We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot, right next to the water” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Du Moulin Marin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Auberge Du Moulin Marin to your Saves list
Auberge Du Moulin Marin
Le Moulin Marin, 03120 Lapalisse, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Lapalisse B&B and Inns
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Perfect spot, right next to the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The couple who run this hotel are lovely, and they work hard. At reception when you arrive, then in the dining room at night. Our room was immaculate, part of a newly renovated wing, with a lovely outdoors area that was close to the river (Wire-fenced off, so safe for children!). Tables and chairs outside - wished we could have stayed longer than our 1 night, but we'll come back .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Modiin
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were in the area to attend a wedding and spent 4 nights at this comfortable unpretentious "motel". The rooms were well sized and very clean. In the interest of economy 3 of us shared a mezzanine room. We were assigned room number 6 which faced the road, had no outside sitting area and had a spiral staircase to the upper level. It was difficult to negotiate the spiral staircase/ I noticed that room number 7 had a straight staircase to the upper level, faced the river and had sliding glass doors to reach the patio area just outside the room equipped with chairs and small table.
An adequate buffet breakfast was set up in the lobby/reception area. Management graciously accommodated my request to only have coffee with my friends since I generally do not eat breakfast and adjusted the price accordingly.
We dined at the restaurant one evening. The food was nicely prepared and served.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the river. If more than 2 in the room request room # 7 or other with straight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is a mixture of old and modern. The restaurant is in an old converted flour mill whilst across the courtyard is the modern two story accomodation. The rooms were very clean, have all the amenities that you need including tea/coffee maker and with separate w/c and shower room.The hotel is situated next to the river Bibre which has a separate weir for the mill. The food in the restaurant was typical French with lots of flair and choice. Good standard but just a bit pricey. Breakfast was in the modern block and was very good and good value. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. Parking on site is free. If travelling through France either north or south it is a good choice for an overnight stay but beware it is 30 miles from the motorway exit.
Not much to see around the hotel apart from a fishing lake but a good supermarket to buy provisions and cheap fuel at the on site petrol station. Good for family and couples of any age.
There was a spa at the hotel but as we did not see it or use we can't pass comment. We rated it highly for our needs and would go again. Free WiFi worked very well too.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river were best and had "french" windows allowing you to step outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseillan, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had planned a stop enroute to the south of France. It was chosen as a country location that would be quiet. It satisfied that requirement. It was a little difficult to find as TomTom for some reason had it in the middle of Lapalisse. Once that was sorted it was easy. It is clean, comfortable and quiet. The food at dinner was fine. All in all an excellent over night stop

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Du Moulin Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Du Moulin Marin

Address: Le Moulin Marin, 03120 Lapalisse, France
Location: France > Auvergne > Allier > Lapalisse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lapalisse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Auberge Du Moulin Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Du Moulin Marin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.