We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel. Filini restaurant shockingly bad and over priced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waltham Close, London Stansted Airport, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 1PP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel. Filini restaurant shockingly bad and over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel and great location I do think however maybe a little more quality on in room amenities. We also made a big mistake and dined in Filini, waiter got mixed up even though we were very clear and then as we were eating a little group of staff were stood behind the greenery and talking about it and making us very uncomfortable, also they didn't wait for one of the diners to finish before clearing away, very rude. automatically put on a service charge which clearly is wrong. So personally I wouldn't use this restaurant ever again.
On the plus side the concierge Albert is wonderful very friendly and helpful always is whenever we have stayed here. Lovely reception staff .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Radisson, Food & Beverage Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel; your feedback is greatly appreciated. I will be conducting a thorough investigation into what happened during your meal.

This sort of behaviour is highly irregular and I am truly sorry for how our restaurant team made you feel. Hotel restaurants do usually carry a service charge, but on this occasion, I can totally appreciate this was inappropriate. I trust that the food you ate was to our usual high standards.

I am glad I was able to hear the views of some of our regular guests – we all appreciate the loyalty you offer our hotel and it is lovely to find such high praise of Albert and our Front of House team. I assure you that your next experience here will restore complete faith in our four star property.

Kind regards,
Sazid Raz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    1,053
    321
    108
    58
See reviews for
420
965
232
643
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is the only hotel at Stansted that is connected to the terminal. It takes about 5 minutes, under a covered walkway and then up the ramp from the short stay car park to get into the terminal. We had valet parking with them as well which was great value and really easy to use. The bar service was a bit hit and miss, they didn't have any nibbles other than peanuts (no crisps) and they got our food order wrong but they were very apologetic and the service was good other than that. The rooms are starting to look a little dated, I remember a few years back it looked very modern and up to date but perhaps a little face lift wouldn't hurt now! That being said, everything was clean and tidy and we got a good nights sleep without much noise from elsewhere. Check out was quick and easy, important when you have a flight to catch. We would certainly use this hotel again when flying from Stansted, I do wonder if there was more competition in terms of another connecting hotel to the terminal if they would raise their game even more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Radisson, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
This was a very honest appraisal of our operation here and feedback from loyal patrons is very important for the future progress of the hotel. Service in the Angels’ Wine Tower Bar is normally very precise, I am glad we managed to recover your food order. We normally serve parsnip crisps within our menus, but perhaps this type of snack should be given higher consideration.

Stansted Airport brings with it a very dynamic environment, our property was launched in brilliant fashion, I am sure you will find our hotel will be kept ahead of our competition. Thanks for pledging your allegiance, please keep following our progress.

Kind regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stopped overnight ready to meet our daughter on an early morning flight. The hotel was ideal for this being directly connected to the terminal building by a covered passageway. Hotel was easy to find and parking straight forward, although this does cost £10. The hotel is very modern with a boutique style to it. The room was well furnished and clean. A good choice of places to eat in the hotel but all of them overpriced for what is nothing very special. I had burger and chips £13,95 for example. On the whole the stay was exactly what we needed for our purposes but let down by one thing. One of the beds had a mattress on it that was in a terrible state of repair. Springs were sticking through it at points, it had various lumps and creases and as result impossible to sleep comfortably on it. I would have been disappointed in the lowliest of hotels, not really acceptable at the prices being charged here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Radisson, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I appreciate you sending us this feedback. We do offer a great range of eateries with an American steakhouse, a contemporary Italian restaurant and the eye-catching Angels’ Wine Tower Bar – serving great meals (with an evening bites menu for smaller appetites). We have priced our menus and parking competitively with our nearest hotels and offer great value for London.

