantage of our great value park, stay and go packages!

To clarify, our Complimentary Breakfast is served to all guests from 4am. At this time we serve a selection of Continental items, and after 6am also add 3 hot favourites and pastries. We sadly do not serve a Full English as detailed in your review, although I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the selection available to you.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Chris Whiting
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed over on a sty and park deal, excellent value for accommodation and parking, there's a BP garage and a macD across the road.
Take ya own wine, I was shocked at £7 a glass, although that was large.

Room Tip: We stayed in 101, it was right next to the restruant/ Lounge and could hear activity which woke us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to see that you took advantage of one of our great value Park, Stay & Go packages.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Chris Whiting
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on the last flight from Belfast so we were pretty tired on check in. Our room was comfortable, quiet but really warm and no amount of work at the air con brought the temp down! Bed was clean and comfortable, day staff were friendly, breakfast perfectly acceptable for the price. Transfer to catch the stanstead express the next day was free for my 14 year old and £3 for me, that's reasonable. Overall it was average and acceptable rather than boutique and special but for £56 for both of us Inc breakfast I was happy enough and would use again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We do enjoy hearing from our guests to ensure we continue to maintain our usual high standards.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and found our services to be as expected. Our complimentary breakfast is served daily to all guests from 4am which includes a selection of continental items. From 6am we also start serving our 3 hot favourites and pastries.

Our shuttle bus is complimentary for under 16s and adults pay £3 each way.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Chris Whiting
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed here the night before an early morning flight and found that the evening bar food to be quite acceptable. Had early start and there was sufficient on offer in the dining room for an early breakfast. Don't know what people moan about when they only pay about £40 for an overnight stay. More than acceptable. Frequent transfer bus to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We love to hear from our guests to ensure we continue to maintain our usual high standards,

I am happy to see that overall you enjoyed your stay and found it to be as expected. Our great value rooms also include complimentary breakfast which I can see you enjoyed,

Breakfast is served from 4am daily which includes a selection of continental items. From 6am we also serve our 3 Hot favourites and pastries - A good start to your day!

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Chris Whiting
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport

Address: Thremhall Ave | London Stansted Airport, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 1PY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stansted Mountfitchet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Stansted Mountfitchet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel is ideally located within 5 minutes of the Airport terminal via the hotel transfer bus (small charge applies £3.00 Each way). The hotel is ideally positioned for visits to Newmarket, Cambridge, Bury St.Edmunds, Mildenhall, London Olympic Village, Eurostar Kings Cross and Stratford Terminals. All 254 bedrooms, are equipped with air-conditioning, power shower, tea and coffee making facilities and fully interactive TV system with high speed internet connectivity. The Holiday Inn Express London Stansted Airport offers Meet Smart facilities. Hotel has 6 meeting rooms all with natural daylight, and can accommodate up to 70 delegates in theatre style. Hotel has an Informal style bar lounge with plasma TV's & Sports Bar,showing all of the latest top sports event plus the Great Room including the Rotisserie Restaurant where breakfast & evening meals are served.The Rotisserie restaurant is a new concept at the Hotel where guests can watch the chickens turn golden brown,this includes free salad bowl with all Rotisserie dishes a great vale offering. The Hotel also has on-site parking for up-to 175 cars & is ideally located near Duxford Imperial War Museum and also close to Cambridge & Newmarket. PLEASE NOTE that an overnight parking charge applies for residents of £8.00. Parking is only available to hotel residents whilst staying in the hotel. Park Stay&Go packages are available.Please note! NO BUS TRANSFER during the following times: 12.00 Midnight to 4.00Am,£3 per person each ways payable on the bus applies, children under 16 travel free.All other times every 30 minutes. A limited service operates through Christmas&New Year. A 24hr taxi service is available from the terminal at the cost of approx. 7.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport Hotel Stansted
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.