We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My best friends wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Linden House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Linden House to your Saves list
Linden House
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   1-3 Silver Street, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 8HA , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“My best friends wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I recently attended a wedding at this venew and I could not fault it! Food room and service all 1st class!!!! I think this small hotel is really good value and I would recommend it to anyone for business or pleasure

Room Tip: Room six lovely four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    30
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
59
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from this perfect little hotel. He booked us in for a 2 night break as a surprise for my birthday. It was beautiful, the room was cosy but gorgeous. The bed was very comfy and the drench shower in the en-suite was very invigorating. We ate our evening meals in the dining room and the food definitely has the wow factor. The food was presented perfect and it was exquisite. The breakfast was served very hot and set us up for the day. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Will definitely be going back,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was an amazing little find! It definitely deserves a 5 star rating! The customer service was outstanding as was the dinner. This is definitely a hotel worth trying out! Wonderful to find somewhere that has such character but also with all the facilities you need. The room was exceptional and the decor and situation was very conducive to a good night's sleep. An amazing experience and definitely a place I would go back to. Worth every penny!!!!

Room Tip: Definitely worth the dining experience - the restaurant - service and quality were superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We went to Linden House for our 1st date and went back for our year anniversary last Friday . It's still the same wonderful food and fantastic service .
You are made welcome as soon as you walk in , very nice decor , attentive and happy staff who know their stuff.
All in all a wonderful experience and definitely recommend .

Paul and Marie

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Church Langley, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We spent the night at Linden House last night as a treat in this cold winter weather. It had been recommended and we were not disappointed. A warm welcome from the moment we arrived. Our room (4) was delightful. The only slight disappointment was not being able to get into the bar for a pre dinner drink as it was full....... a testament to its poularity I suspect. The food at dinner and breakfast was delicious and served by efficient, friendly staff. All followed by a perfect nights sleep. Highly recommended

Room Tip: I am sure all are equally as good but we chose room 4 which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

On arrival the staff were very attentive, taking coats and drink orders. Decor was a mixture of traditional and modern. The starters arrived within 15 mins and were executed perfectly. The main courses were just the same. After our meal we sat in the bar for extra drinks - perfect.
We will definatly return shortly.
The week before we tried The Square Restaurant in Great Dunmow - no way could you compare it for service, ambience and table decor and price. Linden House every time - a proper restaurant not knifes and forks wrapped up in paper napkins . Thanks for a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. The room was very well maintained and pure luxury. The restaurant served wonderful food and wine with very polite and courteous staff. Nothing was too much for anyone. The shower was perfect and the bath was perfect too, I tried them both. We would not hesitate to send all the friends we know here for a pleasant and relaxing time. Only downside is the parking. There is no parking. You can park free overnight in the pay and display 2 minutes across the road but you need to start displaying a ticket by 8am other than that 10/10
Thank you Jenny and Mark Abbott

Room Tip: Great Stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Linden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden House

Address: 1-3 Silver Street, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 8HA , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stansted Mountfitchet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stansted Mountfitchet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Linden House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Linden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden House Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.