We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold Comfort” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thremhall Ave | London Stansted Airport, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 1PY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Retford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Cold Comfort”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I don't expect too much in a Holiday Inn express but when I arrived at 9pm for a short overnight stay, waiting for an early flight on a freezing night, the room was frreeezing.When I figured out how to increase the temp after sticking the card in the slot at the door, it took just over an hour to get from 11 degrees to 20degrees. The kettle was the first port of call for a warming drink but I was again up against problems. The kettle had to be held in the base in a particular way or it went off, so I had to stand there for 5 minutes holding and twisting the kettle to make it work and make a cuppa.Not very good. I also had to pay £3 for a transfer both ways for a 5 minute run which adds up to £12 for a couple. It should be free.End of moan . Make up your own mind!

Room Tip: Avoid Room 123.Its freezing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We do always love to hear from our guests to continue to deliver great hotels guests love!

I am sorry to see that your room was cold upon entering and that you experienced troubles with your kettle. I do hope that you brought this to the attention of our team to ensure we could resolve this as quick as possible.

Our shuttle bus service operates to and from the airport on a regular schedule.. Sadly due to the extremely high fee's charged by Stansted Airport to enter the bus terminal our bus company is required to charge all guests £3 each way to use this service. This is something that we continue to monitor with the new owners of the airport, and is a fee in line with competitor hotels.

We very much hope to welcome you back with us soon,

Chris Whiting
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    436
    321
    115
    71
See reviews for
244
390
107
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel was conveniently located for an early flight from Stansted airport. The reception process was rapid but friendly. It was clean and comfortable and the breakfast bar opened very early and offered a wide variety of hot and cold food. Internet access was free in lounge area but not in the rooms. Shuttle bus between hotel and airport (£3 each way) is not as easy to find at the airport as it could be but it drops you just outside the hotel. Overall a pleasant and comfortable stay and I would go there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We do love to hear from all our guests to ensure we continue to maintain our usual high standards.

It is a delight to see that you had a lovely stay and we look forward to seeig you soon,

Kindest Regards,

Chris Whiting
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for 1 night after our holiday - on arrival at 23:50 we were told there was a parking fee of £8, this was not stated at the time of booking with Holiday Inn. As we were abroad I was really looking forward to a english fry-up. I was so disappointed - the cooked breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans. I asked if I could have a fried egg and was told NO, then I asked if there was any bacon - and yes you guessed it right - the answer was NO. The rest of the choice was very poor. We did try to eat the eggs and sausages, but as they were so bad we had to leave it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to see that on this occasion we were unable to meet you expectations.

Our parking fees are displayed on all of our Hotel Websites under ''Parking'' or ''Additional information.''

In reference to our breakfast, Holiday Inn Express hotels offer a free breakfast to all guests. This includes a full continental selection with the addition of 3 hot favorites - Baked beans, scrambled egg & sausage. This is the Brand Standard world wide. Please allow me to suggest our sister brand for future trips, Holiday Inn, who offer a Full English breakfast available within a variety of their rooms rates.

We hope to welcome you again soon,

Chris Whiting
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Booked a room from on the phone and was told, specifically, that the WiFi and Internet was free in the rooms. It was most important to have and the main reason we said yes to booking there. Got there and not true!!!
When arrived at room, no Internet no WiFi and mold in the room in several different areas.
Called to front desk and explained the situation. The under-staff wanted to help, but got the rude night manager on the line and could have cared less...in fact he said to me, rudely, at least 7 times "I can't do anything for you”. Let me tell you folks, I have been in the tourism and hospitality business for 30 years and this guy not only gives the Holiday Inn ~ worldwide, a terrible name, he leaves a bad taste for London overall on any guest's tongue. The guy needs to be let out to pasture. The place is in a shambles. There was plenty, this rude, inconsiderate, man could have done ~ he just chose not to for his guest, and harmed the reputation of the Holiday Inn. Do yourself a favor and do not stay here. Holiday Inn was once a better chain. This franchise should be reprimanded by Corporate. Customer service was no better for follow up.

