We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Linden House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Linden House to your Saves list
Linden House
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   1-3 Silver Street, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 8HA , England   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The linden house is described as a guest house but I have never stayed at a guest house like it. We arrived to be greeted with such warm hospitality and a beautiful room. We weren't eating there but having seen the restaurant I would have loved to have. Breakfast was fantastic too with a lovely buffet plus choice of cooked and personable staff. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    30
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
58
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Purley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Our party of nine adults and two young children attended a family Sunday lunch here. We found the food to be excellent and of good proportions.

However, although we were given the menus in the bar beforehand and we were shown to our table, we did have to wait a further 10 minutes or so before the maitre d' took our order, even though the restaurant wasn't overly busy when were seated. We had two young children (2 year olds) with us and they were starting to get slightly restless because they were hungry and we had to attract the attention of a waiter to order the childrens food first before the maitre d' appeared to take the adults orders. Although we weren't in a hurry, having two restless and hungry children was slightly unsettling. Would we return. Yes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I came and stayed here for a weekend with my boyfriend, first impressions were amazing, loved the style and decor of the hotel and the staff were very attentive.
We ate in the restaurant and had the Chateaubriand, it was absolutely amazing, the best meal I've had in a restaurant, well worth the money spent.
We stayed in a Classic room and again this was lovely, decorated really well and to a high standard, cleanliness was impeccable and all the amenities you would want....including an I Pod dock which I loved! The Bathroom was very luxurious, with robes supplied and the best shower i have ever taken, it was absolutely huge!! And then comes the best bit.... the bed!! Oh my god, i didn't want to leave it once i'd got in, the pillows were like sleeping on marshmallows... best nights sleep ever.
I would defiantly recommend the hotel for an overnight stay or just eat in the restaurant, I will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Had a very relaxing "ladies that lunch" yesterday - restaurant ticked all the boxes for us. The staff were attentive - food excellent and although it was a Monday - it was fairly busy so had a pleasant ambience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Had a lovely time at linden house, the food was majestic and the staff were approachable and helpful with everything they had to deal with. The rooms were also very comfortable and I had one of the best nights sleep in a long time. Will definitely be suggesting here to my friends.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had decided this year to take our staff to Linden House for our Christmas Meal. The setting for this was superb and I must comment that the staff and service was superb. In addition several of our staff stayed overnight and commented that the attention to detail within the rooms was excellent.
I am a great believer in service and good food, and Linden House ticked all of the boxes. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Splashed out on LINDEN HOUSE for my husband's birthday and was not disappointed. We arrived about 30 minutes early so we just sat and people watched with a nice glass of wine .This was an evening to remember very attentive staff wonderful food. Room was comfortable and in a great location. Pure luxury and a great service.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Linden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden House

Address: 1-3 Silver Street, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 8HA , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stansted Mountfitchet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stansted Mountfitchet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Linden House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Linden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden House Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.