We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of White House Guest Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grunau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White House Guest Farm
Save
You added White House Guest Farm to your Saves list
Grunau, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A little bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed at White House at Gruenau on our trip from Luderitz to Upington.
We found it a little bit disappointing. We planned to stay at the old house, but this was under renovation, so we got one of the lodges. Maintenance could have been better en the bed was old, as our backs confirmed next morning.
Very friendly host.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montagu, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Due to unforeseen circumstances, we phoned late the afternoon and got helped for that evening. Although they were full, we were accommodated in their tents. What a lovely surprise?!
Very comfortable beds, awesome ablutions and views to dream of!.
We were even given some delicious rusks, which we used for breakfast.
Dolf and Kinna are exceptional hosts. Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We'd had a long drive from Windhoek and found this place very last-minute, after consulting the guide book just before Grunau.

Wow! It's so great to see people who genuinely love hosting guests - Dolf and Kinna really need to teach the world about customer service and hospitality. From the beautiful warm welcome, to the surprise they gave us with the room, to the food parcel delivered to our room (make sure you take up their offer of a homemade meal) - everything was wonderful.

We only meant to stay one night but extended to four in the end. This is the kind of place where you can really forget about the outside world and relax in beautiful surroundings.

You must experience this place!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at this place in August 2013 since it was very convenient and on the way between Fish River Canyon and South Africa. The place is lovely and the owners are very kind. It's a very welcoming place and the food is great too. We had a perfect night of good sleep in a very peaceful and beautiful setting. Breakfast was also very fresh and complete. We will definitely stop there again if we're in the area!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a great place to overnight if you travel between South Africa and Namibia on the B1, or visiting the Fish River Canyons. The hospitality of the owner (and active farmer) is always exemplary, which is typical from this part of Namibia and you will feel immediate at home. You have a choice of more basic rooms (but equipped for self catering) outside the main farm house, or a room and on-suit bathroom inside the old restored house, built during 1912-15. The wooden floors and farm style kitchen creates a fantastic atmosphere in this tranquil place. Do not decline the offer to have dinner served in your room. It is an absolute treat of oven-baked roast leg of lamb, pumpkin fritters, green beans, gravy and rice, whatever is seasonal. Bon appetit! Braai/BBQ facilities are available, which is a great alternative to appreciate the outdoors and the millions of stars. This is the perfect end to a long day on the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room inside the main farm house, but for a family with children and if you want to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

A great setting in typical Namibian terrain with rocks, birds and open spaces and ideally located for the enjoyment of wonderful sunsets. We chose a chalet which was adequately equipped and fitted in with the rustic surroundings. We could braai and unwind as we watched the sun set. The host was welcoming and accommodating. This establishment and its unspoilt surrounds provides a peaceful stay after a long journey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This place was so nice that having stopped there on the way down from Windhoek to Cape Town, we then made sure our driving timings worked out so we could have another night on the way up! Dolf & Kinna were really gracious and kind hosts (who did us a very generous favour too, when they really didn't need to) and - yes - the food is genuinely awesome. We only stopped there on the way down because one of us recalled seeing something on TripAdvisor about the lamb, and my god the food was good. Definitely a place to consider stopping at for the night, or maybe even longer...really historic-feeling accommodation too!

Room Tip: Order the Lamb...and enjoy the vegetables, the dessert...all of it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White House Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House Guest Farm

Address: Grunau, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Karas Region > Grunau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Grunau
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White House Guest Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.