We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We just had a drink here but what view.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rock

The Rock
Michanwi Pingwe Beach, Michamvi 753, Tanzania
+255 (0)799909855
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 restaurants in Michamvi
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Rock Restaurant, just opened in Michanvi Pingwe, is an extraordinary seafood restaurant, located in a unique position, on a rock in the middle of the Indian Ocean. Serving up to 14 tables, all facing a wonderful terrace on the Ocean, the restaurant is connected to the main land by boat, within high tide, and reachable by foot within low tide. It is also easy reachable by sea if coming by boat from an excursion. Perfect for a romantic dinner for two, or for a memorable evening with friends or family, it is open for lunch and dinner and is available to be reserved for small groups and ceremonies. The Rock kitchen offers a superlative fresh seafood menu, including vegetarian plates and a kid's menu the service is informal but accurate and elegant.
Wierden, Nederland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We just had a drink here but what view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We went out for a stroll along the beach and found this location. We entered just for a drink. Unique location, friendly staff and a magnificent view.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    266
    125
    44
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I had seen the Rock in a Marie Claire issue some time ago and knew that this was where I wanted to spend my birthday. I was just so amazed, and in awe, the Rock lived up to my dreams! I enjoyed a beautiful lunch and a lazy afternoon sitting and enjoying the spectacular views and atmosphere. The service was impeccable and the food was thoroughly enjoyable. Great selection of local dishes. Highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichanga, General Manager at The Rock, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hi, a really long way to come from Australia and pass your birthday with us. We are really happy you enjoyed it . The Rock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Awesome views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

And dinner was also good, but the ambiance... amazing!!! Get there early to enjoy a drink in the terrace.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichanga, General Manager at The Rock, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello, you are right the views from The Rock are something , even my self that goes there every day just gets taken away for such natural beauty. Thank you for your review,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“the rock restaurant..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

the place is just amazing..the restaurant is on top of the rock..the food is delicious..u get all types of seafood and its fresh..

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichanga, General Manager at The Rock, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you very much for such a nice review as we are quite close hope to see you back soon. The Rock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place in the middle of nowhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

very nice location, good but not excellent food, service ok. access to the place depends on the tides.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rock also viewed

Zanzibar, Zanzibar Archipelago
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar
 

Been to The Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.