We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rock

The Rock
Michanwi Pingwe Beach, Michamvi 753, Tanzania
+255 (0)799909855
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Michamvi
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Rock Restaurant, just opened in Michanvi Pingwe, is an extraordinary seafood restaurant, located in a unique position, on a rock in the middle of the Indian Ocean. Serving up to 14 tables, all facing a wonderful terrace on the Ocean, the restaurant is connected to the main land by boat, within high tide, and reachable by foot within low tide. It is also easy reachable by sea if coming by boat from an excursion. Perfect for a romantic dinner for two, or for a memorable evening with friends or family, it is open for lunch and dinner and is available to be reserved for small groups and ceremonies. The Rock kitchen offers a superlative fresh seafood menu, including vegetarian plates and a kid's menu the service is informal but accurate and elegant.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is nice to see. God made it all for people like us to enjoy. It looks like the rock was put ther for a reason. But this is all natural.Please dont forget you cameras.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichanga, General Manager at The Rock, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
thank you very much for writing such nice things about The Rock . Asante sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    167
    69
    30
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing location and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We visited this restaurant during our honeymoon in Zanzibar, it has a magnificent location. I mean they do not really need to do a lot of work inside the place, the location is enough, you are in the middle of the ocean!!! The food was also great, nice people, it is a must if you are visiting Zanzibar.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichanga, General Manager at The Rock, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
WOW , what a nice review thank you very much from all The Rock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moshi, Tansania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great spot for great occasions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

If you are looking for something special and unforgetting, than try The Rock for sundowner and dinner! Go there around 6ish and enjoy a drink on the terrasse with view on the ocean. And than have a great dinner with a big choice of seefood and fish. The staff is nice and the atmosphere just something that will stick in your mind - don't miss it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichanga, General Manager at The Rock, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Francine, thank you so much for such nice words about The Rock you make us all feel very happy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A gorgeous spot for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

On a tour of the island we stopped off at The Rock for drinks and ended up staying for lunch. The tide was low so we didn't get to wade out to the restaurant but once there the view was stunning. The menu was all fish dishes but the pasta with crab sauce and prawns with vanilla were delicious and worth recommending all very reasonably priced.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichanga, General Manager at The Rock, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hello Liz,
thank you for taking your time to write us a review. It's really nice , we appreciate very much and hope to see you back very soon , have a nice weekend The Rock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“location is unique and magic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

During our private south - east coast trip we had a lunch stop in this restaurant and reservation had been organised by Robert of Eco & Culture tours Zanzibar . The location on a rock is very special and not far away from the shore of Michanvi Pingwe beach . Depending on the tides it is possible to wade to the restaurant or requesting a boat to transport you to from the beach to the stair steps .... waves could make it more difficult to get on the steps on arrival but very funny .
As aperitive we have ordered a nice cool bottle of rose wine and enjoyed the grape liquid on the sunny terrace with extremely overwelming vieuws of the ocean and continiuos shore line .
We had ordered in advance sea food , as starter we selected prawns and for the main course grilled lobster .... once more with another bottle of very tastfull wine .
We really have enjoyed the lunch and it has been a pitty we couldn't stay longer to finish a desert on top becaues our driver -guide was waiting for us on the shore parking .
Staff was very friendly and service minded , cleaness of the dining room including restrooms were at a very good level .
We strongly recommand this place for non-residents if you really want to experience something special during your vacation on Zanzibar island . One can say prices aren't cheap but you get something in return , neither pencil nor brush could draw such beauty , unless you want to stay a full week on the beach of your hotel accomodation .

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichanga, General Manager at The Rock, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
thank you very much for such a nice review .The Rock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rock also viewed

Zanzibar, Zanzibar Archipelago
 

Been to The Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.