We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing beach...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kono Kono Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Kono Kono Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kono Kono Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Michamvi Kae, Michamvi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Michamvi
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing beach...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Nice secluded resort with pristine white sand private beach...blue sky, white sand, clear water what an ideal place to relax. The rooms are well made incorporating traditional style and modern amenities. The resort itself is quite and green, the only sound you can hear are of birds, insects, water and the breeze...wow what a breakaway from city life. The menu is limited but quality is good. Th service is pleasant and prompt...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    12
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
64
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Varsity Lakes, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at Kono Kono for three nights. The Bungalows are absolutely gorgeous. They are spacious and beautifully decorated. The staff is very friendly but takes it time, as usual in Tanzania (pole pole). That is probably one of the only negative point - something I would not expect from such an expensive place.
The beach is very nice - there was just a lot of sea weed during our stay. But this is depending highly on the season.
Dinner at night is served at the beach and is very lovely.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Kono Kono was our last stop in Tanzania because we wanted to relax at a beach resort after our safari tour. It was definitely relaxing and fit the bill exactly. The resort is situated on an absolutely stunning beach. My wife likened the sand to talcum powder. We had an ocean front villa with a beautiful view. You could walk the virtually deserted beach for hours if you wished and the swimming was marvelous. Our villa was well appointed. We really enjoyed having our breakfast delivered and we enjoyed eating on the beach by firelight. We also had no problem with the service finding it quite friendly, if somewhat laid back.

Now the improvement part. FIRST, the road in from the highway is awful. The trip from the airport is about 90 minutes and about a third of the time is taken navigating the terrible dirt road for the last 4 kilometres. It was worse that roads in the Serengeti. We had planned to explore Zanzibar during our stay but changed our minds at the thought of driving that road. We enjoyed eating dinner on the beach but were surprised when we learned that we had no other choices. I read a comment about the manager's dog and let me say that we are both dog lovers but did not enjoy being jumped on by her friendly but untrained dog. We really enjoyed the plunge pool as well as the beach, but there was a leak and by the third day the water level was too low for it to be usable.

In closing let me say that if a wonderful, isolated beach where you can just relax is what you want then you will probably enjoy the resort. Many of the guests when we were there were honeymooners and we thought it would be perfect for them. If you want to explore the island, if you are a stickler for service, or if you want fine dining with many choices this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Kono Kono has one of the best beaches we have ever seen, really amazing!
The villas are really large and the plunge pools are a nice touch though with a beach like that you hardly spend any time in your villa!
Breakfast is served in your garden and dinner is under the stars on the beach, a really nice touch that makes it even more romantic. every evening they have a bonfire on the beach before dinner for the guests to meet and have conversations about their trips and experiences.
The food is not the best food I had on the island and the quality could improve given the fact that this is a fairly expensive hotel.
The staff is very friendly and helpful and would help you with any request.
We were told the hotel will close in October for a year,as they will build more villas, this makes sense as the grounds are immense and while we were there we only ever met 2 other couples, so there is definately space for more people without losing the magical feeling of relax this place has.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We spent twelve days at Kono Kono in February this year and it was a fantastic holiday.

The resort has pathways and gardens complete with colombus monkeys, and a great beach and. The food is great and served by candlelight by the bonfire every night on the beach and the soups are delicious. Having breakfast on your own patio each morning and a plunge pool a few steps away is a definite bonus and very relaxing. The staff cant do enough for you, are friendly and go the extra mile to make you comfortable, they really made our trip.

The spa is worth several trips and the massages are well done in a great surrounding and turn left after the beach bar and walk up the beach a little way and you'll come across a special bar called Kae Funk, a very very chilled place to spend the afternoon.

If you're after an action or adventure holiday then this is not the place for you, there is quite literally nothing there, just miles of beach and a road that rattles out your fillings on the way to the front steps! The electricity is a touch temperamental, and there is no TV (shock horror! but you can get wifi in the reception and restaurant areas if you can't live without knowing the lottery or football scores).

We had the most romantic and relaxing holiday at Kono Kono and would definitely recommend a visit, it is just a paradise for taking it easy

Room Tip: Shoes not required
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

If you want to get away from it all, this is the place to go. It’s quiet sunny and pleasant. Each villa is private and not overlooked by anyone. The rooms are beautifully furnished and clean. Kono Kono beach, less than five minutes walk away from each villa, is a long stretch of the finest powder white sand. The seafood was out of this world, the prawns and lobsters my favourites and I would recommend you order them. In the evenings, we had dinner on the beach, which was so romantic. The staff were also very helpful and pleasant. Nothing was too much trouble.There are no radios, cars and television at Kono Kono and after a week’s break here I felt great.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We spent nine nights at the Kono Kono Beach Villas. The sand is as fine as flour - and just as white. In the early morning light, before the sun blazed on it, it looked like snow. There is no television, no radio, no shops, no traffic – only bird song, the chatter of monkeys, the calls of bush babies or the sound of crickets. A breeze-cooled spa provides massages or manicures but there is nothing to do but bathe in sun or sea, read or talk. Eat dinner at tables on the beach under the stars. Kono Kono is a perfect place to unwind; to rid oneself of the tensions of everyday life before proceeding to the next stage of your holiday. Kono Kono is Swahili for snail – how appropriate!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kono Kono Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kono Kono Beach Resort

Address: Michamvi Kae, Michamvi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Michamvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Michamvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kono Kono Beach Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kono Kono Beach Resort is located on the south eastern coast of Zanzibar, these 24 Luxurious Villas are only an hours drive away from the Zanzibar International Airport. The breathtaking beauty of this side of the Island offers arguably the best beaches in Zanzibar. The property covers 48000m² and more than 40% is under the resort’s conservation program and has the rarest fauna and flora including wildlife such as Monkeys, local Deer, endemic bird species and supposedly the discreet Zanzibar Leopard, which is believed to be extinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Kono Kono Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kono Kono Beach Villas Hotel Michamvi
Kono Kono Beach Resort Michamvi, Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kono Kono Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.