We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Linden House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Linden House to your Saves list
Linden House
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   1-3 Silver Street, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 8HA , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

On arrival the staff were very attentive, taking coats and drink orders. Decor was a mixture of traditional and modern. The starters arrived within 15 mins and were executed perfectly. The main courses were just the same. After our meal we sat in the bar for extra drinks - perfect.
We will definatly return shortly.
The week before we tried The Square Restaurant in Great Dunmow - no way could you compare it for service, ambience and table decor and price. Linden House every time - a proper restaurant not knifes and forks wrapped up in paper napkins . Thanks for a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    35
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
16
66
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. The room was very well maintained and pure luxury. The restaurant served wonderful food and wine with very polite and courteous staff. Nothing was too much for anyone. The shower was perfect and the bath was perfect too, I tried them both. We would not hesitate to send all the friends we know here for a pleasant and relaxing time. Only downside is the parking. There is no parking. You can park free overnight in the pay and display 2 minutes across the road but you need to start displaying a ticket by 8am other than that 10/10
Thank you Jenny and Mark Abbott

Room Tip: Great Stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband booked us in for a 1 night stay for my birthday which also happened to be 'Burns Night' we stayed in Room 3 which he was assured by a member of staff was the most popular room. It was a lovely looking room with stunning decoration and features, however the noise from the busy road just outside the window was noticeable but we asumed it would lessen as the evening went on.
Anyway we quickly changed for the evening and went downstairs as we were booked in for Burns night meal & entertainment......after checking the menu for the evenings meal, it was apparent i would not eat the majority of the food so spoke to the Maitre D who discreetly offered me alternatives from the usual menu.
The food was a great standard, the staff were very attentive and nothing appeared too much.
However during coffee we were asked that as the band was due to start shortly then when we had finished could we move into the bar as the table we were on needed to be moved to make way for the dance floor.....This meant we had no option but to sit at the bar, which means we were we were unable to see the band or dancing and as the place was so packed we were conscious that if we did leave our seats then they would probably be taken. This left us feeling unable to enjoy the entertainment and we retired to our room at around 11:30pm.
In the room the band noise was so loud that we turned the TV up to drown out the noise and assumed it would stop at midnight....The room was also stiflingly hot as when shown to our room the staff member turned both radiators high to warm the room and dispite turning 1 off and 1 down before heading to dinner the room still felt too warm.
At 12:20 with the music still playing loudly i attempted to find the reception number (unable to find the usual Hotel Info pack) and saw Bar 202 on the telephone, i dialled and waited for some time with the phone ringing until the song stopped and the bartender was able to hear the phone and answer my call, i asked what time the music would be finishing as it was so loud and was advised that it was normally at 1am but would be shortly.....The music did continue for a little while but then ceased as promised just after 12:30, which then resulted in the usual noise of people chatting, doors banging, laughter etc.....and of course still ongoing noise from the traffic meant i eventually got to sleep at around 1am.
I then awoke at 3am as the room was still so hot, as there were 2 glasses in the room i attempted to look for some water but as i could not find this or the Hotel Info pack i just double checked the radiators were off and resigned myself to drinking the tap water!!! I also checked for air conditioning as this in meant to be a 5 star establishment, i would have thought this as being a standard feature, but there was none.
In the morning in the clear light i checked again for the Hotel info pack which i found framed on the wall by the bedroom (unusual place) this then explained the fridge was in the hallway and contained the milk & water....why did the staff member simply not explain this when showing us the room??
Also after having a bath i avoided washing my hair as it stated a hairdryer would need to be requested and i really did not want to bother the staff....why is this not availble as standard in a supposedly '5 star hotel'?
I must say that breakfast was very nice and the lady server was lovely as was the head Chef Tony Martin.....The only dissapointment here was that only 1 newspaper was available and was being read by 2 other guests who i presume were the only others staying in the hotel?
To sum this up, i would say i am not a light sleeper and usually sleep like a log, but the noise from traffic which did continue all night was like sleeping on the A10 hard shoulder.
Also i have stayed in many good, average and outstanding hotels and due to the lack of sleep really i should of scored this a 2 (Poor rating) the price we paid for the 1 night stay was way over what it is worth and if i were to recommend this place i would say stay in a room over the back away from the road traffic noise, to ask if the room has windows that open (please remember this is winter with snow outside, so no idea how stuffy it would be in the summer!) bring a hairdryer and get your water/milk from the communal fridge in the corridor before going to bed!!

Room Tip: Room 3 is on a busy, noisy road....Avoid!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFos11, Owner at Linden House, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Further to our various communications with you by both telephone and email, we would like to reiterate how disheartening it is for us when guests don’t give us the chance to respond to feedback before posting their comments on an open forum. Given that your review relates to a stay on Friday 25th January and we contacted you by telephone at 8.40am on Monday 28th January to discuss your complaint, we feel slightly aggrieved that you have chosen to take this course of action. As per your email of 28/01/13 where you state “The Trip Advisor review was posted as i knew this would get a response” we can only conclude that this is yet another example of Tripadvisor being used completely inappropriately in order to hold hospitality providers “to ransom”.

Whilst we have made every effort to respond to each and every grievance you have raised (some entirely unjustified in our opinion) and offered you more than generous recompense as a gesture of goodwill for any inconvenience caused, we accept that on this occasion, we are unlikely to gratify you. Our staff continue to work extremely hard to exceed our guests expectations and our goal is always to please all of the people, all of the time, however, we realise this is not always possible.

Yours sincerely

The team at Linden House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We joined the lovely Linden House family for Burns night and was completely blown away by the impeccable service and kindness we were shown. The staff remember EVERYTHING and are so welcoming, happy and totally at your service (a big shout out to Terri who made our breakfast the best toomanyglassesofredwine cure!), and the food was beyond delicious, cooked by the amazing Tony and his crew.
And our room........ Well, when do we move in! 5 star quality. It was gorgeous with the best shower and delectable selection of toiletries.
A HUGE thank you to the wonderful Carl and Sarah for their exceedingly kind, warm, hilarious hospitality. I have the most wonderful blisters as a reminder of the best Burns night.

Room Tip: There isn't a tip as I want to stay in all of them! Great excuse to keep going back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Room was fantastic with all facilities being top notch. The staff were very helpful indeed. We had the house special dinner on our 2nd night, what a good decision that was. Best value and the food was great.
Liked the attitude of the staff in the bar which had locals drinking there which tells you that the atmosphere was everything it should be. The staff also helped us choose where we should visit in the locality. A great stay at a great hotel. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Go to this hotel you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I recently returned to the UK to visit family and friends and spent an evening at Linden House as it was conveniently located to catch up with people.
I can confidently say that I will return when I next fly to the UK as I left feeling well rested, well fed and well looked after.
The room that I stayed in was fabulously decorated, and comfortable. I loved the idea to put a clothes rail on the wall instead of a wardrobe, which can occupy quite a lot of space - genius.
The food was fantastic. Both myself and my partner enjoyed the food and we ate there twice (Saturday evening and then again for Sunday lunch with friends before checking out). My friends who joined me for lunch also thoroughly enjoyed themselves and will be popping back without me!
The staff are very friendly and made us feel welcome. The service was spot on!
I congratulate those responsible for making Linden House was it is!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Bardfield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

What a great night. Staff were excellent and the food first class. We stayed overnight and the room was beyond our expectations. The attention to detail is mind blowing. Can't wait to go back.

Gerry and Carol

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Linden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden House

Address: 1-3 Silver Street, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 8HA , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stansted Mountfitchet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stansted Mountfitchet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Linden House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Linden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden House Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.