We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Normanton LE15 8RP, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Normanton
Chania Town, Greece
1 review
“Christmas 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Superb lakeside location overlooking Rutland Water. Comfortable 18th century hotel with a cosy lounge and a delightful panoramic view from the conservatory restaurant. We really enjoyed our Christmas break at Normanton from the moment we arrived. The staff were always friendly and helpful to oblige. We had a well appointed room - the bed was especially comfortable - and food throughout our stay was very good. I would like to compliment the chef on his creme brulle, it was the best I've had! Certainly we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for comfort, friendliness and location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a panoramic view overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart_Saunders, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words, I have delivered your praise to chef regarding his creme brulee.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    89
    70
    40
    24
See reviews for
55
158
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

An old coach house well converted in a beautiful setting. The room was comfortable and there was always hot water available (the bathroom door had to be closed to ensure the steam did not interfere with the fire alarm system!) Shared hotel rooms were very pleasant and the seated areas comfortable. The conservatory for breakfast was eccellent although a little earlier start with the heating and later start with the wallpaper music would have been appreciated. Food was excellent but the winelist was limited especially when quoted wines were not available. Staff were very pleasant but could do with a little extra training.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart_Saunders, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your review, and I apologize for the lack of wine available. This has been mentioned to my F&B manager who assures me that the wine list is very well stocked.

The breakfast music has now been replaced by Radio 2 to start the day...

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here for one night in November for a friends birthday party. Extra huge room with ski bed and a single bed, tea/coffee, iron/board, Hairdryer it was plain but furnished to nice standard clean shower/bath (would have liked to have seen a hand grip for safety when getting into the shower but heard that there was also walk in showers) the room was a bit cold as it only had one small wall heater which was not too efficient but we managed ok. Our room was in the courtyard overlooking the car park as this is where all the twin rooms were. Double rooms had a view of the lake.There was no noise from the cars however the clock tower did strike and we only heard that when we were going into dinner and not to bed.
Dining room was overlooking the lake and our meal was excellent as I am normally a fussy eater. Drinks were reasonable priced and all staff were attentive. English Breakfast was adequate, if your vegetarian you will need to ask for the veggie sausage when you book. Plenty of tea/coffee and toast etc. There was no fresh fruit or muffins/pastries
The bar/lounge unfortunately did not have a view of the lake which was a shame as that is what 'sold' the hotel.
I think in the summer this hotel would be ideal for walks around the lake and for sailing and taking a boat ride on the lake and visiting lovely area of Oakham, Stamford and Rockingham and yes I would come back as we found it relaxing.

Room Tip: our room was a twin in the courtyard..when its raining take a brolly with you as there is no underco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart_Saunders, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your review.

During your stay with us I am sorry that there were a couple of factors that you have drawn to my attention. Just to inform you about the heating in our outside rooms, they all have underfloor heating which can be operated from the thermostat on the wall by the door. This would have sufficiently heated the room further.

There is usually plenty of fresh fruit and pastries on display, I am sorry that they may not have been readily available to you -it is supply and demand and I am sure that a member of staff would have been organising fresh supplies for the buffet table.

I would love also to have additional space for a lounge overlooking Rutland Water...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Having been let down at the last minute at another hotel in Empingham, we were able to get a last minute booking and arrived 5 minutes later to a friendly welcome. The room was good, tidy with a very comfortable bed. We had a very nice meal with good pleasant service. After a great nights sleep we had a nice breakfast, good selection and self service. scrambled egg was not the best, but in all a very nice experience.

Room Tip: The four poster room we had was roomy and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart_Saunders, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Many thanks for your review, we always strive to get it right and next time we shall ensure we get the scrambled eggs just right for you.

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

But not much more than that. As a hotel is just does he job you wold expect at what would say is 3 star. We had an upgrade to a lake view which was nice but that's all. Room was fine and dinner was good. But a cool conservatory in October for dinner is not good. No atmosphere and a very occasional sight of any staff. Not memorable.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart_Saunders, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review, I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us.
The conservatory has a very powerful heating system, if you are feeling a little chilly my staff are on hand to adjust the heat for you. Staff are trained not to be too intrusive, but I apologize if you felt that the service was not up to standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed in several Best Western hotels, and this was way below their usual standard. The room was tiny, damp, and smelly, and very poorly designed. I am only 5'4 ins tall but still banged my head on the sloping ceiling as i got in and out of bed.There was no hair dryer or shoe cleaning cloth. The tissue box was empty but the matching tooth mugs were full of scale and dead flies! The carpets in the corridors were disgusting, i don't think they had been vacuumed in weeks.
On the plus side, the evening dinner which had been arranged as part of a group dinner was wonderful. Both food and service was excellent.
Breakfast the next morning was average.
The fact is that should I travel to this area again I would most definitely not stay here.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPS123, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

I am so sorry that you witnessed these housekeeping issues during your stay. Those concerned have been retrained into the importance of thorough cleaning.

Unfortunately due to the age of the building and in particular the rooms in this section of the hotel they come with a sloping ceiling. This cannot be avoided in these bedrooms.

Thank you for your comments regarding the group evening meal, but I would welcome further comments from you directly regarding that of breakfast just being average. At breakfast time there is always a lot of choice on offer, from cooked breakfast through to freshly sliced fruit displays, something for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Normanton hotels

York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Have just stayed for two nights with a group of retired friends. The staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly. Our meals in a private dining room were very good, even though there were eighteen of us to be served at once. Although the location is superb; looking out over Rutland Water from the restaurant and terrace, and only 100 yards away from the pathway around Rutland Water, we and some of our group were in rooms 1-6 above the bar and restaurant, and they are small and not well insulated for sound. Other friends who were in outside blocks had no problems. Overall though, very good value for money, great location for visiting Burghley House, Barnsdale gardens and the lovely town of Stamford, where Middlemarch was filmed.

Room Tip: Ask for any named room; not rooms 1-6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPS123, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Many thanks for your comments, which is a contrast from 'Below Usual Standard' as both pieces of feedback where from the same group staying at the hotel.

It was a pleasure looking after you all, and thank you for the card that the group sent direct to the hotel praising their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel

Address: Normanton LE15 8RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Normanton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Normanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel is situated in the picturesque county of Rutland, Leicestershire. Standing majestically next to the shores of Rutland Water, only 8 miles from the market town of Oakham, it offers easy access from the A1 and M1. This is the perfect venue for your leisure break, all your functions, meetings and events. The hotel is close to business centres and local attractions including the Great Hall of Oakham Castle, Rockingham Racetrack, Burghley House and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oakham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.