We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and friendly service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson Stops Country Inn

Jackson Stops Country Inn
Rookery Lane, Stretton LE15 7RA, England
+44 1780 410237
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Stretton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a family run country inn , providing excellent food and friendly relaxed service in comfortable surroundings using fresh local produce wherever possible, from lighter bites to full a la carte. Michelin recommended. Children's menu always available, Dog friendly in bar area
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

A friendly venue with a fascinating layout as several different rooms make up the restaurant. While our table was in a well lit and spacious room some other areas seemed to have a wee bit less elbow room. I was part of a large family group for Sunday lunch, and can honestly say that we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals. The pot of mushrooms in cream sauce starter was excellent and the roast beef - chosen by 7 out of 8 of our group, so not much spirit of adventure there - was also very good while the service was friendly and efficient. The only slight let down for me was that the water, delivered in a posh pop-top bottle, came straight from the tap. I suppose this could be offset by the fact that hot water was available in the toilets - too many venues fail that basic hygiene test.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    26
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CAMBRIDGE
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch . Mushrooms and bacon in a cream sauce to start , beautiful roast beef for main . Not enough roast potatoes for my liking !
Wine list is ok though a little overpriced . Beautiful pub though . Very good though there is room for improvement . Recommended though !

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“good food good value for money lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The staff are really friendly and the food was excellent They have a set menu for a set amount and you can have starter and main, or main and pud, it is lovely and plenty toeat

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have just got back from an excellent meal at the Jackson stop stretton.
Service - from all that served us was excellent nothing to much trouble.
Food was excellent I ordered a side salad and to be honest I did not need it as there was more than enough on my plate in fact we couldn't fit in a dessert.

As this was a special occasion my birthday and 38th wedding anniversary we were not disappointed will be going back again soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for a fancy lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Wonderful inn serving fantastic food. It's not massively cheap (they do a three-course lunch menu for around £17.00) but the food is well worth the money.

Lovely setting in a sprawling little pub with loads of rooms. Service is always polite and fast and the food is top notch. Past favourites have included pies (massive - neither me nor my other half managed to finish it!), lovely Pate starter, creme brulee, all sorts!

They also sell gift vouchers which we've bought for family for Christmas presents, we like it that much!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson Stops Country Inn also viewed

 

Been to Jackson Stops Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson Stops Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.