We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel by Rutland Water” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Normanton LE15 8RP, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Normanton
Peterborough
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A jewel by Rutland Water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent 2 nights here, in an executive room, overlooking Rutland Water. Normanton Church was only a few hundred metres away.

The view was stunning but may be more restricted in the summer, when the trees in front have more leaves on them.

The room was very comfortable, with a jaccuzzi and a Japanese toilet/bidet in one! - An interesting experience to say the least!!!

We also stayed for the Valentines meal on the Saturday - my steak was one of the most tender and tasty that I have had in a LONG time. The 5 course set meal was well worth the price.

The bar only had the usual fizzy pop on the pumps, BUT bottled 'Real Ale' was available - you just had to ask for it, as it was not obviously on display.

The whole stay was a delight, in a very smart hotel, with great views and confortable rooms and good food. It certainly hit the mark for us both. We will certainly return!!!!

Room Tip: Worth getting a room with the view over Rutland Water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    79
    59
    38
    23
See reviews for
47
145
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed two nights here and would return. There were a few small niggles, but they were resolved, but here they are for reference. After I booked I emailed the hotel and asked if I could upgrade to a room with a lake view. I was assured a lake view room was booked for us. When booked in we were given a standard room, and the receptionist did not know what basis we were booked under. He said he didn't have a lake view room, but when we said that wasn't good enough he said he would shuffle a few rooms around and we were given an appropriate room. The teapot in the room had some cold tea & teabag still in it from a previous occupant so we asked for that to be removed and replaced. The hot water was not reliable. After I had a bath my husband could not get any hot water. We reported that and in a short while hot water was restored. A member of staff visited the room and said we had not run it for long enough. Actually my husband had run almost a full bath as it never occurred to us that a hotel would not have constant hot water. The receptionist said it was because everyone was having a bath at the same time! However all problems were resolved and we enjoyed our stay. The room was nice, the view lovely, and food very good. We had full English breakfast, and although it was buffet style it was good quality, plentiful and hot. Staff were on hand to help if necessary. Bar food in the evening was very good.

Room Tip: If you can, pay the extra £10 per night for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a wonderful stay with a beautiful room overlooking Rutland Water. The Celebration dinner in the evening was beautiful and the the staff were attentive and most helpful. It was a lovely evening and we would highly recommend the hotel for any celebration event

Room Tip: We had the Stamford Room and it was lovely, overlooking Rutland Water
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbeach, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed with my partner (& very excited terrier) overnight and enjoyed 48 hours of winter sunshine on the banks of Rutland water.

I will try to be as objective as possible with the review, as although we had a great time, the hotel does, I feel, need some TLC. Before arrival I emailed to see if they had any lakeview rooms available, as this would have been a nice touch. They did and offered to upgrade us free of charge. Unfortunately, when they found out about our dog, we couldn't have one. But they did offer, so well done.

The room we had was fine, in a courtyard setting and only 10 metres from the carpark. The room amenities were fine, but it was a little dirty. Carpet not well hoovered, dusty furniture and just not presented that well. We didn't mind as we intended to walk, not stay inside.

We walked for a few hours and returned to the hotel for a light snack at 3.30ish, as we had a table booked for 8pm in the restaurant. We asked for a menu 3 times before the sole member of staff came back and stated that lunch had finished and we could have cake with afternoon tea. This we felt was a little poor. We only wanted a sandwich or soup. We drove to Stamford and spent our pennies elsewhere.

The evening meal was faultless, in terms of the quality and service, so thankyou. However we then retired to the bar, in front of the cozy fire and waited for 10 minutes for somebody to hopefully take our post-dinner tea and coffee order.... Nobody came, despite 6 other people also waiting in the bar, so we went back to the room and made one ourself.

Breakfast was lovely and set us up fine for a 4 hour walk around part of the south shore.

So, despite having a lovely time, I can't help but thinking that a couple of minor tweaks would have made it perfect. Plus the hotel would make some more money in ancilliary purchases that we tried to make, but couldn't. The Best Western Mountpleasant near Doncaster is a perfect example of doing everything, including the little things right.

We may stay again as the location is wonderful and the restaurant great, however we had a better 'hotel' experience at Barsdale Hall on the north shore of Rutland.

Room Tip: We stayed in Whitwell, which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I cannot understand how anyone could complain about this hotel,we had a small problem with noisey neighbours (not the hotels fault) they were fantastic in allowing us to move rooms, the views, the food, the staff the whole weekend was amazing we have booked to go back in the summer, highly recomended :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed for one night on a business trip. Company booked and paid the room, corporate rate was very good. Room was freezing on arrival at 5pm. Would have been easy enough to put the heating on low knowing that the room was allocated. Dinner was excellent if the service was a little slow. Breakfast was buffet which was a bit disappointing. Have stayed here before on a few occasions and this is the first that I''ve had anything to moan about. Will come back again, just hope that the room is a bit warmer.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our son and daughter in law got married here on 14th February, with the ceremony taking place in the church on the lake side with the reception in the hotel. We found all the team at the hotel extremely helpful, doing everything they could to make the day run smoothly, they even found pins for us for the button holes as the florist had failed to supply them. The food was excellent and the rooms very comfortable. Great service all round.

Room Tip: Pick one over looking the lake the views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel

Address: Normanton LE15 8RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Normanton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Normanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel is situated in the picturesque county of Rutland, Leicestershire. Standing majestically next to the shores of Rutland Water, only 8 miles from the market town of Oakham, it offers easy access from the A1 and M1. This is the perfect venue for your leisure break, all your functions, meetings and events. The hotel is close to business centres and local attractions including the Great Hall of Oakham Castle, Rockingham Racetrack, Burghley House and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oakham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.