We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thremhall Ave | London Stansted Airport, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 1PY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The perfect spot to stay over a night on your way home.
The handy location of "Holiday Inn" becomes essential for business travelers like me.
The service is excellent and so is the staff!
Ps. the breakfast is very good as well!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to contact us. I am very pleased to see that you had a lovely stay, and it is wonderful to see our excellent customer service has shined through.

Our complimentary breakfast is available to all guests starting at 4am! We serve continental from this time and add 3 hot favourites from 6.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Chris Whiting
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    481
    347
    125
    78
See reviews for
266
425
114
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is my favourite UK hotel. From top to bottom the whole hotel was very well organised and the staff extremely helpful and friendly. They know what they're doing and are able to cater for different languages in addition to excellent English. It is pretty convenient for Stansted airport, with a cheap or free (I can't remember) shuttle bus between the two.

Accommodation was quiet, clean and everything you'd hope.

The big surprise for me was that on this occasion it worked out cheaper (as well as more convenient for the airport) to stay here the night than to get in to London to stay overnight free at a friend's place, simply because of travel costs. So I'll definitely look to using it again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I am absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your very positive comments relating to our staff to all our team. We pride ourselves on our customer service and I am very pleased to see that you were able to experience and comment on this.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Chris Whiting
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here on business , and chose the hotel due to location and parking.
The check in was great - really friendly staff, with plenty of smiles and conversation. Location wise, the hotel is well placed for the local towns such as Bishops Stortford etc.

The reception area was pleasant, well laid out, with plenty if large chairs to sit in.
The room was tired, in desperate need of a refresh ie new paint and carpets, as both had marks on them . (The carpet was heavily stained)
The car parking costs £8 - I felt that this was rather sneaky , because at the time of booking no mention was made of charges.
Overall if you need a bed the night before a flight then it'll do. For business, well in all honesty I will be going elsewhere, as the room rates aren't significantly cheaper to offset the general air of dilapidation in the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments. We love to hear from our guests to ensure we continue to maintain our usual high standards.

I am delighted to see that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We pride ourselves on our customer service and I'm pleased you were able to experience this.

Being a busy airport hotel we understand that our hotels are often battered by large luggage coming in and out of our rooms. For this reason we complete a refreshment program throughout the year in which our maintenance team touches up those well used areas!

I am sorry that it was not clear at the time of booking regarding our parking charges. This is charged at £8 per night you stay with us and £15 per day while you are not staying within the hotel, of which can be found online.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon,

Chris Whiting
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here last night before leaving out of Stansted Airport the following morning. The hotel was exceptionally clean and quiet. The breakfast was included with the room and consisted of toast, fruit, and yogurt. Would definitely stay here again. The shuttle from the airport cost 3 pounds.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay.

Our complimentary breakfast is available to all guests, free of charge! We serve a continental selection from 4am, and from 6am introduce 3 hot favourites and pastries.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Chris Whiting
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Rather basic food menus, and dinner service was slow and seemed understaffed.

Breakfast was very disappointing, and again slow, with needing to wait for: 1) plates, 2) forks, 3) knives, 4) scrambled eggs, 5) milk

Free wifi in reception area was great! No wifi at all in the bedrooms, which was disappointing as I was on business travel, having to work in a busy bar.

No iron & board in the rooms.
Beds comfy with good pillows.
Shower only, no option for baths.

Only a Mars Bar & bottle of water for Priority Platinum members.
Reception check out was busy and robotic. No-one asked about my stay on check-out

Hotel parking for short business trips recommended.
Shuttle bus to the airport is £3 per adult each way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking to time to comment on your recent stay to our hotel. We do love to hear feedback from our guests, both positive and negative to ensure we continue to maintain our usual high standards.

I have contacted you via Private Message to discuss your comments further,

Thank you for your time,

Chris Whiting
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We booked this for the one night plus Midstay parking deal which worked well and the room was more than adequate. Comfortable and warm and good ensuite etc. We thought the evening meal was a typical 'captive audience' affair - expensive for what it was. The ham on the ham eggs and chips was definitely not hand cut as advertised but otherwise was ok. However, the real disappointment was the breakfast both in terms of the food available and the poor attention given to replenishing supplies and general cleanliness. The milk had run out and the juice glasses had run out and we had to ask for these to be replaced. The much advertised hot buffet turned out to be poor quality sausage, tired scrambled eggs and overheated baked beans. The cold food was limited and poor quality. Also used tables were cleared eventually but not wiped down and some other surfaces were strewn with food bits and not cleaned while we were there. Does not compete with Premier Inn for example.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Joanthanjames,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am delighted that the room accommodations lived up to your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. However, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced because of the breakfast options. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late and left early in the morning the staff were friendly and helpful the hotel clean and efficient. Good bus service to and from the airport. This is a great place to stay for an early morning flight.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We always love to hear from our guests to ensure we continue to maintain our usual high standards.

I am pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Chris Whiting
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport

Address: Thremhall Ave | London Stansted Airport, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 1PY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stansted Mountfitchet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Stansted Mountfitchet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel is ideally located within 5 minutes of the Airport terminal via the hotel transfer bus (small charge applies £3.00 Each way). The hotel is ideally positioned for visits to Newmarket, Cambridge, Bury St.Edmunds, Mildenhall, London Olympic Village, Eurostar Kings Cross and Stratford Terminals. All 254 bedrooms, are equipped with air-conditioning, power shower, tea and coffee making facilities and fully interactive TV system with high speed internet connectivity. The Holiday Inn Express London Stansted Airport offers Meet Smart facilities. Hotel has 6 meeting rooms all with natural daylight, and can accommodate up to 70 delegates in theatre style. Hotel has an Informal style bar lounge with plasma TV's & Sports Bar,showing all of the latest top sports event plus the Great Room including the Rotisserie Restaurant where breakfast & evening meals are served.The Rotisserie restaurant is a new concept at the Hotel where guests can watch the chickens turn golden brown,this includes free salad bowl with all Rotisserie dishes a great vale offering. The Hotel also has on-site parking for up-to 175 cars & is ideally located near Duxford Imperial War Museum and also close to Cambridge & Newmarket. PLEASE NOTE that an overnight parking charge applies for residents of £8.00. Parking is only available to hotel residents whilst staying in the hotel. Park Stay&Go packages are available.Please note! NO BUS TRANSFER during the following times: 12.00 Midnight to 4.00Am,£3 per person each ways payable on the bus applies, children under 16 travel free.All other times every 30 minutes. A limited service operates through Christmas&New Year. A 24hr taxi service is available from the terminal at the cost of approx. 7.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, BookIt.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport Hotel Stansted
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.