We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Normanton LE15 8RP, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Normanton
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We visited to use our groupon voucher we had purchased.the hotel is set in a very beautiful location and very easy to locate with some very nice views.the afternoon tea was your typical afternoon tea the food was what I would call standard not bad but not amazing except for the scones which really stood out(yummy).the only slight niggle I have which stopped me giving it a five star review was we were not offered a refill for our hot drinks at any time especially with the very small cups the drinks were served in or asked if everything was ok with the food.i would recommend this hotel and would go again if in the region.

Room Tip: Try to go when the weather is nice to take advantage of the local walks
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    89
    71
    40
    24
See reviews for
55
159
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We went there for a wedding celebration, the small church near the hotel is charming, the organization and the meals were very good, the staff polite and helpfull. However the rooms were not properly clean, lots of bugs everywhere (dead and alive) the matress was horrible and I had a spring poking out of the covers. We were located on the courtyard on one of the family rooms and we could hear everything that our neighbours did when using the toilets. Breakfast could have been better as most things were overcooked.

Room Tip: Avoid the courtyard even if you have children, the main rooms facing the water were better rated by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We went on a Groupon visit, it was poor to say the least. We were shown into a room that was set out for evening meals, but with just one table to have tea at. This was in a corner, with no views out of the windows, so we could not see Rutland Water.

We were brought a plate of just four small sandwiches each, and few bits of cake and two scones.

The sandwiches were cheese and pickle, tuna and cucumber, ham and roast beef.

The scones were supposed to be cream, but they gave us two little portions of strawberry jam and one scoop of clotted cream, no butter.

The coffee was so strong that I had to send it back, and ask for some that was weaker.

Considering we had travelled 44 miles for this, it was a very poor advert for their afternoon teas.

We were left on our own, and my husband had to go looking for someone to tell them about the coffee.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Normanton hotels

Rabat, null, Malta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I booked this Hotel for a short break with my 83 yr old Mum, it is a gorgeous location and very calming for a quality stay, I loved the area. I had requested a ground floor especially because of Mum which had to be changed as they selected an upper floor, I appreciate all requests as subject to availability but I was also informed the hotel is wheelchair friendly which i would disagree as its very difficult to push a wheelchair over gravel and for elderly the court yards flag stone can get very slippery when wet and are uneven.On a final note the service was not consistent as one would expect for a BW some of the younger foreign staff struggled to understand accented english. Food was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppingham Rutland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It was a lovely day, we sat outside with our dogs, and ordered from the lunch menu. But before our food arrived we noticed there was live maggots in the vinegar. So we mention it to a member of staff but had no response, not even an apology. Not long after our food arrived it started pouring with rain. We all retreated inside as the staff collected the food. As we had the dogs we waited just inside the door. No member of staff came to check if we were ok and what we would like to do about our food. Yet when we complained they still expected us to pay full the price, even though we hadnt eaten any. I find the service very poor and will not be returning.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
682 reviews 682 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
551 helpful votes 551 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had a Groupon voucher for an Afternoon tea and cant wait for another offer to appear. The location is superb, on the south shore of rutland water and if you sit out in the garden at the back of the hotel the view is magnificant, you look all the way down to the water. The tea itself was good, pot of tea, 4 types of fillings for the sandwiches, 4 types of cakes and a scone with cream and jam it was enough for anyone. Had a chance to have a quick look around the hotel, it needs a bit of tlc, some of the decor needs updating but the location of the hotel out weighs that. Would certainly visit here again and if you are doing the walk around rutland it is a great place to stop off for some refreshment and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I took advantage of a Groupon offer to treat my friend to afternoon for her birthday. I should have known better - there really was no effort made with this at all. As the other reviewer stated it wasn't even worth the Groupon price we paid. Would have done better to have gone for a tea and scone elsewhere. The location is wonderful and we took advantage of that, walking around Rutland water. You would have thought they would pull the stops out if they are doing these Groupon offers to encourage you to come back, in effect they have done just the opposite. The staff were friendly, it was just the content of the 'afternoon tea' that left a lot to be desired. The cake (of which there were 7 small pieces) looked like a brought fruit loaf that had been sliced and then cut through again, this filled the second tier plate. The scones were good though. Sandwiches ok, but not ultra fresh and the fillings mundane. No hot water brought with the tea. That is surely a necessity with afternoon tea? Such a shame.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel

Address: Normanton LE15 8RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Normanton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Normanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel is situated in the picturesque county of Rutland, Leicestershire. Standing majestically next to the shores of Rutland Water, only 8 miles from the market town of Oakham, it offers easy access from the A1 and M1. This is the perfect venue for your leisure break, all your functions, meetings and events. The hotel is close to business centres and local attractions including the Great Hall of Oakham Castle, Rockingham Racetrack, Burghley House and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oakham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.