Your stay does seem to have been severely interrupted by the mattress used in your bedroom. Our beds are normally hugely admired, but I appreciate your situation was totally unacceptable. I would be grateful if you would contact me further about this using Daniel.Saunders@radissonblu.com

Kind regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

When staying at an Airport its usually because oif an early departure and this was so in our case. Having stayed here before wew knew what to expect and were not disappointed. A leisurely uneventful drive down with a lunch stop to park our car and a pleasant meal before early departure the following day.
Entertainment via the "Flying Angels" always raises a smile from all in reception/bar area.
Parked car in mid stay car park and caught transfer bus to Terminal - signage is not great (follow TAXI signs to opposite end of Terminal then a small Hotel Logo appears) exit via a series on connected tunnels/shelters to Hotel next door. As it was raining this was appreciated especially wheeling cases.
Reception prompt and efficient both in checking in and the following morning on check out - be aware just looking in the mini bar may jog and register a purchase so check your bill carefully. It happend to us and items were removed from our bill ok.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Radisson, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
It was great to hear from some true fans of our hotel. Everything seems to have gone very smoothly – when you are travelling it is great to be able to stay somewhere a bit special and have a relaxing meal together.

We should perhaps review our current signage and just make sure we can be found easily from every direction. I am delighted that our Front of House team provided such excellent service. I hope you are planning another exciting adventure soon!

Kind regards,
Susan Horazek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here because we had a 6am flight so being a 5 minute walk from the terminal made it worth every penny. Was able to leave the car here for the duration of our trip, included in the price and it's easy to get to and from the motorway.
The hotel itself was modern and pleasant enough with a good Spa and gym for customer use. The restarant was good but expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Radisson, Food & Beverage Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thanks for leaving your comments; it was a pleasure to find out how much you had enjoyed our hotel. Any research on Stansted Airport will show you how accessible our hotel is and with 200 car parking spaces – available to book with your room – we are the perfect partner for flight reservations.

Our hotel is still very new and elegantly furnished – great that it had such an impression on you. I am delighted that your choice of restaurant made for a great meal – we do feel we are competitively priced to rivals and city centre London.

Kind regards,
Sazid Raz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is a walk away from the terminal at Stansted Airport - it offers cosy rooms and sumptuous facilities. Any issues - well parking is supposed to be £10 per night but looks like the hotel is getting greedy and a private parking firm is taking over this - and doubling the charges to £18 for a nights parking.

My advice here is if you are overnighting before you fly leave your car at Audley End station and catch the train to the airport... its cheaper! If you have a park and stay rate you should not be affected!

Food is well priced and you will not be fleeced - try and get a B&B rate if you can as £17.95 is a tad expensive for a breakfast ...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Radisson, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
I have already had the opportunity to write to you and I am glad I was able to resolve the parking confusion and arrange a refund of your £18.00 charge.

For the many followers of this page: I am in the process of updating the signage directing hotel residents who have parked, to provide their registration details with reception. I realise this does need to be much more visible. In terms of the parking rates displayed at the entrance to our car park, these are for non-residents and conference delegates. These have always been displayed on a large sign and the prices have not changed.

I do hope you will be able to spend time in our hotel again, we remain a brilliant four star retreat, before or after any journey.

Kind regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here 3 times now and have enjoyed every stay, staff efficent and helpful. food above average. beds very comfortable. the top floor has some over heating issues as the windows are sealed and the air con barely copes.

watching the wine angels fly up the wine tower makes a conversation point!

best of all, just walk into the terminal the next morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Radisson, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
I am delighted to hear from such an avid fan of our hotel. You have rated us very highly and I trust this is a reflection of all of your previous stays. It was great to hear our staff have been so helpful during recent visits – we always ensure that everyone has exactly what they need (we know that sometimes time is precious).

I am aware of this temperature situation and I assure you this matter will be resolved very soon. You gave us five stars for sleep quality, so you must have had a great night’s sleep.

Easyjet recently added three new routes from Stansted Airport (including Marrakech and Sofia), so the reasons for staying here are evolving all the time. We really appreciate the loyalty you have shown us and look forward to hosting your next trip.

Kind regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport

Address: Waltham Close, London Stansted Airport, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stansted Mountfitchet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Stansted Mountfitchet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HotelTravel.com, Rezidor, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Stansted
Stansted Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.