We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Linden House Restaurant

Linden House Restaurant
1-3 Silver Street, Stansted Mountfitchet CM248HA, England
01279-81-30-03
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Linden House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Larne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
399 reviews 399 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed ovenight at Stansted airport but wanted somewhere to have a special meal rather than the airport hotel. This was chosen due to the high marks on Tripadvisor and no wonder it has so many.
All 3 courses were excellent and the service first rate.Lots of attention from the staff but nobody was 'in our face' so to speak. Just the right attitude.
Special mention should be made of the starter of chilli crab linguine which was wonderful and I only regret not chosing this for a main course. Nothing wrong with my main though nor the dessert but if you dine here and chilli crab linguine is on the menu order it!! Nice background music just at the right level and not too loud. A comfortable temperature and well spaced tables.
Superb.

Congratulations to everyone in the kitchen, maitre d'hotel and the waitresses. If I am back this way I will make a beeline for this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    37
    20
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Something Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you are searching for that special eating house with rooms then Linden House fits that criteria! The food is excellent as is the service. The restaurant is tastefully decorated as well as being quite unique and there is a live piano playing in the background which all adds to an extremely fine experience

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaxted, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good Eating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

have eaten here a few times. food is fabulous. portion could be a bit larger. fish night is great.
3 courses with wine is not cheap but is worth every pound spent.
service is good.planning to go again next week that will be my 4th time this year.
can totally recommended this restaurtant if you like nice food

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No car park”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

No car park, felt like walking into back of average pub. Not sure where it gets its 5 star rating. Manager very rude, with threatening manner. Very un helpful with wife who is 8 months pregnant. Told her a pay and display car park was only a few minutes down the road.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Brunch Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

A tad strange that you have to park in the library car park across the road - but hey ho.
we picked a nice sunny table in the court yard.
i had Eggs Benedict, the eggs were perfectly cooked and coated with nice light hoolandaise with the correct degree of piquantness from the shallot reduction.
My wife had the scrambled eggs with chorizo - wasnt smooth, silky and soft but more hard and rubbery - shame.
nice coffee and very attentive, polite and helpful staff.
Nice decor, will return to try the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah F, Owner at Linden House Restaurant, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your brunch at Linden House and I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

As always, your comments on the food have been passed to the kitchen.

Regarding the parking, we don’t have parking on site due to a planning condition set by the local council but given that the nearest public car park is immediately across the road, it isn’t too much of a hassle for our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linden House Restaurant also viewed

Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
 
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
 

Been to Linden House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linden House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.