Room Tip: Don't go ~ headaches galore and very bad management.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Trixie A,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your comments are being reviewed by the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stansted Mountfitchet hotels

Sandbach, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Not problems with this stay, needed an over night for an early flight. Check in easy, room clean, staff helpful. Didnt have breakfast, but did use the express bus which was easy enough, they run every half hour from 4am until 12 midnight. Would stay again if getting an early flight.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments, we always love to hear from our guests to ensure we continue to deliver our usual high standards,

I am pleased to see you had a pleasant stay and we look forward to see you again soon,

Kindest Regards,

Chris Whiting
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is without doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, and I have stayed in some stinkers around the world. I thought I would take the wife away for a romantic valentine break. We arrived at the hotel and waited at the counter for 15 minutes while the man and woman behind wandered around doing nothing, we had booked a stay and fly break, which unknown to me meant the car would be parked miles away in the mid stay airport park. The directions to the car park were a flimsy piece of paper thrown across the counter with two tickets for the bus back. we eventually found the car park, and drove to the open area, once there we removed our baggage and went to a bus stop. There we waited for about 20 minutes in the freezing cold, the bus came and took us back to the road outside the hotel which meant we had another 50 yard walk in the cold to the hotel. again ignored at the desk eventually got keys went to room, tiny beds like pool tables so hard. room not nice bathroom damaged tiles. then my wife realised she had left medication in car and so I went back to reception told them what had happened they told me there was NO TRANSPORT BACK TO CAR YOU WILL HAVE TO WALK, and so off I went dark freezing cold, across the motorway access to airport. Hour later got to car retrieved medicine, back to bus stop half an hour bus comes. back to road outside hotel, back to room horrible night's sleep, passed on breakfast scared what would happen by eating. AND TO CAP IT ALL THEY CHARGED US £3 EACH FOR THE SHUTTLE. I have travelled all over the world and stayed at many holiday inns particularly in the usa, in future I will be using marriot or even motel 6. Do not use this hotel you will regret it.

Room Tip: the only advice i can give about a room is pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear doodlebugxxx,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay us. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed here for two nights on business.

This is a very bland hotel that I've stayed in before - it's OK but not exciting. The room I had this time was very warm, the windows don't open and the air conditioning didn't work, but actually heated up rather than cooled the air! I was moved to a different room with no fuss.

Breakfast was advertised as free, i.e. no extra charge, but was a bit basic and has to be the first British hotel I've ever stayed at that served a cooked breakfast without bacon! There were some grim looking scrambled eggs, some tired sausages and baked beans. I asked if there was bacon, hoping that they'd just run out and was told that it isn't offered. The nice woman I spoke to told me that lots of people complain - do the management listen do you think?

The remains of last night's dinner, including a spare rib, was lurking under the breakfast table I sat at (only noticed when I stood on a couple of chips).

Staff were pleasant, but I feel breakfast was a big let down.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear DevonJennywren,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciatiate your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, We’re sorry about the air conditioning and the poor brekafast selection. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport

Address: Thremhall Ave | London Stansted Airport, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 1PY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stansted Mountfitchet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Stansted Mountfitchet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel is ideally located within 5 minutes of the Airport terminal via the hotel transfer bus (small charge applies £3.00 Each way). The hotel is ideally positioned for visits to Newmarket, Cambridge, Bury St.Edmunds, Mildenhall, London Olympic Village, Eurostar Kings Cross and Stratford Terminals. All 254 bedrooms, are equipped with air-conditioning, power shower, tea and coffee making facilities and fully interactive TV system with high speed internet connectivity. The Holiday Inn Express London Stansted Airport offers Meet Smart facilities. Hotel has 6 meeting rooms all with natural daylight, and can accommodate up to 70 delegates in theatre style. Hotel has an Informal style bar lounge with plasma TV's & Sports Bar,showing all of the latest top sports event plus the Great Room including the Rotisserie Restaurant where breakfast & evening meals are served.The Rotisserie restaurant is a new concept at the Hotel where guests can watch the chickens turn golden brown,this includes free salad bowl with all Rotisserie dishes a great vale offering. The Hotel also has on-site parking for up-to 175 cars & is ideally located near Duxford Imperial War Museum and also close to Cambridge & Newmarket. PLEASE NOTE that an overnight parking charge applies for residents of £8.00. Parking is only available to hotel residents whilst staying in the hotel. Park Stay&Go packages are available.Please note! NO BUS TRANSFER during the following times: 12.00 Midnight to 4.00Am,£3 per person each ways payable on the bus applies, children under 16 travel free.All other times every 30 minutes. A limited service operates through Christmas&New Year. A 24hr taxi service is available from the terminal at the cost of approx. 7.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport Hotel Stansted
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.